Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: League Cup 2019

346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    As it's an FAI event, does that mean you get half?

The 8 o'clock KO is silly, but a consequence of the game not being moved to the Sunday as per last year.

The Stute game seems to be going ahead. It's scheduled for 3 o'clock. Seems like quite the rush to get the Stute/Larne teams out, the dressing rooms cleaned up, etc., in time for the Derry/Dundalk lads arriving in.
    How early before KO does a ground half to be available? It wouldn't be ready until 6 at the earliest, you'd imagine.

Also, none of this solves my wedding conundrum. It's only in Donegal, just over the hills from the Brandy. There's chat of sneaking away for a couple hours....
    Games on Eir sport,get in on at wedding
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Stute will have that booked months ago. It'd be very cheeky, and likely a breach of contract, for the Council to turf them out. They could possibly move KO to 2pm, but that wouldn't change the 8pm KO time.
    If that’s the case then the Brandywell shouldn’t have been considered for the final on that day. Either have it on the Sunday or not there at all. Ridiculous that a cup final time is determined by an Irish League fixture.

874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Licencing criteria are a minimum requirement, I'm talking about the FAI having actual standards for once. Hosting a final should be a reward for hard work on and off the pitch, you can't have a final, that will be televised and built up as a marquee event shouldn't be held in a **** hole. It's bad enough but understandable tharlt oriel is on TV a lot for league games these days but it reflects awfully on the league every time its shown and gives people another stick to beat the league with.
    When Oriel is packed and especially if a temporary stand was erected behind the Carrick goal like at the previous LC final it doesnt look half as bad on TV as you suggest. Atmoshpere is never lacking either. What looks worse imo is a half full stadium at any cup final even its the Aviva as the naysayers are more likely to be critical about that in my experience.

I dont mind the game being in the Brandywell. Any trip to Derry is always to be looked forward to and is the most welcoming away fixture in the league. A big part of that is the way fans can mingle with ease without need to consider any issue of trouble breaking out. What happened with buses in the past has been sorted - the sort of thing that can happen at any ground if a bunch of idiot kids try to mimick what they've seen on tv or the like. Bus companies need to ease up on it by now!!

Apart from the Institute fixture could the KO time have anything to do with facilitating TV coverage? It wouldnt be a bad thing if its going to subsequently be marketed and pushed by Eir as a big game that they are showing.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    There are no such problems.

There were for a brief period a number of years ago, but absolutely nothing since.

Even the likes of Linfield and Coleraine fans with their union flags and 'interesting' songs can get in and out of the Brandywell without incident.

Time for any bus companies like that to move into the present tense.
    I have never experienced any problem in or around the Brandywell

However, if there is a perception of possible trouble on the back of previous stone throwing incidents, then this is a problem. If a consequence of this is that some bus companies are refusing to take fans to the Brandywell or are charging a premium, this perception causes real problems for people travelling.

What has been done to ensure no repeat of previous multiple incidents?

Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    They must have got re-assurances, We just booked Anchor Tours there leaving Dundalk at 1. Cant wait for a day out in Derry. Great City
    A step in the right direction

874 Posts
    Isnt there other areas in Derry that buses could park up away from the Brandywell area if they were concerned and let fans make their way to the ground. It isnt that far to walk especially with a few pitstops in a bar or 3 on the way

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    When Oriel is packed and especially if a temporary stand was erected behind the Carrick goal like at the previous LC final it doesnt look half as bad on TV as you suggest. Atmoshpere is never lacking either. What looks worse imo is a half full stadium at any cup final even its the Aviva as the naysayers are more likely to be critical about that in my experience.
    I'd nearly say the opposite, looked much better for the European games I thought, obviously not as good as it would have with something behind aylt least one of the goals but the main stand side looked much better. Still not acceptable for the league champions and way off the mark for where you'd want a major game held.

79 Posts
    I'd nearly say the opposite, looked much better for the European games I thought, obviously not as good as it would have with something behind aylt least one of the goals but the main stand side looked much better. Still not acceptable for the league champions and way off the mark for where you'd want a major game held.
    Passes standards for 2 rounds of European Football. Its very acceptable for LOI

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Passes standards for 2 rounds of European Football. Its very acceptable for LOI
    Don't try defend oriel, that's just embarrassing, attempting to defend not doing anything to it is bad enough nevermind defending how it is.

363 Posts
    Oriel Park in its current guise is barely acceptable for league games nevermind anything else ! It passes for europe due to 3k seats (2k covered), bare minimum.

Been here many times before, but a modest stand behind the town goal, and L shape roof on both sides of the stand would do wonders to the old girl.

Hosting the game in Brandywell is much better for the competition as its obv a much better ground, probably ranked 3rd from 10 in the PD v Oriel Park being 8th from 10.
    Last edited by oriel; 20/08/2019 at 3:38 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

194 Posts
    Don't try defend oriel, that's just embarrassing, attempting to defend not doing anything to it is bad enough nevermind defending how it is.
    State of you here a mhic
    Don't fall off that high horse of yours cos its a long way to fall Dick van Dyke.
    As.....

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    State of you here a mhic
    Don't fall off that high horse of yours cos its a long way to fall Dick van Dyke.
    As.....
    Look at the post above then rethink what you just said. I'm just stating facts here.

194 Posts
    Look at the post above then rethink what you just said. I'm just stating facts here.
    ok and sorry about that wee J-R-M.
    That's his opinion,he's entitled to it but it dosn't make it right.#FACT
    I said fact last so i'm right!

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    ok and sorry about that wee J-R-M.
    That's his opinion,he's entitled to it but it dosn't make it right.#FACT
    I said fact last so i'm right!
    It's a fact that oriel is a tip. If you even try argue otherwise you're deluded. Even the people running the club have said as much.

79 Posts
    You really have a chip on that shoulder. We dont have a Council who will do it for us, Why would the club put itself in financial difficulty with no help from anyone else? We have been over this a hundred times, get over it, it will be a few years before anything is done.

P.S I love Oriel when packed, no better atmosphere in the league

874 Posts
    Rome wasnt built in a day and all that. How long did it take Tallaght to be able to host games from when the first sod was turned? Nobody is defending Oriel Park, it needs a lot of improvement, it should never have fallen so far behind. We are what 5 or 6 years on from becoming challangers for the league, 7 from going out of existance. It will take longer still to get a Louth County Council magic wand waved even if Dundalk FC paid every cent for a new ground. Planning process alone could take 2+ years and thats without considering the time warping effect that LoI ground developments seem happen within. I'm sure if we had a super stadium with heated seats you would find something to irk you RH. That's not being defensive simply an observation.

As an FAI final it should be hosted appropriately whether it's in a ground that's up to peoples satisfaction of aesthetics on TV, or not being shoehorned in to an evening fixture slot a couple of hours after league game from a completely different league. No issues with the Brandywell as mentioned, but it's not showing respect to a national final by the organisers either.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 20/08/2019 at 6:04 PM.

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    At least it's FT (It was over after 14 mins). Shocking "defending " on what was an unacceptable display by Bohs.
    Fair play to Dundalk they smelt blood and finished it off early doors. They have really hit form for the run in.
    Hoban definitely "finished" �� but Perth might get another week !
    Little, if anything, positive for Bohs to take. Talbot got suspension out of the way and em, that's it ! Need a reaction for Friday.
    how did our ex playerMick Kelly do for ye marino?

537 Posts
    What is the story with Louth Co Co in general with its attitude to soccer clubs in the region?.
    Drogheda Utd have huge issues with their stadium for years too along with Dundalk.

427 Posts
    how did our ex playerMick Kelly do for ye marino?
    Looked nervy first half (probobly more due to crazy "defending" and Dundalk early blitz) but settled down and made 3/4 Decent saves. We have been spoiled with keepers, both Talbot and Supple called up to international squad but Kelly looked OK. Probobly need another game or two to make a call but not a bad debut (given the scoreline).

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Looked nervy first half (probobly more due to crazy "defending" and Dundalk early blitz) but settled down and made 3/4 Decent saves. We have been spoiled with keepers, both Talbot and Supple called up to international squad but Kelly looked OK. Probobly need another game or two to make a call but not a bad debut (given the scoreline).
    in fairness to him he hasnt played football since he left us at end of last season. Mick is a superb shotstopper and great kick out of him too. With the form of Lee Steacey for us this season we havent missed Mick at all which is remarkable really.

874 Posts
    What is the story with Louth Co Co in general with its attitude to soccer clubs in the region?.
    Drogheda Utd have huge issues with their stadium for years too along with Dundalk.
    Replied in Stadium thread albeit not a stadium update.

Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast