Page 29 of 87 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979 ... LastLast

Thread: League of Ireland in Europe 2019

76 Posts
    Well that's that. 2-0 is slightly harsh, but the Swedish side are just too good. And for all Irish sides in Europe, you've got to score nearly every chance you get, or you're going out.

326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    2-0 to Norrkoping.

:
    Just think. That could have been you

131 Posts
    Pats outclassed, really. Cork - uh!
    Still a fair chance for Dundalk and Rovers to go through.
    Impressed by eirsport coverage. Thanks lads!

3,197 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    Well that's that. 2-0 is slightly harsh, but the Swedish side are just too good. And for all Irish sides in Europe, you've got to score nearly every chance you get, or you're going out.
    Dunno. Once the opener went in, there was only one team in it. Could have been more

76 Posts
    Dunno. Once the opener went in, there was only one team in it. Could have been more
    True, but they were competitive up to that point I felt.

270 Posts
    The Rats will be destroyed in Sweden.
    Sweden is lovely this time of year, cut along now you bitter individual.

270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    Pats outclassed, really. Cork - uh!
    Still a fair chance for Dundalk and Rovers to go through.
    Impressed by eirsport coverage. Thanks lads!
    predictable enough result tbh I thought we did well in the first half but where poor in the second up to the subs. I think Harry missed the page in the coaching manual were you put the round thing between the white stick type yokes.

105 Posts
    We'll send yous a post card if you still have a club to send one to xo

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    Sweden is lovely this time of year, cut along now you bitter individual.
    You will have to rob quite a few handbags to fund your trip and still have enough to pay your dealer. Bleedin' Righ!

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    We'll send yous a post card if you still have a club to send one to xo
    I'm surprised yous can bleedin write Anto.

Where's me bleedin smack?

30 Posts
    2-0

It will be eleventy nil in Sweden.

3,197 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    True, but they were competitive up to that point I felt.
    They were, but that left almost half the game where they were quietly outclassed I thought

Could see 2-0 at least in the return

I predicted Cork could struggle, but didn't see them doing this badly

105 Posts
    Waterford fans are gas. Their own owner and the FAI conspired to absolutely make a shambles of this season for them but the finger gets pointed at Pats. Makes sense that a fan base that turned a blind eye to signing...certain players would do that though.

I'd rather the smack jokes and a trip to Sweden tbh.

105 Posts
    We were poor but was to be expected, this was essentially a free shot at Europe thanks to the charity of Lee Power, Waterford and their friend John Delaney. No point in banging on about Kenny when there'll be games in the league where we'll play similarly against far lesser teams and the complaints will hold more merit. He's been atrocious though and three formations in one game is indicative of that.

270 Posts
    You will have to rob quite a few handbags to fund your trip and still have enough to pay your dealer. Bleedin' Righ!
    Still online must have ran out of pants to sniff.

870 Posts
    Go and find a lemon to suck on to sweeten you up!

Look to Mr Power and the bills he tried to dodge for why you weren't playing tonight. I dont want to see Waterford implode but Power looks to have spat the dummy when he lost his Waterford crony to pull a fast one.

555 Posts
    Mixed night. Very good result for Rovers, puts them in pole position to go through. Tallaght should be packed next week.

Pats did as well as could be expected for a team that were parachuted into the completion at the last minute. Cork are unrecognisable from the team that earned their place in the competition. I feared a humiliation for them but they did well to keep the score line respectable. That in itself is a great achievement for Cotter.

270 Posts
    It’s time to stop seeing Luxembourg as a soft draw , we barely got by each a few year back. I reckon both leagues are as bad as each other now.

772 Posts
    Embarrassing night for us.

A bad error by Horgan on the end line gifted them the first and the air just went out of the place. Horgan gave away a penalty then for a clumsy challenge before he was hooked off and we went back to 4-5-1 after starting 3-5-1-1. Then Sheppard missed a penalty to complete a miserable 30 mins. Game ebbed away after that. We had all the play but didn't manage to fashion a single decent chance. They were ok but physical, well organised and that was it really. Not a good team at all as evidenced by the two games against Cardiff anyway. We could have gone to Ibrox.
    Last edited by Real ale Madrid; 11/07/2019 at 10:49 PM.

3,197 Posts
    So the LoI has dropped to 41st in the UEFA rankings, having ended last year 37th. Armenia and Finland are within half a point and could yet catch us. It's our lowest ranking since 2014; 1997 and 1998 are the only other years we were ranked as low. Our (post Communist break-up) peak was 29th in 2010.

Basically we've had two group stage qualifications in the past decade and that's about it for Europe. Take the last three years only, and we're in 49th position - so this is potentially how far we'll drop if we don't replace Dundalk's 2015/16 season in the next two years. That's pre-qualifying for the Europa League phase territory.

Coupled with how much the national team has regressed, and how bankrupt the FAI evidently are, it's safe to say John Delaney is only brilliant and absolutely the best person ever to be CEO of the FAI.

Football in this country really needs a thorough overhaul if it's to catch up to the rest of the continent (though that's going slightly off topic; it's not because of tonight's results!)
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 11/07/2019 at 11:32 PM.

25. Thanks From:

Page 29 of 87 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979 ... LastLast