Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Friday nights latest

115 Posts
    Were any of them wielding umbrellas?

That seems to be the weapon of choice of the Bohs lads, though perhaps that's the casuals rather than the schooligans.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

89 Posts
    No brollies spotted. In other news Bohs fans produced what has to be the worst/strangest display yet to hit the LoI. Im not sure exactly what the giant flag was, but it had Super Mario on it doing something. THen there was another banner which said Super Mario Bohs. Very strange altogether, looked like a 5th class arts & crafts project. Hope someone got a pic.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    No brollies spotted. In other news Bohs fans produced what has to be the worst/strangest display yet to hit the LoI. Im not sure exactly what the giant flag was, but it had Super Mario on it doing something. THen there was another banner which said Super Mario Bohs. Very strange altogether, looked like a 5th class arts & crafts project. Hope someone got a pic.
    i hope so too.

im sure bail will be posted soon and they can come and tell us what the flag was about.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Never has the chant "what the effing hell is that" been more apt odd to say the least. Have to say I enjoyed my first visit to 'the biggest derby in league of Ireland football'.*

*This may be the subject of debate!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest
    Was at Rovers v Bohs. Rovers edged the first half, Bohs scored from one of the worst defensive mistakes ever, a horror goal.
    Darragh Maguire, wtf??
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Was at Rovers v Bohs, not too many clear chances for either side. Rovers edged the first half,.
    You're joking!? they had one shot, straight at (Brian) Murphy;as much edge as a dull episode of Nationwide.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Darragh Maguire, wtf??
    Saw it on Sports Tonight and it didn't look as bad as in real time. It seemed like they had an eternity to clear the ball at the time. Still a shocker.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    You're joking!? they had one shot, straight at (Brian) Murphy;as much edge as a dull episode of Nationwide.
    More in terms of possession and territory I suppose, in fairness Bohs had only had one (much better) shot too. Rovers had a few dangerous crosses into the box with no end product, Eoin Doyle completely missed a free header on the six yard line. I don't think either team would have felt hard done bye with a draw.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

89 Posts
    Yeah neither side had a host of chances, and Bohs wouldn't have won if it wasn't for a nightmare mistake at the back. Rovers also had a half chance when O'Connor went on a run and hit the side netting. Bohs probably shaded it and were the better side thanks mainly to Crowe and McGuinness, but considering the difference in budgets/personnel you might expect Bohs to have a bit more about them.

Buttimer was atrocious. Rovers were atrocious and Bohs almost as atrocious for letting them back into it.

Great win, though.
    Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.

176 Posts
    If we there till now, we'd still be losing. After they scored, they shut up shop, and we couldn't break them down. Aimless punts up the field, free-kicks in good positions wasted, possession casually conceded, crosses into the middle of nowhere, Byrne's shot in the first half that was tipped onto the bar came about from an awful clearance from Ferguson, and as for the goal, let's be kind and say you don't expect someone as experienced as Darragh Maguire to fk up a routine defensive header.

There seems to be more pressure on the home side in these games, and we froze. Simple as really.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Delighted with our first win.
    No way it was a penalty but Il take it.

Played much better imo and I enjoyed the game. Played a sort of 4-1-2-1-2 formation.
    Great crod too for a game against UCD

Rovers edged the first half...
    I'd have the wiring checked. Book yourself in with one A. Buttimer and you'll get a deal.

22 Posts
    ahhh dara you legend

was 3000 at pats game my guestimate, 300 derry.

kdjac
    5-0

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    WTF!?! You're 3-0 up... what a clown.
    He was brought down in the box, looked a stonewall peno from the stand, and he wasn't best pleased and said a few things to the ref. Ref seemed to whip the red card out at him very quickly so I'd guess Karl went a little too far with his protests.
    more bass

Just back from Rovers Bohs. Had the joy of being caught at the top of O'Connoll St when a gang of 15/20 Bohs teenage scumbags raced out of the flats (the ones between Dorset St and O'Connoll St, not sure the name of them, Hardwicke Street Flats??) and fired glass and plastic bottles at a 16 bus taking Rovers fans back to the southsides. One knacker chucked a big orange road barrier on to the road to try to stop the bus, while a different knacker threw another big orange barrier at the bus itself.

The *****s went off shouting bohs and anti-rovers songs, strolled back in to their flats. I counted two Garda cars on the next street down incl. a paddy wagon, neither of which were arsed going up to Dorset Street to chase the Bohs kids.
    They can't have been at the game then - we weren't let out until well after 10
    Not disputing that they call themselves Bohs fans........
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Went to Santry for Sporting and Dundalk. Conditions in first half horrendous. Disappointed with Dundalk. Sporting took the game to them and Hynes caused them a lot of problems. Doyle was also looking lively till he got sent off. Didn't notice the first yellow but he was slightly late going in on the keeper for the second yellow, although in fairness, there was a lot of water on the pitch. However, anyone who wears black tights playing football will attract notice.

After the sending off, I thought Dundalk would take control but it was Fingal who were the beter side. Scored from a corner and had the best move of the game where Conan Byrne should have scored. Equaliser was a magnificent free kick which gave Williams no chance. Poor Dundalk performance which produced the the chant of the night from the Sporting fans; "what a waste of petrol". They got p@@@@d on as well.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

Was at the sporting game as well. We played brilliantly considering we were down to 10 men for an hour. We made the best chances for most of the game up until they scored. In fairness though they could have nicked all 3 points towards the end. A decent tip over from williams, a long distance shot that just cleared the bar, Williams tipping a ball wide from a corner when two dundalk lads where waiting to score at the far post, A header which was saved and a bit of a scramble in the box.

All in all happy enough though. It seems we are pretty good at home. We just need to sort out our away form.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Are you at the Mons game Magicme? I am picturing you sittting in the stand with your laptop.

I was the one perched on the bench outside the bar with the laptop!
    Damn double glazing

70 Posts
    Though the crowd control was handled very well, no chance of any trouble in the ground, atmosphere was good, maybe a little quieter than I expected. I'd estimate 4,500 at it, but that's 100% guess, I'm looking forward to seeing what the official figure is.
    If you wanted atmosphere you were in the wrong stand love... I assume you were in the placid sitting rovers fans stand at the end of the ground. I estimate around 5,000 mark.

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast