Page 42 of 43 FirstFirst ... 3240414243 LastLast

Thread: Attendances 2018

79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDMRooney View Post
    YEah there were maybe 20 people on the Town End who made repeated references to "your just a bunch of gypsys" or "gypsy *******s" throughout the game and I didnt like it. No more no less than that
    Your better off not going to football games if you dont like that. Also never ever go to a game between 2 big rivals!

1,522 Posts
    People need to stay away from the likes of that. Clubs have been fined for a lot less.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    People need to stay away from the likes of that. Clubs have been fined for a lot less.
    Don't stewards take action (in so far as they can) about racial chants ? also, it is open to any individual to bring racist chants to the attention of the gardai who are obliged to act, even if it is just to warn off the clowns doing it.

420 Posts
    Stop ffs a bit of harmless chanting.

637 Posts
    where does it stop Lads?
    Are we not allowed to call the Junkies Junkies and the Gyppos Gyppos anymore?

342 Posts
    Fecking Caseyites ruining football!!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Don't stewards take action (in so far as they can) about racial chants ? also, it is open to any individual to bring racist chants to the attention of the gardai who are obliged to act, even if it is just to warn off the clowns doing it.
    Honestly curious, what would the guards do them for? We dont have any hate crime legislation as far as I know..........

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    We actually do have hate crime laws, made in the 80s, though from what I've read they aren't worth much when it comes to prosecutions. Part of the background to the recent referendum was a suggestion the blasphemy provision should be replaced with more general wording about hate speech, but that never transpired.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

408 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Your better off not going to football games if you dont like that. Also never ever go to a game between 2 big rivals!
    Would it be ok if they were abusing Limerick fans for being black, Jewish, Muslim etc ?

Sadly Travellers are the one remaining 'acceptable' targets of racism in Irish society.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    Would it be ok if they were abusing Limerick fans for being black, Jewish, Muslim etc ?

Sadly Travellers are the one remaining 'acceptable' targets of racism in Irish society.
    How can you be racist or sectarian again someone the same race and religion as you?

408 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    How can you be racist or sectarian again someone the same race and religion as you?
    Travellers are a recognised ethnic minority.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    Travellers are a recognised ethnic minority.
    How I'll never know but not a discussion for this site so I'll say nothing more on it.

637 Posts
    I think LOI supporters should be recognised as an ethnic minority , we are scorned in public, discriminated against by the govt and in general looked down upon

1,522 Posts
    Would love to see a day where LOI fans move beyond the traveller themed abuse / chants at matches. Apart from the very real prospect of punishment for clubs, it's just not right to use any such group as an abusive term.

We can all give each other abuse without picking on the travelling community.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    I think LOI supporters should be recognised as an ethnic minority , we are scorned in public, discriminated against by the govt and in general looked down upon
    that's just Shamrock Rovers

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Would love to see a day where LOI fans move beyond the traveller themed abuse / chants at matches. Apart from the very real prospect of punishment for clubs, it's just not right to use any such group as an abusive term.

We can all give each other abuse without picking on the travelling community.
    Yes indeed, its very unfair to the Travelling Community to be associated with Limerick FC

637 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    that's just Shamrock Rovers

Touche....Gyppo

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Touche....Gyppo
    Always thought it funny that Bohs are nicknamed 'the Gypsies' while shams were the club homeless and wandering around Dublin for so long

116 Posts
    It is testament to the quality of discussion that this subject has been brought up but it is sad to hear anti-traveller chants at games, of course they are still commonplace as are shouts of “fa**ot” or “q**er” but they should be challenged every time.

Great to see it being brought up.

Quote Originally Posted by DCWA View Post
    It is testament to the quality of discussion that this subject has been brought up but it is sad to hear anti-traveller chants at games, of course they are still commonplace as are shouts of “fa**ot” or “q**er” but they should be challenged every time.

Great to see it being brought up.
    To be honest, having been away in the US the last LOI game I was at a female linesperson was the subject of relentless sexist abuse being called a **** etc so I wasn't prepared to let it pass this time. I just don't understand what it adds to the enjoyment of the game

Page 42 of 43 FirstFirst ... 3240414243 LastLast