Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Resource Thread For Away Fans

1,522 Posts
    Any Cobh fans want to take a shot at this?

140 Posts
    Any Cobh fans?

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Any Cobh fans want to take a shot at this?
    I stayed overnight in Cobh last season for a Cobh game so I will do it! Commodore hotel is where I stayed and I had a reasonably great night in it. It was throbbing that Saturday night and is unique for their strange shaped lifts!
    Cobh is so unique that theres not a bus eireann running to it. I got Bus Eireann to Cork City and walked to their train station and took the hourly frequency trains down to Cobh.Its 30 mins by train down to it as it serves a good few stations to it as its also close to the Midleton railway line From Cobh train station to the ground its a ten minute walk across from there. Its high up on a hill overlooking it! I remember climbing at least forty steep steps to it across from the station. You come to a road take a left and walk down that road you cant mistake their floodlights in the distance.. hope this helps!

812 Posts
    I stayed overnight in Cobh last season for a Cobh game so I will do it! Commodore hotel is where I stayed and I had a reasonably great night in it. It was throbbing that Saturday night and is unique for their strange shaped lifts!
    Cobh is so unique that theres not a bus eireann running to it. I got Bus Eireann to Cork City and walked to their train station and took the hourly frequency trains down to Cobh.Its 30 mins by train down to it as it serves a good few stations to it as its also close to the Midleton railway line From Cobh train station to the ground its a ten minute walk across from there. Its high up on a hill overlooking it! I remember climbing at least forty steep steps to it across from the station. You come to a road take a left and walk down that road you cant mistake their floodlights in the distance.. hope this helps!
    Jack Doyle’s pub is the best spot to hit pre match and a nice chipper across the road. Bar at the ground also.

1,522 Posts
    Love the bar in the ground. Have had some great nights in there.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Love the bar in the ground. Have had some great nights in there.
    Cobh bar is pure class. Asked for a hot whiskey there couple of years ago and got a hot rum. Didnt even know that was a drink.

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ciaraa View Post
    Cobh bar is pure class. Asked for a hot whiskey there couple of years ago and got a hot rum. Didnt even know that was a drink.
    had forgotten ye had a bar. had a great night last time I was up there last season!

The footballgroundguide website has an Ireland section with lots of information and photos of all Premier grounds and a few first division ones too.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ciaraa View Post
    it is a class bar alright. When i was there, the visiting teams fans (i wont mention the team!) were acting up slightly. But the old couple who were running it had them in control at all times, nothing aggressive but told them politely to stop acting the maggot, and were well able to handle them. If it was a pub with security I imagine it could have got out of control. I was dead impressed as they seemed to know exactly how to handle a noisy football crowd.
    Friendly bar to boot as well.

Ah Cobh, bunch of us ended up drinking cans in a field behind the ground some years ago (it was a sunny Good Friday as far as I remember) and having great craic with the Gardai and the locals, I highly recommend this field
    Theres a prize for bringing the most fans you know

1,522 Posts
    I don't suppose anyone from Athlone would like to have a go at the questions? Have been doing pieces on the Harps site for our travelling fans this year:

http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5670
    http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5623

People seem to like it so will try to get them done for each of the other D1 clubs.

Any Limerick fans know the best spot for away fans to grab a quick pre match pint tomorrow?

2,337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by **FrOsTy** View Post
    Any Limerick fans know the best spot for away fans to grab a quick pre match pint tomorrow?
    Right across the road from the away end, can't remember the name of the place, but it's got a take-away off to the side of it too. Pool table in the bar and all. Grand spot for a pint pre-match.

1,522 Posts
    Tobin's / Track Bar is the one near the away end.

Over the road a bit Jerry O Dea's was were LIFT met recently so presume it's a Limerick FC kinda joint.

2,337 Posts
    That's the spot alright, Tobins. Yellow painted place. Good spot and an okay pint in there.

Cheers lads

The Track Bar is a hole. Much better off in Jerry's.

Plus unlike Tobin Jerry O'Dea actually sponsors the club and the fans.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    The Track Bar is a hole. Much better off in Jerry's.

Plus unlike Tobin Jerry O'Dea actually sponsors the club and the fans.
    I was in The Track Bar previously and found it excellent - good welcome from bar staff, a bit of craic with locals, convenient location.

Coming from dundalk would it be fair to say you aren't used to much??

Or am I being paid by Jerry O Dea??

We'll let the forum decide.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Coming from dundalk would it be fair to say you aren't used to much??

Or am I being paid by Jerry O Dea??

We'll let the forum decide.
    What an idiotic post

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast