Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Thread: Games 4th November to 8th of November (The final fence)

Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    Players have been done for match fixing for far less than that.
    100% .

1,522 Posts
    Do you know what would cheer you guys up / enhance your elation?

A new car for 2021! www.newyearnewcar.ie

We are the Harps!

637 Posts
    Last 5 matches

Rovers............... 13
    Harps............... 10
    Bohs ............... 10
    Sligo .............. 9
    Derry.............. 7
    Shels .............. 6
    Pats .............. 5
    Dundalk .......... 5
    Waterford ........ 4

All hail king Ollie but when you look at the points total for the last 5 games anyone could have made Europe with any sort of form.

Cork .............. 2

A disappointing finish to the season for Waterford and we miss out on Europe again. I knew it would be tough away to Finn Harps. Matt Smith missed a one on one when it was 0 0 with McGinley saving and then there was drama at the end with us almost snatching a draw but overall Finn Harps played well and you couldn't argue with the result. Fair play to Sligo for pulling off the win away to Dundalk and giving themselves 4th place.

2,337 Posts
    Fine margins..give Kurtis Byrne the ball another 99 times and he scores. Can't imagine how he's feeling after smashing the ball off the post from 6 yards in the dying seconds...

Absolutely delighted though, and in truth, no more than we deserve after the run of form we went on. Mad to think, over the past ten games, we've had the third best record in the league. Over half the season. And yet it took the width of the post to keep us out of a playoff.

3,196 Posts
    Teams who scored more than a goal a game over the season -

Rovers (44)
    Dundalk (25)
    Bohs (23)
    Sligo (19) - courtesy of the 90th-minute second in Dundalk

And that's it. Not sure what that says about the division - defences on top or no creativity/decent forwards anywhere.

Cork's defensive record of 30 goals against in 18 games isn't actually all that bad (Harps and UCD were both worse last year), but 10 goals scored in 18 games must be close to a record.

3,196 Posts
    Also, enjoyed this little exchange on Twitter!

360 Posts
    Absolutely shocking by Dundalk last night, easily the worst league performance, needs a massive clear out and hopefully a new manager being sought immediately after the Arsenal game.

It was a deflating feeling at FT, such a underwhelming achievement of finihing 3rd and soundly beaten by a much better and hungrier side, not even sure we deserved to finish that high to be honest.

I can only think of two good performances post covid return, 2-0 away to Cork, and 2-1 away to Derry, points against sides in top 5 were just shocking.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

1,522 Posts
    I missed the Waterford response in all the madness, that's brilliant.

637 Posts
    yeah brilliant by both social media guys.
    Harps put out a great tweet (i don't know how to link) of ollie horgan superimposed onto Steve McQueens body on a Motorbike in a scene from the great escape.

If Harps had beaten Cork twice which they could have easily on the basis of both matches they could have sneaked into Europe. Can you imagine Ollie on the sideline in Europe "Jaysus lads if we keep it below double figures it will be good......by half time "
    Last edited by sbgawa; 10/11/2020 at 12:14 PM.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Harps put out a great tweet (i don't know how to link) of ollie horgan superimposed onto Steve McQueens body on a Motorbike in a scene from the great escape.

If Harps had beaten Cork twice which they could have easily on the basis of both matches they could have sneaked into Europe. Can you imagine Ollie on the sideline in Europe "Jaysus lads if we keep it below double figures it will be good......by half time "
    And that's just the bookings.

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post

As good as staying up was there defo is frustration that we didn't finish higher! Threw away 4 points against Derry. Should have beaten Cork down there, although they were the better team in FP. Lost at home to ten man Shelbourne. Would mean the world to see Finn Harps play in some far flung Eastern European location. Knowing our luck we would draw Ballinamallard or something if we qualified

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I assume Deegan's red card means he's suspended for Sunday now?
    Correct Longfordian!

637 Posts
    Morris came out and said that deegan knew he was missing the match after he got yellow so he didnt care aboit getting sent off...not sure who looks worse there, deegan or morris for accepting that from his captain

19. Thanks From:

1,081 Posts
    He obviously became too emotional at missing the game against us given his undoubted love for LTFC from his one season with us in 2007. Good news for us either way.

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456