i remember playing against hlycross A team a few years back and they gave us a right good game, lovely side. you could've been playing!
i hate to see a club go into a slide like this. hopefully they'll turn it around. saw the B team this season and they had absolutely no interest at all. i know it's 4A but still like, you'd expect a bit more of an effort, just strolled around the pitch. saw the A team once and they're just not good enough for 1B. when you see that Abbey were premier a few years back and could be in 2B next season, it's amazing how easy it is to slide down the leagues
"It's not about winning, it's taking people apart that counts"
i would have been the one with the scots accent giving abuse to the refereei would have been playing either in Goals, left back , centre half, left mid or centre mid... was moved around a lot
In the last few years they implemented at big under age teams and have had a great response, when i played for them firstly, the players that were in the team had played with each other from under age to youths and then junior.. i think this is what has to happen again for holycross so it might take few years but i do expect to see them bringing a good side through in future.![]()
[quote=lankyboy26;1093244]
saw the B team this season and they had absolutely no interest at all. i know it's 4A but still like, you'd expect a bit more of an effort, just strolled around the pitch.
holycross at home to shannon town on sunday, is theres the pitch beside that yellow shop??? i think i can remember playing out there, but going on whats being posted it should mean 3 points for town, hopefully shels & park draw so we can claw a few points back on them
Think this game will be a draw or a one nil win to shels
Think town will beat holycross by 3 or 4 if they even show up.parkville were ment to play them in holycross a few weeks ago and only 4 players turned up
Park have a added a few new faces to the team and some quality at that too.
I wouldnt be holding my breath for a Shels win on Sunday, especially having lost their leading scorer.
Then again i wouldnt hold my breath for the game to actually go ahead because of the weather, Shela A have a game at home in the morning too.
Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.
who did park sign in the window??? i heard 1 or 2 town players were thinking of transferring to park, but as far as i know nobody has left....
holycross A teams match is postponed because of a tragic death in their parish so i would say the B teams is aswell,
Any fixtures announced for the coming weekend?
Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.
is the league table wrong it shows park have 16 points does anyone know if the drew or lost a game.Shels vs park sunday shels have to win especially with park having two games in hand bad result for newport the weekend only drawing with a bad lisnagry team at home.
Newport B 9 6 2 1 19 10 20
Shelbourne 8 6 1 1 20 9 19
Park AFC B 6 5 0 1 10 4 16
St Pauls 7 4 2 1 14 6 14
Shannon Town 9 3 1 5 22 23 10
Croom Utd B 8 3 1 4 6 9 10
Mungret Reg C 7 3 0 4 10 16 9
Athlunkard Villa 8 3 0 5 10 13 9
Parkville 7 3 0 4 11 10 9
Lisnagry B 9 2 2 5 11 17 8
Holycross B 7 0 0 7 7 22 0
This is updated.
Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..
Hail Hail!!
as far as i know the only points park have dropped was a draw at home to shannon town who were the better team that day too, seems to be the story of towns season so far, being the better side but unable to get the results against the top sides in the league. having played park & shels id say park are the better team, younger, better footballers but shels have lots of experience which counts for alot.
my brother plays for shels and i have seen them play a few times.2 good centre halves and experience in mid field.they were missing 5 regular starters against shannon town.Heard one of there centre halves got a bad knock on the head.Shannon town have a very good young lad on the wing.he is to good for division 4
ya, shels are handy but thier right back will cost them goals this season. the same winger for shn town skint him a good few times last sunday "including 2 nutmegs" so they'll have to sort that out. right full also very prone to lunging into tackle when he has no chance of getting the ball.
"Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895
i'm not trying to put the player down just saying i think he is dodgy. some of the lunges last sunday were mental, all he had to do was stay on his feet but he flew in every time trying to do the man, lucky for the player to be way to quick for him, anyway the must have been about 25 years in age difference.
"Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895
lads ye are talking about division 4a here . plenty of players dive in / lunge and a good few are 2 slow to do it also it is not right to judge players on 1 game also we all had those days were everything goes wrong no matter how hard you try... alright doing nutmegs but must have been no end product to forwards as shelbourne won game ...
" football is a simple game "