Thread: Maybe not the correct place, but....

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    I miss the pubs. I know not short of them here, but they're not very authentic, anyone can open an 'Oirish bar' here. Also not liking the pub chains and the high streets all looking the same, and the chav culture. Mind you, Ireland is getting like that these days too.
    yeah those "O' Neills" pubs are a joke, who are they trying to fool

246 Posts
    I think Ireland's a great oul spot.
    As for the country itself, I like it the size of it. You can get from one end to the other in around 8 hours, an hour if you fly.
    I actually don't mind the weather. Looking out of my office on the 11th floor now, there's something strangely calming about not being able to see further than 1.5km through the rain. And sure it's just a bit of water, never did anyone any harm. I'd rather have what we have now than a continental climate of extreme cold in winter and heat in summer.
    The best thing about this country though is the openness of the people. I've not come across anywhere else in the world where the people are as friendly as we are. Yes, we complain a lot, but that's only just cos we enjoy it. We love whinging about things and even listening to others whinging. But at the end of the day we'll always have a few quid for a pint and bit of craic down the pub.

One annoyance though is our small population. It's benefitial in a lot of ways, but when it comes to things like transport links it would be helpful if there was a few more million of us.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    One annoyance though is our small population. It's benefitial in a lot of ways, but when it comes to things like transport links it would be helpful if there was a few more million of us.
    There wouldn't be enough counthry though. (Extra "h" inculded for authenthicity)

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    frank, what you dont understand is if Irish people weren't this way, they would be different in all the ways that make us good as well, so whilst irish people do like to moan and complain its what balances out the other lets have the craic, lets not get down, lets be irish mentality.
    Unfortunately, the "Let's Be Irish" attitude has us flocking over to Glasgow to support an "Irish" team, saying we're all Catholics when few of us go to mass (however, that can be easily repented by giving out anytime a "Prod" is nearby) and hating every "Brit" over something the regular people in England had nothing to do with, while at the same time depending on the UK for the tabloids, Corrie and football.

Sorry paul, you haven't changed my mind. The Irish mentality wrecks my head.
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    We would end up somewhere between the brits, reserved and the yanks loud and annoying.
    But...we are loud and annoying.

If it's not some D4 one going "Oh...My...Gawd", it's some scumbag from Dublin roaring over the phone at his "mott" about "Anto and Deco" or some lad from Cork going on a mile a minute about how Cork is the "real" capital.

As for the English...I've never met a "reserved" English person before. That stereotype's a bit out-dated, paul.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

246 Posts
    There wouldn't be enough counthry though. (Extra "h" inculded for authenthicity)
    I dunno. Our population density is 59 people/sq km. Just looking at others, Greece is 84, Denmark (roughly same population as us) is 127, Britain is 246, Netherlands is 395. I reckon we could squeeze a few more people in here.

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    I dunno. Our population density is 59 people/sq km. Just looking at others, Greece is 84, Denmark (roughly same population as us) is 127, Britain is 246, Netherlands is 395. I reckon we could squeeze a few more people in here.
    There is room in my house for at least one more person, as long as he is tall, dark (skinned and hair) and has no desire to murder me. (He will eventually want to murder me though)

115 Posts
    I love it here and doubt I'll be moving anywhere until retirement at least. Have a couple of spots earmarked for looking at again when (if ) that happens, but for the minute am more than happy to be here.
    Bit concerned about the nannification of the state that seems to be getting more and more out of hand, and the fact we seem incapable as a nation of ridding ourselves of governmental gob****es of all hues, but life in this country is pretty damn good it seems to me.
    My life on the other hand...
    ...but to paraphrase Dodge that could be said by anyone anywhere.
    Last edited by stann; 03/09/2008 at 5:56 PM.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Unfortunately, the "Let's Be Irish" attitude has us flocking over to Glasgow to support an "Irish" team, saying we're all Catholics when few of us go to mass (however, that can be easily repented by giving out anytime a "Prod" is nearby) and hating every "Brit" over something the regular people in England had nothing to do with, while at the same time depending on the UK for the tabloids, Corrie and football.

Sorry paul, you haven't changed my mind. The Irish mentality wrecks my head.

But...we are loud and annoying.

If it's not some D4 one going "Oh...My...Gawd", it's some scumbag from Dublin roaring over the phone at his "mott" about "Anto and Deco" or some lad from Cork going on a mile a minute about how Cork is the "real" capital.

As for the English...I've never met a "reserved" English person before. That stereotype's a bit out-dated, paul.

much as I hate to agree with POS I am on his side here Frank, most of what you have replied is pure rubbish and it is you that is stereotyping. You need to get out of Ireland it would seem. ") years in London and as has been said plenty of reasons to like it but it is not and never will be Ireland. The unique irish humour and personaility is well recognised no matter what country I have ever been to.

As for reserved English there are plenty, give me a shout sometime and I will introduce you to 30 or 40 all in my office alone.

just looking at where i was in usa and it was 29 degrees today....its freezing outside

even san francisco was hot today!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by beautifulrock View Post
    Frank, most of what you have replied is pure rubbish and it is you that is stereotyping.
    well i'm glad that we can all agree that all yanks are "loud and annoying" at least. phew
    zombie/thread killer..

38 Posts
    Apart from the sh1t weather, the all-pervading "I'm alright Jack" attitude of the populace, the primitive, self-interested nature of the political class, the utter, utter cluelesssness of the media on every topic under the sun, the paucity of culture, the astounding lack of public infrastructure, the lionisation of crooks and oligarchs as national heroes and role models, the poverty of national healthcare or any desire to improve it, the least sophisticated sporting culture in Europe, the loud, vulgar, overweight and routinely alcoholic people (and that's just the women), the complete erosion of social conscience or intellectual aspiration and their replacement by materialism and crass nationalism, the proliferation of humbugs, Shane Ross, Michael O'Leary, Van Morrsion, Mary Harney, John Delaney, Denis O'Brien, Bill O'Herlihy, Ken Earley, Michael McDowell, Dion Fanning, the f***ing Shinners, the Gah, Independent Newspapers and Brian Kennedy, this is a great little country.

I really don't see any hope for it beyond sending fifty Rangers to either end of the DART line and having them massacre everything that moves within a five mile radius, making membership of Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, the PDs and Sinn Féin an offence punishable by death, razing Croke Park to the ground and then firebombing Cork. Boll0cks to yiz all.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

112 Posts
    I really hate the fact that Dublin Airport is the only airport in Europe without a train linking to it. (unless Im wrong)... And the fact that the Luas (although great looking and very modern), the two lines dont join together. Try explaining that to the tourists.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

I really hate the fact that Dublin Airport is the only airport in Europe without a train linking to it. (unless Im wrong)...
    Loads too. Absolutely loads

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Loads too. Absolutely loads
    It's pure bullsh!t. With all this money we had during the Celtic Tiger, we could have upgraded the road system from there. It's an absolute joke. Missed flight to London last week because of the match at Croke Park, and was absolutely crawling through traffic. Plenty of people on the same aircoach as me missed their flights too, absolute utter shambles. Rail system would solve it and i reckon it's a national embarassment that there's no rail system from the airport. Also dislike the fact that Ryanair is an Irish company. It's a byword for shoddy.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    I really don't see any hope for it beyond sending fifty Rangers to either end of the DART line and having them massacre everything that moves within a five mile radius, making membership of Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, the PDs and Sinn Féin an offence punishable by death, razing Croke Park to the ground and then firebombing Cork.
    While everyone else is happy to cavil and complain (typical f***ing Irish), this man has been proactive and come up with a real solution that is both workable and worthwhile.

Sheirdan for whatever title he wants in the new Ireland!
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

112 Posts
    Apart from the sh1t weather, the all-pervading "I'm alright Jack" attitude of the populace, the primitive, self-interested nature of the political class, the utter, utter cluelesssness of the media on every topic under the sun, the paucity of culture, the astounding lack of public infrastructure, the lionisation of crooks and oligarchs as national heroes and role models, the poverty of national healthcare or any desire to improve it, the least sophisticated sporting culture in Europe, the loud, vulgar, overweight and routinely alcoholic people (and that's just the women), the complete erosion of social conscience or intellectual aspiration and their replacement by materialism and crass nationalism, the proliferation of humbugs, Shane Ross, Michael O'Leary, Van Morrsion, Mary Harney, John Delaney, Denis O'Brien, Bill O'Herlihy, Ken Earley, Michael McDowell, Dion Fanning, the f***ing Shinners, the Gah, Independent Newspapers and Brian Kennedy, this is a great little country.

I really don't see any hope for it beyond sending fifty Rangers to either end of the DART line and having them massacre everything that moves within a five mile radius, making membership of Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, the PDs and Sinn Féin an offence punishable by death, razing Croke Park to the ground and then firebombing Cork. Boll0cks to yiz all.
    Add in the Catholic Church not paying adequate compo to the redress board and their ongoing stanglehold of national schools, culchie developers being allowed to destroy Dublin via backhanders to politicians, Derry City being allowed to play in our country, public servants benchmarking, SUVs allowed on city streets, and Peruvians playing their pan pipes on Grafton Street(is there a more boring cheesy sound in the whole world)...excluding Van Morrison then I think you have the subject nailed... luckily for me I have Rovers to counterbalence all the aforementioned crap and make it a pleasure to live here.

3,488 Posts
    I really hate the fact that Dublin Airport is the only airport in Europe without a train linking to it. (unless Im wrong)... And the fact that the Luas (although great looking and very modern), the two lines dont join together. Try explaining that to the tourists.
    Yep, there's a fair few alright, though that doesn't make it any the less annoying. I'd say it's certainly one of the largest airports in Europe without a train connection though.

I'd say you could say similar for quite a lot of countries though.