Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 LastLast

Thread: Roy Hodgson (new Fulham manager)

214 Posts
    was furious when this story broke on sky sports news the other day. At this rate Big Ron will be the only managaer available in Western Europe.....God Terry Venables will even find another job before our panel get round to interviewing.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge
    Hodgson has just been appointed Fulham manager, Houllier was offered the South Korea job
    Hodgson walked out of the Swiss job to manage Inter Milan. He also walked out of the Finland job. How many other teams has he managed? Houllier has turned down an international job already. What we need is someone who a) wants the job, and b) will hang around to make the side competitive. So it's important that time is taken and the right appointment is made.

As for your comment about the system, that's just bull****.
    Irish players can only play 4-4-2. That's what they play in, every week. They can't handle any other system. When they're used, they struggle to cope.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Hodgson walked out of the Swiss job to manage Inter Milan. He also walked out of the Finland job. How many other teams has he managed? Houllier has turned down an international job already. What we need is someone who a) wants the job, and b) will hang around to make the side competitive. So it's important that time is taken and the right appointment is made.

Irish players can only play 4-4-2. That's what they play in, every week. They can't handle any other system. When they're used, they struggle to cope.
    All that's irrelevent to any point that I made. And Hodgson wanted the job and would have hung around long enough to make us competitive, even if it would have been one campaign.

Remind me what formation we used when we beat Sweden 3-0? Stephen Ireland plays in a system different to 4-4-2 every week, as does Lee Carsley. Care to give a reason as to why our players wouldn't be able to cope with 4-5-1 or 4-2-3-1 or any other system you want and give an example to back up your last point?

eirbhoy, sorry for last few off-topic posts, should probably be merged with Irish manager thread.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge
    Hodgson wanted the job and would have hung around long enough to make us competitive, even if it would have been one campaign.
    One campaign is not enough, imo. The boss will have to stick it out for 2-3 campaigns, in order for him to turn the side around, become competitive, and then build on it in the next campaign. You won't get that with Hodgson. He'll be off soon enough, as he's a club-orientated manager, possibly before the end of the campaign. Also, with his record, I don't expect them to be with Fulham for the next two years either.

2,796 Posts
    Some interesting stuff I read over the weekend:

The Times says Venables was not even considered by Fulham.

Patrick Barclay of the Sunday Telegraph says Hodgson could have done the England job in his sleep, his critical problem being that he's English. Barclay is a Scot so he has no baggage in that regard.

Hodgson has said that Fulham have good players but too many similar players in midfield . Getting the blend right is the key. Sounds simple, but this is excatly what I think about Ireland.

We have many very good players: Robbie, Doyle, Hunt, Duff, Ireland, Reid, McGeady, Dunne, Finnan, Given, Carsley. How do you get them to blend properly?
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 01/01/2008 at 8:37 AM.

The FAI really dropped the ball with Hodgson here, he was by far and away the most suitable, willing, candidate for the job. Good track record at getting average teams to perform above themselves. Either way it's been obvious for weeks that El Tel has the job lads if you know the way media manipulates. First came the pro-Terry blitz, we are currently in the dampening down period where we all get used to it, and in about 3-5 weeks he will be announced as the manager to minimal fuss, as Joe Public will already be used to his name being associated with the Ireland job.

2,796 Posts
    Kevin Gallacher was on R5 Live saying how he felt Hodgson was a very good coach at Blackburn and was well regarded by the players. A severe run of injuries was what caused their demise, but Gallacher said that maybe Hodgson's training methods were a contributory factor. He said that he introduced twice daily training which, while appropriate in Italy, maybe wasn't ideal in the depths of winter in the Lancashire moors. One of the daily sessions was a pure technique session.

I saw MOTD on Saturday. Shearer said he had heard that the Blackburn players liked him, but Lawrenson's comments irked me in the extreme. He said that he had done well with Finland only losing out narrowly on Euro 2008 qualification. I'd love to know how he squared that up with his comment in the Irish Times that Hodgson should not be considered for Ireland because Finland failed to qualify. In the same article he said that Venables would be a good choice because players like him.

Lawreson is really clueless to be honest. He has lasted so long by saying nothing to controversial or over the top but ifyou check all his commnets, he is as inconsistant as Dunphy
    In Trap we trust

2,796 Posts
    True, but if he says that TV is a good choice, RH is a bad choice, tens of thousands of punters will believe him. He's an important part of the PR machine, though maybe involuntarily.

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Lawreson is really clueless to be honest. He has lasted so long by saying nothing to controversial or over the top but ifyou check all his commnets, he is as inconsistant as Dunphy
    and he laughs at John Motson's 'jokes'. It's the only reason they keep him on
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

161 Posts
    Good press conference today by Hodgson. Sense of humour and perspective. We will never know how he would have done as our manager but I can't help feeling this was the right guy for us at this time.

130 Posts
    He was def my number one for the job out of the candidates mentioned so far. Has a proven ability to get the most out of limited players - exactly what we required!!

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0105/ireland.html

So Hodgson was met by the lads but he couldn't be arsed fannying around. Can't really blame him either.

Interviews my hole.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

That's good news all the same. At least they're approaching people.

****s sounded like he was interested too, fcek it anyhow. do ye think he might do both?!

sure taking this long they will end up with the worst ever one. overkill all the way.

Lawrensons jocks!

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    and he laughs at John Motson's 'jokes'. It's the only reason they keep him on
    Maybe another reason he is still at the beeb is because they have also heard about his obsession at liverpool!He used to iron his jocks before he put them into the washing machine!

Hodgson was approached by the FAI

Newly-appointed Fulham boss Roy Hodgson has admitted that he was interviewed for the vacant Republic of Ireland manager's job.

He said he was contacted by the FAI [Football Association of Ireland] two weeks and met with a delegation given the job of finding Stephen Staunton's successor.

However, the vastly experienced coach ruled himself out of contention for the job when he took over from Lawrie Sanchez at Fulham.

"There was contact from Ireland. It came at the same time as Fulham got in touch. But I was not offered the job," Hodson said.

"I had a meeting with the people who were given the task of finding the next Ireland coach.

"It was a good meeting and I was very happy with the way things went, but I don't know if it would have led to me being offered the job. The people who saw me were meeting the other candidates as well."

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0105/ireland.html

So Hodgson was met by the lads but he couldn't be arsed fannying around. Can't really blame him either.

Interviews my hole.
    My hole also.

What could The Don Brothers & Ray possibly learn from an "interview" that wasn't already common flippin' knowledge? Not just about Hodgson,but about anyone?

"Hmmmm....We have your CV here, Roy, very impressive, but we just have a couple of questions.....:

"Are you allergic to Shamrock, Roy?"
    "Do you stomp on fluffy bunnies in the countryside, Roy?"
    "Is green good with your skin tone, Roy?"
    "We see you're a Leo, Roy. John Delaney is a Saggitarius; do you forsee any complications?" "

Jesus wept.

Whatever happened to "Hey you! Heres the money, here's the deal. Now, what do we have to do to make you take the damn job?"
    Last edited by Bondvillain; 05/01/2008 at 6:11 PM.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

87 Posts
    Well at least he was interviewed, that is something
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

214 Posts
    The one that got away....Hodgson even meeting the three amigo's suggests to me that he was keen and just needed a contract waved at him to sign. They know his record, if he was biting why not give him a 2 year deal?

Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 LastLast