Crazy scenes at Bohs v Shamrock Rovers

http://www.joe.ie/sport/video-skirmi...lymount/540311

555 Posts
    Poor performance by Dundalk tonight.

Sligo deserved at least a point from that game, they spurned two good chances.

Still three points is three points.

I was relieved that Cork managed to stop Galway getting three points. Galway could be a serious threat to us this year.

140 Posts
    Cheeky dig at Cork, but to be honest with you, they won't cause ye any problems with that display tonight. We were the better team for about 70 minutes, at start of season if you told me id be disappointed with a draw against cork, id have laughed at you. But it was a cracking game

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Cheeky dig at Cork, but to be honest with you, they won't cause ye any problems with that display tonight. We were the better team for about 70 minutes, at start of season if you told me id be disappointed with a draw against cork, id have laughed at you. But it was a cracking game
    JC loves an away point, he'll be well pleased.

The improvement in Galway is great to see. I've always had a lot of time for Tommy, since his playing days in Oriel.

140 Posts
    JC nearly made it to the centre circle celebrating their first equaliser. And I'd have to imagine you are right about his love of a draw - can be the only explanation for starting their top scorer, Maguire, on the bench. And leaving him there. Bizarre

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    JC nearly made it to the centre circle celebrating their first equaliser. And I'd have to imagine you are right about his love of a draw - can be the only explanation for starting their top scorer, Maguire, on the bench. And leaving him there. Bizarre
    JC was pretty scathing of Maguire's finishing last week. Maguire doesn't take criticism too well and JC demands total obedience. Those two are destined to fall out.

360 Posts
    This was a definitely a poor display by Dundalk and I would agree that Sligo probably deserved a point. They were well set up in the first half, and came out and had a go in the second. They had two chances that seemed to flash across the goal. I think we had one shot on target all game.

On a very cold night, it was a slog to get to full time, but 3 points most welcome.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

140 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    JC was pretty scathing of Maguire's finishing last week. Maguire doesn't take criticism too well and JC demands total obedience. Those two are destined to fall out.
    Caulfield strikes me as the kind of fella who'd fall out with himself. Probably the Roscommon blood in him

270 Posts
    We played very well tonight with plenty of nice passing & attacking play. I thought Wexford were rubbish, maybe just a poor night at the office for them. I didn't see the sending off but it had no major effect on the game. It was a much improved performance on Monday night but Wexford gave us so much space it's hard to judge if we were brilliant or they were just crap I'd say a bit of both is a fair assessment.

Wahey!

229 Posts
    You were due a win.

326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Wahey!
    "4:11am - I'm ****ed, so I'll go on foot.ie for a little post before bed, because I feel great"

We've all been there! All part of the great nights. Hope you are hanging this morning

238 Posts
    Brutal game in Finn Park. Bray had most of the ball, Harps lacked any real energy but a fine goal after brilliant work from Shaun Houstan was the only genuine bit of quality in the match.

Still, we played 10 times better in the 2nd half v Pats and got fk all, a poor performance, clean sheet and 3 points will do nicely.

870 Posts
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0416/782247-video/

So Soccer Republic footage of trouble in Dalymount gets top headline. Little odd as previous incidents never registered much for comment on MNS or SR, especially when it seemed Rovers were main culprits. By god that Bangarda that was drawing her baton at 1 minute is huge - no messing with her!!

Simple start of a solution, even punishment for the Bohs fans involved - move them out of that section of the Jodi Stand thats is closest to away support to the opposite end of the stand shopping centre side. It might irk some of the 'singing' section not involved last night but if they recognise why it is done they should be happy to go with it, they may also be quicker to name and shame or even stop pitch invasion by these kids if there is the prospect of being moved form their traditional spot in the ground

I'm pretty sure previous incidents involving Rovers have gotten top billing too.

And I'm not so sure many Bohs fans would be able to name and shame some lads over on the ferry from Wrexham.

114 Posts
    Handbags from the Green Street brigade, pathetic really. To be fair though that was a cracking dig at 20 seconds into the clip!

96 Posts
    Hooligan tourism, that's a new one, I suppose there are easy opportunities and zero repercussions , judging by that clip for those traveling to indulge in activity holidays.

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I'm pretty sure previous incidents involving Rovers have gotten top billing too.

And I'm not so sure many Bohs fans would be able to name and shame some lads over on the ferry from Wrexham.
    Well we can leave that initial discussion for now. Ok so people travel over for this Derby, we've even seen such footage in a documentary including an english football hooligan so it is very possible. Some creative movement of those who frequent certain sections of a ground to widen a gap and prevent Welsh, Irish, or English getting within striking distance inside a ground. At a minimum these tourist hooligans would stand out if entering the closest area to away support. Eh I doubt there isnt a Bohs fan somewhere who knows damn well who they are, and that they were on their way over.

172 Posts
    Great win for Rovers.
    Should be a cracker next Friday against Dundalk. It should give a true indication or whether this was a flash in the pan or not.
    The cops treatment of the pitch invaders is laughable, letting them back into the crowd.. Only in Ireland ,eh.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast