Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Matches 21st-24th February

555 Posts
    The second half in Tolka was crazy, players slipping and sliding and the ball moving unpredictably on the surface. A wet February is a terrible time to start the season.

Thought Sloggett was good in the middle. Smith was quiet enough but was almost like shels lined up 4-2-4 with Kabia and Shep high up on the wings.

386 Posts
    Feckin pitch......

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Didn't understand the challenge for the sending off, literally no need for it, crazy stuff
    In fairness, I nearly felt sorry for the guy when Greener go a hold of him, thought Greener was gonna kill him and I think he thought that too, lad looked like he'd **** himself.

53 Posts
    Enjoyable night in Tallaght

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Where on earth was Cherrie's sense of positioning for the Harps goal, he was outside the near post for shot that was always going to be sent at the far post, I dont agree he was out to collect the ball as possession had turned over well. He may not have gotten to it but he didnt give himself a chance. Ye have to feel for Harps with less than 10sec from a rare win against Derry.
    He's always at that, loves standing outside the post so he can pull off dramatic saves

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Weatherman View Post
    Thought Sloggett was good in the middle. Smith was quiet enough but was almost like shels lined up 4-2-4 with Kabia and Shep high up on the wings.
    Seriously Talented player.
    Was my Dundalk potm tonight.
    Smith wasn't great tonight but i think he will improve and prove himself.

342 Posts
    Pretty gutted with that,we were well organised and looked untroubled for most of it,defended poorly for the goal but can't be too hard on them,if we can play like that for most of the games we'll be alright.
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Dalling was a disgrace , horrific lunge at Lopez that deserves more than a red card - thought it was shameful how then he and many of the other Cork players remonstrated with the ref - as for Fenn then shaking Dalling’s hand when he finally left the pitch , uncalled for and classless.

Luckily Lopez not injured and the Burke inspired show that followed was the right response to the behaviour of Dalling other players and Fenn
    Thankfully no one was injured.

Nothing new about Pico being involved in disgraceful, horrific lunges

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Pretty gutted with that,we were well organised and looked untroubled for most of it,defended poorly for the goal but can't be too hard on them,if we can play like that for most of the games we'll be alright.
    Definitely an improvement from last season.
    Derry didn't play well but dominated the 2nd half. Stone wall penalty on the 2nd foul on Mc Donagh.

Derry will play better. Weather conditions were terrible for both teams and viewers.

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Thankfully no one was injured.

Nothing new about Pico being involved in disgraceful, horrific lunges
    You ever actually going to grow the **** up?

Took in Shels v Dundalk this evening for my first game in 2 years having been out of the country. Really entertaining game in an effort and blood + guts sense. Great to see Tolka “sold out”, even if most of the stadium was out of action, helped make a great atmosphere. Hopefully the crowds keep coming as it would make for a healthy addition to the league!

Shels : Bravely went with a 4-4-2 with the aim of playing direct to Kilduff and having runners off him (Kabia / Sheppard / Dobbsjoining in) Worked well in patches, mainly down to the momentum gathered from winning second balls. Shane Farrell was a lot more effective than Dobbs due to his pace. Deegan / Poyton were exposed as a 2 man midfield at times due to their mobility and amount of space they had to plug in. Sean Quinn / Ryan Brennan made a big improvement when them came on ( Brennan/Quinn/Deegan as a trio could be the best blend) Luke Byrne + Danny OReilly at CB could cause issues due to their size, conceding two from set pieces is an early warning! Alex O’Hanlon showed glimpses of why he was so highly rated as a kid.

Dundalk : Fairly disappointed in what I seen from Dundalk. Very industrial performance with 3 defensive midfielders playing. Sloggett is a good player but definitely should be playing deeper. More of a wrecking ball number 10 then a deft creative one (kinda like Jeff Hendrick) Perth finished the game with 6 defenders which could be seen as clever as they got away with 3 points, but it showed they were far closer to Shels than they should have been. Dundalk barely created a chance from open play and relied on set pieces again to make anything! Boyle and Gannon were excellent on a night that lent itself to bread and butter defending!

Conditions definitely played a role in the quality of the game so I expect both teams to improve as the season opens up and they get into more of a groove. Dundalk will need to improve for the Rovers game next week but Perth will rightly point to 6 points out of 6 as the measure. That logic is fine until they’re picked off in Europe.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Eloquently put as always!

If you disagree with the comment about Lopes feel free to say so.......

445 Posts
    Pats probably going to have the league wrapped up by mid July

172 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Eloquently put as always!

If you disagree with the comment about Lopes feel free to say so.......
    You don't actually deserve any better, you've shown with your posts that your a pointless WUM.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

172 Posts
    Easy victory for Rovers in poor weather conditions against a hapless cork side. Not much if a workout to be fair, and would expect a different game against Waterford in Monday.

270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Feckin pitch......
    On that point fair play to Sligo for getting the game on in those conditions.

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Looking at the tackle again above it was certainly a red card because it was 2 footed mainly. But it wasnt as 'horrific' imo as you seem to see it. Dalling was a fraction off it being 50-50 in terms of competing for the ball even if that competition was not well controlled. I dont think he lined up the player and took him out which is when 'more than a red' is deserved. It was a tackle out of its era and punsihed accordingly - even 10 years ago we'd be debating whether it was a straight red.

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Looking at the tackle again above it was certainly a red card because it was 2 footed mainly. But it wasnt as 'horrific' imo as you seem to see it. Dalling was a fraction off it being 50-50 in terms of competing for the ball even if that competition was not well controlled. I dont think he lined up the player and took him out which is when 'more than a red' is deserved. It was a tackle out of its era and punsihed accordingly - even 10 years ago we'd be debating whether it was a straight red.
    I called it disgusting, which it was, not horrific, I never said "more than a red". Timing is irrelevant once you jump in studs up, two feet together, off the ground, that's disgusting to do.

Now if you could stop putting words in people's mouths and defending stuff purely because it's against Rovers that'd be great thanks.

386 Posts
    Calcio Jack said that. It's not all about you.

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast