Page 13 of 18 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Thread: Irish abroad transfer rumours

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    Maybe I have travelled more than some of you guys, but I feel that English speaking countries share an enormous shared history and heritage and have always felt at home when in the UK, US or Australia.
    I've travelled all over the world since I've been 20 and I agree 100% with irishultra on this one.

Is Liverpool really foreign?
    Yes.

Think about the word for a minute, is Kerry foreign if you are fronm Clare?
    No because both fall within the boundaries of the nation that is the Republic of Ireland ruled by a government in Dublin. Unfortunately Liverpool does not. I think before you travel anymore you should get two things:

1. A map.
    2. An Irish history book.

I shudder at the thought of your perceptions of the Republic of Ireland being exported to people worldwide. 1916-1921 what a waste of time that one was, what?

Well if nothing more Conor McCormack and I share a common outlook, I'm happy being in the minority, we're usually right.
    Only when you're the well-informed, enlightened minority not the ranting, raving, crazy people minority who think it's still 1850.
    Last edited by youngirish; 31/07/2008 at 10:07 AM.

3,501 Posts
    Daryl Murphy signs one year extension to his contract at Sunderland: http://www.safc.com/home/?page_id=15336

I'm glad I set a record even if a pretty meaningless one.

Maybe I have travelled more than some of you guys, but I feel that English speaking countries share an enormous shared history and heritage and have always felt at home when in the UK, US or Australia. Is Liverpool really foreign? Think about the word for a minute, is Kerry foreign if you are fronm Clare?

Well if nothing more Conor McCormack and I share a common outlook, I'm happy being in the minority, we're usually right.
    Are you Kevin Myers
    In Trap we trust

130 Posts
    I'm glad I set a record even if a pretty meaningless one.

Maybe I have travelled more than some of you guys, but I feel that English speaking countries share an enormous shared history and heritage and have always felt at home when in the UK, US or Australia. Is Liverpool really foreign? Think about the word for a minute, is Kerry foreign if you are fronm Clare?

Can't be that well travelled. If you don't consider Amercia, Britain, Australia or any other English speaking countries foreign then how many times have you actually gone abroad??

Have to say if you lived in the UK in the late 80's / early 90's I doubt you'd have felt at home.....

Not being argumentitive, but I lived in the UK late eighties and early ninties and 99% of English people I met were more than welcoming.
    In fact , I was surprised to learn that (for obvious reasons) we were more guilty of stereotyping them, than them us.

The IRA had hit London hard around during those years so their sense of fair play(English people) was all the more surprising and impressive.
    All the Irish people I knew over there felt the same altough of course there were one or two isolated incidents.

I went there straight after the leaving Cert in 88, and my image of English people going over was garnered from, our history,The reputation of the Sun/Daily Mail,Margret Thatcher and football hooligans.
    Of course I had forgot to consider the fact that all the Best Telly was on the UK stations and a lot of the best music was from Blighty.

I learned a valuable lesson over there that smug stereotypes are never right, apart from when meeting Chelsea fans who were to a man, brainless right wing oiks.

oh and back on topic, em Owen Garvan to ...maybe..em West Ham!!
    Last edited by cheifo; 01/08/2008 at 2:15 AM.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Not being argumentitive, but I lived in the UK late eighties and early ninties and 99% of English people I met were more than welcoming.
    In fact , I was surprised to learn that (for obvious reasons) we were more guilty of stereotyping them, than them us.

The IRA had hit London hard around during those years so their sense of fair play(English people) was all the more surprising and impressive.
    All the Irish people I knew over there felt the same altough of course there were one or two isolated incidents.

I went there straight after the leaving Cert in 88, and my image of English people going over was garnered from, our history,The reputation of the Sun/Daily Mail,Margret Thatcher and football hooligans.
    Of course I had forgot to consider the fact that all the Best Telly was on the UK stations and a lot of the best music was from Blighty.

I learned a valuable lesson over there that smug stereotypes are never right, apart from when meeting Chelsea fans who were to a man, brainless right wing oiks.

Much as I met plenty of bang on English people when I lived there and would've conuted many as good friends I have to say that a number of the English lads I worked on the sites with has serious issues with us 'Paddies' (and the African lads working with us) as had a couple of coppers I encountered after World Cup games in 1990, This isn't stereotyping but was,as you point out, mainly as a result of the IRA campaign that was in full swing at the time (Tory MP Ian Gow was killed in a car bomb that summer for example). Of course the majority of people were very decent but it's undeniable that there was tension in certain circles at that stage. Sean Hughes used to have a joke in his stand up routine where he said 'The best thing about being Irish in London is nobosy know you're black until you open your mouth!' which while obviously exagerated had some basis in truth. It was few years later that being Irish became quite fashionable over there.

Fair enough D69er , good post,, I actually feel one of the positives side affects of Blairs regime was a less confrontational attitude towards outsiders.

Back on topic, anyone noticing how in recent years there seems to be less to talk about regarding transfer regarding Irish players.This close season has very quiet IMO.

3,501 Posts
    close season in general has been quiet Chiefo, allegedly one of the reasons is that season ticket sales are down because of the credit crunch

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post

Funnily enough I think Ipswich are playing West Ham this weekend!

Think Owen will be staying put for another season though.....

85 Posts
    Are you "in the know" D69 or are you speculating????

I'm itching for him to step up, if only to get more exposure to him. I worry that I may have built him up too much in me head cos I've not seen that much of him.

But I do think at this stage given the amount of games he's played at that level that he's gotten all he's ever gonna get in terms of development, from Ipswich in the Championship.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Are you "in the know" D69 or are you speculating????

I'm itching for him to step up, if only to get more exposure to him. I worry that I may have built him up too much in me head cos I've not seen that much of him.

But I do think at this stage given the amount of games he's played at that level that he's gotten all he's ever gonna get in terms of development, from Ipswich in the Championship.
    He's from Drumcondra , I'd be good mates with his brother so have kept a close eye on his career since he went over to Ipswich but I wouldn't say I'm in the know as such! At present a lot of the whispers regarding Newcastle (where his Uncle Mick Martin is a scout), West Ham and Everton would appear to be just speculation. But I wouldn't expect to be the first person told if a move was in the offing! People forget he's still only 20, I think he's capable of the step up now but don't think another year at Ipswich would do his development any harm, he has plenty of time.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Yeah, it involves conquering a native people, and occupation by a foreign power
    BTW you missed out on India, Canada, New Zealand, and South Africa (among others) in your list
    What does that have to do with his original point? English-speaking countries do have a lot in common well beyond a shared language. There is a shared culture there and I do think countries like England or Australia are less foreign to me than counteis like Japan or Chad.

And Garvan having another year at Ipswich seems sound enough to me.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son View Post
    I do think countries like England or Australia are less foreign to me
    So we all agree that England is foreign. End of.

So anyone want to speculate where the following players will end up?

Alan Maybury
    Alan O'Hare
    Billy Dennehy
    Brendan McGill
    Clinton Morrison
    Clive Clarke
    Garreth O'Connor
    Gary Breen
    Ian Harte
    Jimmy Ryan
    John McAliskey
    Kevin O'Connor
    Michael Synnott
    Paul Tierney
    Richie Byrne
    Sam Foley
    Simon Madden
    Stephen Carr

All out of contract.

85 Posts
    Ian Harte is training and playing a couple of pre season games at Wolves trying to earn a contract
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

I thought McGill was close to signing for Bohs

Madden signed for Shamrock Rovers

253 Posts
    Charlton interested in McShane according to eleven-a-side. I'd say that would be a good move for him at this stage, assuming they'd play him at centre-half and not right full.

Billy Dennehy is training with cork, clinton morrison was with coventry vut got injured so i'm not sure what the story is there and Kevin o'connor is injured but is being allowed train with wolves. You can add james simmonds, formerly off chelsea to that list.

3,501 Posts
    reports on sunday morning linked Newcastle with a £10m move for Senderos, or £7m plus Shay Given.
    Wenger has said he's not for sale, and he has heard nothing about a move to Newcastle: http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...906963,00.html

£3m for Given is a steal, considering he's probably got at least 5 years left in top flight football.

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    reports on sunday morning linked Newcastle with a £10m move for Senderos, or £7m plus Shay Given.
    Wenger has said he's not for sale, and he has heard nothing about a move to Newcastle: http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...906963,00.html

£3m for Given is a steal, considering he's probably got at least 5 years left in top flight football.
    Surely even Newcastle are not daft enough to go for this

Page 13 of 18 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast