Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Supporting two teams.

Also Cortezuma I see you're an Ireland fan. Why don't you just support Brazil or Argentina as theyre technically better sides?

Quote Originally Posted by Cortezuma View Post
    Also, what you would ideally want, from someone like me, is for me to go to the LOI matches and put up with poor football in the hope that my support will make what I'm watching eventually better. I don't think it's my loss, as I am watching quality football on a regular basis on TV, and seeing it live whenever I can.
    As I've said, thats your perogative. But you're not a football fan unless you go to support your team, and time and money issues aren't a real factor. The bottom line is that you don't want to support an irish team

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shelsman View Post
    Strangest post of the year?

I'm not going to waste my time and money watching a side who play rubbish football. Teams have an obligation to play entertaining / skillfull football IMO. Only die hard fans care about the result only, and you can't expect new fans to be like that until they've settled in. The product must be appealing to get new fans in.

That said, I'd settle for any eL team winning ugly in Europe but would prefer if they did it in style.
    I just think its bizarre and a bloody terrible excuse to blame the standard of football and facilities (re what Dodge just said and put it much better than i did!)
    You support your local league because its our league, end of.

We all care about the way the game is played, but in reality few teams play like Brazil of the 70s anymore, and the EPL has an awful lot of muck in it too.
    I don't stop watching football today cause football is ****e (and it is nowadays), i continue to waste years of my life watching football, and will continue to do so despite the quality. I m not for turning, and i wont subscribe to rugby or the ga either

185 Posts
    I follow Rovers. I go to 95% of Games
    i also follow Roma,Sporting Lisbon & Boca Juniors
    I go twice a year to Roma & Sporting .
    i've only been once to see Boca (the airfare and distance is restrictive)

I'd also add that i wish misfortune & ill luck on liverpool,lazio & porto.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

I am not bothered at all as long as their support for the hometown/LOI club comes first. It's a free world, doesn't make it right, but live and let live and all that cak.

The only thing in this regard that annoys me is when you get banners at LOI clubs with the British team and/or GAA team included. For example; there was one horrible banner for years at Bohs that was a Bohs, Celtic, Dubs combo banner. The issue with this is I have never seen a half Celtic/Bohs banner made by a Celtic supporter from the banks of the Clyde and no GAA head I know would support a LOI side in a million years and carry a banner to a bogball game proclaiming it.

Now listen to me carefully...I would rather have AIDS than support a British Club in any way shape or form.

I am 100% serious. I have nothing against the British people be they in London, Liverpool, Glasgow or Cromwell-on-the-Papist.

I consider Irish people who go around in British soccer jerseys saying "we", "us" and so forth to be nothing more that easily fooled, gullible, deluded, thick Paddy simpletons. Sorry if this offends some, but that's how I feel, because that's how it really is. Because that's what you all are. You just all swapped your mindless 'Feckless Irishman' devotions from Popes, Padre Pios and Our Lady of Lourdes to Liverpool, Man U Chelsea etc. Whatever gene the Irish posses which makes them a nation of easily controlled followers of foreign creeds and cultures was switched from the Vaticancentric mindset to the Murdochcentric one sometime in the early 90's.

Poor Paddy is easily impressed with flashing light and loud noises god love him and into the arms of Murdoch they ran for salvation.

This is the only country in the world were you British-wannabe Oirish soccer supporters are sheltered from the reality of your own bizarre identity crisis. It is the mentality of the Irish population which is the problem on this island when it comes to domestic soccer and not the LOI.

Oirish Premiership loolahs would not find another country in Europe which would think they are normal except Ireland - even the authentic "we's" and "us's" across the water see you this way.

Deal with it you shower of barstool, Ryanair "home game" Orish morons, rather than pointing the finger at you local LOI ground. You are the issue, you are the problem and the LOI and its supporters are the only normal ones when it comes to soccer in this country.

The rest of the world REAL SOCCER SUPPORTERS is against YOU and what YOU represent and they are on the side of the LOI supporters in this country. You are the losers.

Quote Originally Posted by Cortezuma View Post
    Stovelid - are you saying I am not a football supporter because of my financial restrictions?
    Nope, but even if football supporters want their team to play ball, they stick with the team in periods of bad football. I'm sorry, I just can't get my head around the fact that people support Ireland, the EPL, and 'look out for the Irish lads in England', but ignore their local teams. You can do both, surely?

As for not liking what you see, again, you're confusing the fact that EPL teams are 'better' (true) with the fact that they 'play better football' which they often do not. Believe it or not, you can often see a nice football match at your local five-a-side or junior pitch if you want to. You either like football or you don't. You don't just cherry-pick the top brands.

What people really mean when they say foreign teams are 'better' is that they are glamorous, play in big stadia and you can converse to the tax-driver about them. I like the buzz of the top teams on TV as much as anybody - what football fan wouldn't? - but you can't beat match night in your own city.
    While we are here, they'll never die.

185 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    I am not bothered at all as long as their support for the hometown/LOI club comes first. It's a free world, doesn't make it right, but live and let live and all that cak.

The only thing in this regard that annoys me is when you get banners at LOI clubs with the British team and/or GAA team included. For example; there was one horrible banner for years at Bohs that was a Bohs, Celtic, Dubs combo banner. The issue with this is I have never seen a half Celtic/Bohs banner made by a Celtic supporter from the banks of the Clyde and no GAA head I know would support a LOI side in a million years and carry a banner to a bogball game proclaiming it.

Now listen to me carefully...I would rather have AIDS than support a British Club in any way shape or form.

I am 100% serious. I have nothing against the British people be they in London, Liverpool, Glasgow or Cromwell-on-the-Papist.

I consider Irish people who go around in British soccer jerseys saying "we", "us" and so forth to be nothing more that easily fooled, gullible, deluded, thick Paddy simpletons. Sorry if this offends some, but that's how I feel, because that's how it really is. Because that's what you all are. You just all swapped your mindless 'Feckless Irishman' devotions from Popes, Padre Pios and Our Lady of Lourdes to Liverpool, Man U Chelsea etc. Whatever gene the Irish posses which makes them a nation of easily controlled followers of foreign creeds and cultures was switched from the Vaticancentric mindset to the Murdochcentric one sometime in the early 90's.

Poor Paddy is easily impressed with flashing light and loud noises god love him and into the arms of Murdoch they ran for salvation.

This is the only country in the world were you British-wannabe Oirish soccer supporters are sheltered from the reality of your own bizarre identity crisis. It is the mentality of the Irish population which is the problem on this island when it comes to domestic soccer and not the LOI.

Oirish Premiership loolahs would not find another country in Europe which would think they are normal except Ireland - even the authentic "we's" and "us's" across the water see you this way.

Deal with it you shower of barstool, Ryanair "home game" Orish morons, rather than pointing the finger at you local LOI ground. You are the issue, you are the problem and the LOI and its supporters are the only normal ones when it comes to soccer in this country.

The rest of the world REAL SOCCER SUPPORTERS is against YOU and what YOU represent and they are on the side of the LOI supporters in this country. You are the losers.
    good man.

This guy might be a bohs fan,and his club and mine are bitter,bitter rivals....
    but he means more to me than most of the fools on here who inhabit the very inertia he speaks of.

see youse on the 29th
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

I'm a finn harps and secondly a leeds united fan, you cant get any more hardcore than that!!
    It's just a job. Grass grows, birds fly, waves pound the sand. I beat people up.
    Muhammad Ali

Excellent post - exactly the same up in the North

43 Posts
    I lived in South East London for 2 and a half years. 10 minutes away from the New Den and watched Millwall on a regular basis. Am I a sinner?

Seriously lads, my sig says I care, but these endless threads of the superfan and his snobbery are getting more and more tedious and ridiculous.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    I lived in South East London for 2 and a half years. 10 minutes away from the New Den and watched Millwall on a regular basis. Am I a sinner?

Seriously lads, my sig says I care, but these endless threads of the superfan and his snobbery are getting more and more tedious and ridiculous.
    No, they are your local club while you are living in London

spot on.

Did a little test in a pub during one of Ireland's internationals (home game against Cyprus) where I wore my French national shirt to the pub. When asked by a few at my table why I was wearing it I replied that I support France on the international stage, when they asked why I would do such a thing I said it's because their style of football is much more attractive than the Irish national side. After much slagging they asked who I supported at club level, I said Limerick, after much more slagging I asked who they supported, the answers varied between Liverpool and United, and I asked why they supported them when they are from Dublin, they said it was because the LoI is ****, to which I replied, 'but what's the difference between me supporting France cause I think they are better than Ireland and you supporting United/Liverpool cause they are better than Bohs/Rovers/whoever?'. I got a few mumbles about it being completly different, but it shut them up fairly lively.

In conclusion I find baiting Premiership supporters in bars to be one of the better aspects of being a League of Ireland football supporter

* I have a French jersey because a) I quite like them, and b) it was €20 in Lifestyle

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Did a little test in a pub during one of Ireland's internationals (home game against Cyprus) where I wore my French national shirt to the pub. When asked by a few at my table why I was wearing it I replied that I support France on the international stage, when they asked why I would do such a thing I said it's because their style of football is much more attractive than the Irish national side. After much slagging they asked who I supported at club level, I said Limerick, after much more slagging I asked who they supported, the answers varied between Liverpool and United, and I asked why they supported them when they are from Dublin, they said it was because the LoI is ****, to which I replied, 'but what's the difference between me supporting France cause I think they are better than Ireland and you supporting United/Liverpool cause they are better than Bohs/Rovers/whoever?'. I got a few mumbles about it being completly different, but it shut them up fairly lively.

In conclusion I find baiting Premiership supporters in bars to be one of the better aspects of being a League of Ireland football supporter

* I have a French jersey because a) I quite like them, and b) it was €20 in Lifestyle
    haha that is great. good man

genius!!
    It's just a job. Grass grows, birds fly, waves pound the sand. I beat people up.
    Muhammad Ali

Just had a thought, don't know if this has been discussed before but how much do you think Irish people pump into British football....whether it be jerseys (or any merchandise for that matter), match tickets, television subscrption fees(which in turn are paid out to clubs), memberships etc.....??

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Just had a thought, don't know if this has been discussed before but how much do you think Irish people pump into British football....whether it be jerseys (or any merchandise for that matter), match tickets, television subscrption fees(which in turn are paid out to clubs), memberships etc.....??
    Enough to dramatically improve the League is the simple answer, yearly it would break into a 7 figure sum I reckon

Brilliant!!

Enough to dramatically improve the League is the simple answer, yearly it would break into a 7 figure sum I reckon
    i'd say the sum of money would be sick to look at.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post

certainly for celtic i'd say the irish market is crucial. Also marketing celtic as an irish club gets them support from people in America.

Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast