Abbeyfeale United 3-4 Janesboro B

ya ray massey is gone back into city league.askeaton had a few problems last season players going missing and others leaving country for work.but if im honest the two managers in askeaton did very well with what they had.

Akeaton have been really affected by immigration alright. Its an awful pity especially with the facilities that they have there.

Very sorry to see Old Mill pull their team. They havbeen around a good while now and have been in the premier division a few times in the past decade.
    Good news though for Carrig and Kilcolman

Any games on tonight?

Abbeyfeale proposed to start the league cups at the beginning of the season at last years agm. Clubs voted against it though,there arguement was that clubs who had no chance of winning the league would have nothing left to play for come the end of season. Personally I agree with previous comments that it should be played at the start of the season, if a team is'nt going well near the end of season there not going to get to excited about the league cup. Dont always blame the fixtures sec. for these decisions he can only go on what the clubs pass at the agm.

Old Mill held a meeting last night and they will be playing this season...they will struggle but at least they will have a team

Glin Rovers vs Pike Rovers tomorrow at 7 o clock in Glins proper pitch.

I seen a poster outside Cronins bar today that Newcastle are home to janesboro tomoro..I think it said 2pm kick off..is there any other friendlies on?? Wouldn't mind seeing a few teams play pre season games..

Good stuff to oldmill,great to see them giving it a go.Any results from friendlies? does anyone know what games abbey,ballingarry and shannonside have played? their keepin v quiet.

Only ones I heard were ncw 5-0 pike rovers and ncw 2-2 fairview...rathkeale 4-3 caherconlish(dunno how to spell that team haha) abbeyfeale 3-4 janesboro b.... And broadford played 4 or 5 friendlies(their results posted in earlier pages)

that was a mix of pikes b team and there 19s, which most of are infact u18!!

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Well done to the Old Mill for keeping it going, nice club, nice people there and good luck to them, even if they take a few hidings, hang in there and regroup in better times hopefully.

Drink driving ban ruined the desmond league.
    It used to be all about a match in the morning, back to the home teams chosen pub for soup, sandwiches and a few pints. That craic is gone now and is sorely missed. It was a great for building camradarie between teams.

Ballingarry used to do a great spread in Barretts. Sausages, black pudding and buttered bread.
    Broadford used to do a great feed of soup and sandwiches
    Askeaton used to do sandwiches and chicken legs
    Carrig Celtic always had a great spread too.

Fair play to the Old Mill is right hopefully they will put together a good enough team to stay up in Div 1. Although i did hear Anthony Molyneaux and Ray Cahill have deafinately joined Carrig Celtic, if this is true will make for an interesting match when the 2 teams meet in the league!
    FunTimes you do make a good point, not sure about the drinking ban but the spread a home team used to put out let all teams have a good post match 'chat'!! The spread is only done for teams in inter county competitions i.e. munster senior/junior and FAI, that is if it is done at all!

19s league starts this weekend i think. Any guesses at the favorites for it?

I see on a thread that mike behan has left shannonside and joined regional utd..and Peter Nash and mikey lyons from rathkeale have also signed for regional also.tossie butler signed for them also..look like the have got nice players from the Desmond league..only heard those transfers and don't know if they are 100% true

Quote Originally Posted by limkdesmond View Post
    I see on a thread that mike behan has left shannonside and joined regional utd..and Peter Nash and mikey lyons from rathkeale have also signed for regional also.tossie butler signed for them also..look like the have got nice players from the Desmond league..only heard those transfers and don't know if they are 100% true
    Great move for the lads, Finishing 5th in Limerick is a major achievement

They were in semi final of fai in 2010,was your club???

Just to let u know leon we a city team played broadford in pre season and won 3 2,so im afraid your argument doesnt add up.

Quote Originally Posted by passandmove View Post
    Just to let u know leon we a city team played broadford in pre season and won 3 2,so im afraid your argument doesnt add up.
    Sorry pass I forgot ye beat them as well,

Page 11 of 58 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast