Shelbourne v Treaty 19:45
    Athlone Town v Cabinteely 19:45

Saturday May 1st
    Cobh v Galway 19:00

270 Posts
    Do clubs request the earlier time slot or is it random. We are getting plenty of them lately , pain in the neck imo.

637 Posts
    These double weekends really give scope for movement with the Premier Divison. two wins for anyone and your position can change significantly
    Dundalk and Bohs will be targeting two wins to start to close the gap but both face improving teams in Derry and Waterford on Friday.
    Sligo have a tough match in Drogheda and then a big clash with Pats on Monday.
    If Rovers can win two matches to finish the first series it will be a great start.

Some interesting matches in the first division
    Bray need points badly and are playing Cork who will be desperate not to lose again and risk getting cut adrift at the bottom with Wexford.
    Treaty have a chance to show they are a serious team away to Shels.
    Galway one of the early season favs need points as well away to Cobh, given the investment down there

637 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    Do clubs request the earlier time slot or is it random. We are getting plenty of them lately , pain in the neck imo.

The FAI normally give Rovers a shout to see when we want to play and then fit Pats in around that

57 Posts
    Awkward for the few part time teams too I'd say. It could become an advantage later in the season if you're top. If ye play first and win, it'll put more pressure on the chasing teams later in the evening to match your result.

270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    The FAI normally give Rovers a shout to see when we want to play and then fit Pats in around that
    That's fair enough , sure you's have to liaise with the council lads to let yous in.

535 Posts
    I for one am fearful of our next two games. I thought we would do the business in Waterford but hey wot do I know?

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Fifth defeat in a row coming up for us. We are truly awful. Same story every week, we have plenty of possession to start but nothing much in the final third and then we concede. Honestly it's becoming a chore to watch us.

31 Posts
    Be happy enough if we made a fair few changes on Friday and saved certain lads for Monday

637 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thebronze14 View Post
    Be happy enough if we made a fair few changes on Friday and saved certain lads for Monday
    I'd be happy with that too but it's not really ollie is it?

Quote Originally Posted by thebronze14 View Post
    Well if you insist.

326 Posts
    We badly need a win Friday to get back on track after 2 losses on the bounce. Our **** form at home, coupled with Derry beating Sligo away, makes this game anything but easy. Not even thinking ahead to Monday up in Drogheda :-/

637 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    We badly need a win Friday to get back on track after 2 losses on the bounce. Our **** form at home, coupled with Derry beating Sligo away, makes this game anything but easy. Not even thinking ahead to Monday up in Drogheda :-/
    Cant make my mind up about Bohs, looked good in a helter skelter Dublin Derby but very poor in a couple of other matches.
    I guess like Rovers replacing Byrne, McEneff , Bolger and not exactly hitting all the right notes at the moment Bohs are down 3 or 4 good players from last season so also are in a transition mode.
    Your right though you need 4 points over the weekend to start moving in the right direction.
    There are to many decent teams in the league this year to make going on a 5 or 6 game winning run a realistic prospect, closing the gap wont be easy

Probably not worth a new thread but he sounds like a man who hasn't a clue what's going on.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/...-40275452.html

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Cant make my mind up about Bohs, looked good in a helter skelter Dublin Derby but very poor in a couple of other matches.
    I guess like Rovers replacing Byrne, McEneff , Bolger and not exactly hitting all the right notes at the moment Bohs are down 3 or 4 good players from last season so also are in a transition mode.
    Your right though you need 4 points over the weekend to start moving in the right direction.
    There are to many decent teams in the league this year to make going on a 5 or 6 game winning run a realistic prospect, closing the gap wont be easy
    I think they'll improve, but it looks like the attacking midfield players are going to have to carry a lot of the goalscoring burden. I also think their centre half options are really poor, as is Talbot, so I don't think it's any coincidence that only Derry and Longford have shipped more goals than them.

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Probably not worth a new thread but he sounds like a man who hasn't a clue what's going on.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/...-40275452.html
    I think that is probably one of the more insightful interviews Bill has given tbh. That he has admitted any errors made at all is something at least!

3,197 Posts
    He is a bit away with the fairies though. Like this bit -

Quote Originally Posted by Mad Bill
    Everybody is entitled to an opinion and if they think it is being run like a circus well let them stand up and say give me the chance to run it and I’ll show you how to run it.
    Why should you be "given the chance" to show something you've been doing badly for a year now?

Also, this bit -

Quote Originally Posted by Mad Bill
    Hulsizer also revealed that Dundalk expect to make a profit from the 2020 campaign
    - is surely not going to happen given Dundalk have been racking up large losses since 2016, and in 2020 there's covid with no-one allowed into games.

I'd be slightly worried there's no particular plan in place for a new manager. There really should be candidates in place by now, despite what he says. No names, no rush, very much an "Ah sure be grand" vibe about it.

637 Posts
    He is a bit away with the fairies though. Like this bit -

Why should you be "given the chance" to show something you've been doing badly for a year now?

Also, this bit -

- is surely not going to happen given Dundalk have been racking up large losses since 2016, and in 2020 there's covid with no-one allowed into games.

I'd be slightly worried there's no particular plan in place for a new manager. There really should be candidates in place by now, despite what he says. No names, no rush, very much an "Ah sure be grand" vibe about it.
    If they dont make a profit in 2020 with group stage euro money they have a bigger problem than we thought

57 Posts
    That 2020/21 Europa money won't be paid until after the final, probably next month, so wouldn't be part of 2020 accounts

3,197 Posts
    Ha! No, the UEFA moneys would be in the 2020 accounts even if unpaid. But I mis-read it as this year's campaign (2021), when they won't be making a profit at all.

He's still away with the fairies though

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast