Er, why not?

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Er, why not?
    well, call me a dreamer but...

i just get the feeling Paul appreciates what SRFC have done for him, giving him a chance, when other clubs would not have even looked at him,and he doesnt wan to stab us in the back ala SC. Plus he told us after the Pats game he didnt want to go to another Irish club.

Sorry to pee on the parade, lads, but much as I admire Paul as a man, he is hardly in the Fenlon/Kenny league as far as tactics go. His insistence on playing a right footed player at left back got us knocked out of the cup in each of the last two seasons. Best Manager ever? I think not. Try Sinclair or McStay who actually delivered silverware while playing great football.

All Paul Cook is doing at the moment - and fair play to him for it - is advertising the fact that he is available. Nice job coming up at Drogheda.
    avvenalaf I think you are being very harsh and very disingenuous to Paul Cook.
    There is no doubt that Paul made a number of mistakes during the course of the season but name me a manager that does not make mistakes. Cook is operating in a completely different environment to that of McStay and Sinclair in terms of competitiveness of the league and players wages.
    He has comfortably kept us in the top division for two seasons during which time I have seen the most fantastic style of football played by players of the highest quality and with the greatest commitment that I - at the age of 44 - can remember.

I wish there was some way we could get the crowd on Friday night to let him know in no uncertain terms how much he is appreciated.

I also think that if there is any possibility of keeping him here next season no stone should be left unturned to do so.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    dont think Cook would go to another Irish club imo
    He was in the running for jobs here before he joined SRFC, I am sure he will be after he leaves as well.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    dont think Cook would go to another Irish club imo
    unfortunately (for ye) I don't think that is true.

Cook is a top manager (and seems a top man too) and has ye playing good football. He would be well sought after in the league if/when vacancies come up.

His stock will only rise if he wins silverware or has a team playing in Europe - that would be the spring board to move back to England which I can only assume every manager in our league would have ambitions of.

You end up at death's door having bucket collections to keep you alive?
    If we're throwing around unwanted and pointless opinions here, let me be the first to say, you've got a **** haircut.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    If we're throwing around unwanted and pointless opinions here, let me be the first to say, you've got a **** haircut.
    That's a bit harsh............to call your opinion unwanted and pointless

Paul Cook,
    I see many more away matches than home games because of where I live in the North East. I have nothing but admiration for our manager. he is a class act and please dont tell me that a manager in any line of work does not get it wrong occasionally while trying something different. All I hear from opposing fans is they would love to have Paul as manager, with the limited squad that we operate he still manages to produce one of the best footballing teams in the Premership. Whatever it takes we have to keep Paul but I am afraid it my be too late but for God sake lets all keep plugging away together.

Quote Originally Posted by Well Red View Post
    Whatever it takes we have to keep Paul
    Thats exactly the kind of attitude that has got us in the situation we are in now
    Sorry to burst the bubble. Yes he was a good manager.
    But in 2 years at the club we only won 1 game in a cup competition, which i always viewed to be a MAJOR downfall on his part, a cup run or at least 2-4 cup wins a year would probably mean we wouldn't be 130,000k down, and about to lose the very man who may have indirectly caused it. Now thats a different way of looking at it.
    Also I somewhat agree with avvenalaf that in his time here Cook has made some woefull tactical mistakes. I know he young manager and learning and got us playing attractive football, but sometimes you have to learn to win ugly and thats maybe his flaw, and probably why he never made it with Southport in the conference.
    Last edited by Inside Man; 05/09/2008 at 5:01 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    That's a bit harsh............to call your opinion unwanted and pointless
    Out of the coma so soon?

Also I somewhat agree with avvenalaf that in his time here Cooke has made some woefull tactical mistakes.
    You could try to spell his name correctly if you are going to accuse him of making mistakes!!!

Formerly: wild rover
    Quote Originally Posted by londonred View Post
    I rate him highly and will be surprised if he doesn't suceed at a higher level but lets not forget the 2 big mistakes he made this year which had a big outcome on how the season panned out , the first was to start jennings in the cup match against shams the second mistake was to leave him on the pitch when everyone in the ground could see where things were going after about 10mins.
    Is he not allowed make mistakes? He's only human. I can't think of any other manager who doesn't make mistakes. Someone brought up Fenlon and Kenny. Both great managers but they hardly have unblemished records. Cookie is the best manager in the country imo. In the majority of cases when 'outsiders' do well for Sligo Rovers it isn't long before they are looking to leave. He isn't, and he is the best manager available to us. We won't get anyone better. In an ideal world we could start fundraising now to try to put the club in a position to afford say, €14,000 a week, for next season. Can't see it happening because of we need this extra 130k figure for 'the rest of the season'.....