Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Matches weekend 14th to 15th May

44 Posts
    I don’t think Dundalk are as bad as ppl are making out - they are making chances and have actually been unlucky in many games. If they get the right manager and bring focus I think they could rise very quickly.
    Drogheda United in this together

27 Posts
    Watched the last 30 mins of Drogs - Pats, impressive from Drogs. They'll be fine and look confident.

Not expecting anything from Tallaght tonight.

25 Posts
    I think if Rovers win tonight, they’ve one hand on the league trophy already.

386 Posts
    There’ll be no title race again this season. Well clear already and Towell to come in.

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Finlay Harp View Post
    There's Johnny Ward back on the sniff again!

3,195 Posts
    He's not wrong though. Win tonight and they'd be 7 points clear after 11 games, just 4 points dropped all season, best defence and attack in the league (if you ignore Drogheda's 7-0 win against an U19 team), no-one really showing the consistency to keep up - indeed no-one able to beat them in the league in almost a full season - and as Nah Nah notes, Towell to come in. It's a fairly ominous picture for everyone else.

25 Posts
    You could go one better and say that if Rovers beat Dundalk next week then Dundalk might struggle to get Europe through a league position.
    I know it’s early in the season but it’s a league this year that’s dog eat dog. I can see a team not normally in the mix doing something out of the ordinary.

2,337 Posts
    It's funny to see the contrasting views on Harps/Dundalk last night.

For Dundalk fans, they were just crap in the first half, and better second half.

For me, I thought Harps were excellent in the first half. Set up well, pressed high and gave Dundalk no time on the ball, played some neat football, and probably should have had more than just the one goal.
    Second half, we sat back, didn't come out with the same intensity at all, and allowed Dundalk a chance to get back into the game. Probably lucky not to concede another as well, but a draw was undoubtedly a fair reflection of the game.

3,195 Posts
    I can see a team not normally in the mix doing something out of the ordinary.
    Well Drogheda and Harps are doing that right now I guess. I think the top three are a step ahead and will take three European spots. The fourth Euro spot could be someone different to usual though.

194 Posts
    He's not wrong though. Win tonight and they'd be 7 points clear after 11 games, just 4 points dropped all season, best defence and attack in the league (if you ignore Drogheda's 7-0 win against an U19 team), no-one really showing the consistency to keep up - indeed no-one able to beat them in the league in almost a full season - and as Nah Nah notes, Towell to come in. It's a fairly ominous picture for everyone else.
    You could go one better and say that if Rovers beat Dundalk next week then Dundalk might struggle to get Europe through a league position.
    I know it’s early in the season but it’s a league this year that’s dog eat dog. I can see a team not normally in the mix doing something out of the ordinary.
    I threw a few emojis and the Johnny Ward craic in there to try and lighten the mood. Jaysus yous are a hard audience to have a laugh with.

I'm here all Month!

3,195 Posts
    The rolleyes emoji probably a wrong one to start off with in fairness!

194 Posts
    The rolleyes emoji probably a wrong one to start off with in fairness!
    True.We're a bit restricted on the emoji choices so ran with what was available.

Any rumours anyone on the Dundalk manager anyone?,seen Staunton and Dave Rogers getting a mention this week.

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Logged in for 2 mins apiece to both games today and saw 2 cracking goals. Great free kick from Massey and great finish my McNamee. He's a great signing for harps, imo.
    If I was nasty I'd go hard on dundalk and rip their club apart, but I'm actually feeling sorry for their real lifetime fans who are a witness to this farce.
    Ah here, hold back on the sympathy for now. We're only 1.5 seasons from being a peno shootout for a clean sweep, 6 months from a last EL group game and FAI Cup. Were muck at the moment, mid table, not a decade in division 1 and the antics now are not quite an owner threatening to demolish buildings over a lease, refusing to sell but saying that the club will be let run in to examinership. Its all relative and this is a bump even with a pricy squad, not hours from the antics being terminal!

Id prefer nasty, rip away, sympathy is patronising

637 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    With a bit of luck we'd have won but c'est la vie and we were total and absolute rubbish in the first half so draw prob right result.

The press are fairly coming for Dundalk,i see former Dundalk cheerleader, Dan having a go again this morning.

EDIT = https://www.independent.ie/sport/soc...-40428674.html

He's put that on premium for some reason!

Dont think he was having a go to be fair it was prety much a rehash of what is already out there

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Dont think he was having a go to be fair it was prety much a rehash of what is already out there
    Constantly at it is my point,and in fairness it's not just not him. Had to laugh at him putting it on a paywall though.James Rogers had the story well before.

637 Posts
    Having a bit of a gap will allow the team go into every match with no pressure and that is a big factor.
    The win against Pats last weekend was a huge one in terms of establishing that gap.
    Rovers need to follow it up by beating Derry tonight then head up to Oriel next week for a match that could if they win it put them 21 points ahead of Dundalk. That would be a gap that its hard to see DFC coming back from.
    In terms of the league being over its a bit early to be calling it now.
    Rovers have been winning games at the death and the question is do they have a second gear that they can get into or is it going to be like this all season in which case the gap isnt very big and last minute goals cant continue forever, like dogs that chase cars and pros that putt for pars

Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    I threw a few emojis and the Johnny Ward craic in there to try and lighten the mood. Jaysus yous are a hard audience to have a laugh with.

I'm here all Month!
    I'd say it's the quality of your material rather than the audience that is affecting the amount of metaphorical laughter there.

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    I'd say it's the quality of your material rather than the audience that is affecting the amount of metaphorical laughter there.
    See,even this sad loser bstard gets me hurrah!

870 Posts
    The only thing that can make this season more competitive is if Rovers progress in Europe. The best of teams can struggle on the domestic front with the effort that goes in to the schedule. Any gap could be crucial. Tiblisi would be a reasonable start, nice long trip and winnable for an unseeded side!

342 Posts
    Maybe it's a bad time but Dundalk could do worse than nabbing Tim Clancy, doing a fine job at Drogheda....

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast