He said he's stick around if finances become available,he's the best manager ive seen in my lifetime supporting Rovers but I think he will move on,he is quality
Lads, i heard over the wkd the cook was quoted in some cicrles locally that the present budget of the club is 7K a week and said he will not be managing Sligo Rovers next season unless he's given a budget of 15k a week and thats only so we have a chance to compete.... Surely we cant let this great man & coach go we must do all we can to keep him! He loves it here and wants Sligo Rovers to be a success. He has a real affinity with the club now and imo arguably the best manager we,ve ever had, the way he has the lads playing etc....
LETS START A CAMPAIGN TO KEEP PAUL COOK....
Thoughs & suggestions please???
He said he's stick around if finances become available,he's the best manager ive seen in my lifetime supporting Rovers but I think he will move on,he is quality
RIP JOHNNY
To be fair, the man whther he goes or stays, I recko, will always be a legend.
Sexy football, makes players play with heart and above all he is honest. What more could we want apart from a trophy? (Which would come if he stuck around...)
Fact is we don't have the money to keep him.
He is dead right to move on. His career is going no place at this club any longer.
If we want a Sligo Rovers in the future then there is no way we will just up the budget to keep a manager, after all that has happened this year I think Rovers have learned their lesson and keeping Sligo Rovers alive is way more important than going searching for glory.
We can do all we want to try and get Cook to stay but it just wont happen. Just try and enjoy his football while he is here.
Paul Cook is the best manager in the league and would easily win the league if given the budget of the likes of Pat's, Drogs or Bohs imho. I honestly don't think we can afford to keep him unless serious investment comes in, which is unlikely.
Sorry to pee on the parade, lads, but much as I admire Paul as a man, he is hardly in the Fenlon/Kenny league as far as tactics go. His insistence on playing a right footed player at left back got us knocked out of the cup in each of the last two seasons. Best Manager ever? I think not. Try Sinclair or McStay who actually delivered silverware while playing great football.
Let me check I've got this right - your board is talking about the club going to the wall because you're spending too much, but you reckon you should start a campaign to double the budget to keep the manager who has you in mid-table (a respectable position for you, but nothing that's going to earn the outlay you require)?
Are you all there mentally? It's hard to tell.
Cant see him staying tbhhe wants a decent wage budget to work with and if we go at all part time he's going. And we will HAVE to go at least partially part time next year.
BTW: Thanks for your input Stu![]()
I rate him highly and will be surprised if he doesn't suceed at a higher level but lets not forget the 2 big mistakes he made this year which had a big outcome on how the season panned out , the first was to start jennings in the cup match against shams the second mistake was to leave him on the pitch when everyone in the ground could see where things were going after about 10mins.
problem was, if he took him off what kind of a blow to his confidence would it be.be massive.cooky was just being a good manager protecting his players,he is very defensive when speaking of jennings,im sure he knows he's had a bad time here between the sticks a blind man could see that,but what if brushy gets injured and cook had said publicly he doesnt rate jennings?
personally i think time will tell how good cook is as a manager, so far we haven't achieved great things but he certainly has us playing lovely football.boco,butler, quality signings in fairness and with the proper funds we could easily be in 2nd place this year if not first.
aim high and see what happens. we have to budget properly for next year and try and get real fans(not the 4 like ucd have) to support our club.
the standard of football played by sligo rovers this year has never been seen before in my time and i have been following rovers for 28 years.
we are not going to settle for avoiding relegation each year (like ucd do by strangling good football)
i hope ye enjoy football in the graveyard next season and the premier league would be a better place with galway harps or cobh ahead of ucd.
as for us being mentally challenged , you would have to be to be a real rovers fan.
Can i ask why your giving your opinion to a question that is aimed at sligo rovers fans, in the sligo rovers section? move along young fella.
I think paul is a decent manager and a top man off the pitch but i don't think we can keep him because the money he needs for us in this moment in time is too high, unfortunatly.
All Paul Cook is doing at the moment - and fair play to him for it - is advertising the fact that he is available. Nice job coming up at Drogheda.
Lads jesus there is a lot to be said for being happy in a place which Cook is. As for Drogs i would be amazed if they continue to exist as the big money spenders in the league next year, the stadium not having the go ahead could well mean the investors could be of and they will return to being a yo yo club and there is a lot of rumors of just that with Hoey and his mates about to pull the plug. Also if you think Shams are about to start splashing the cash you are wrong they will be a part-time club next year as their board have an obligation to the Shams fans not to act recklessly like their predecessors and as well as that Scully has turned the ship around up there.
Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 03/09/2008 at 5:53 PM.
dont think Cook would go to another Irish club imo