Thread: Westport United FC

New Manager

[quote=Closing Time;796708]
    Quote Originally Posted by quay heart View Post

I heard that no one applied for the job, which is common for Junior clubs. As the norm in these cases the committee will have a short list and will approach each potential manager until they get a yes. The advert is just so that supporters will not be giving out it was not advertised. I suppose the dream team would be KC & DB after that NM. Will they go for another outsider couldnt see them going for a Fish Head. Time will tell. They will find it hard to fill the position and might have to pay more that they are willing. Maybe they might go for GD. Good managers are thin on the ground.
    I agree Closing, that is the way it has panned out so far for the club. The Nic might find it easier to cross the divide as he has managed at another SL club besides Celtic. There are rumours that the dynamic duo will be approached to see if they are interested, but they are only rumours. We should know next week.

[QUOTE=Leveller;797611]
    Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post

I agree Closing, that is the way it has panned out so far for the club. The Nic might find it easier to cross the divide as he has managed at another SL club besides Celtic. There are rumours that the dynamic duo will be approached to see if they are interested, but they are only rumours. We should know next week.
    Yes Nicky managed Ballyglass & Ballina. I wouldnt see it a problem in Celtic if Nicky took the job but I was thinking it might be a issue with some Utd supporters if things didnt go according to plan. Would be a good manager to get and he might see it as a chance to win the SL his coaching deserved (finished 2nd 3 times) at last. Any info who they might be approaching as I cannot see KC leaving the GAA after losing their senior status.

i read an article in mayo news by mossy lally .it is spot on i agree 100% all sl clubs should have managers from within,its not the english prem after all.celtic being the exception,that they are looking to establish themselves as a loi club.i believe westport will appoint kc and pb again although maybe being a step back there isnt many others inside club fit to do it.jm caretaker after the two lads left being the only other.

[QUOTE=Closing Time;796708]

I heard that no one applied for the job, which is common for Junior clubs.
    One did definitely apply and had his interview. He confirmed that with me. There were others being interviewed too, whether they were applicants or head-hunted for the job, I don't know.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

i read an article in mayo news by mossy lally .it is spot on i agree 100% all sl clubs should have managers from within,its not the english prem after all.celtic being the exception,that they are looking to establish themselves as a loi club.i believe westport will appoint kc and pb again although maybe being a step back there isnt many others inside club fit to do it.jm caretaker after the two lads left being the only other.
    I am not sure on this one. On one hand I agree once a Celt always a Celt and as a club Celtic have the personnel to carry out this policy no matter how blinkered it is. Did he not contradict himself by saying it was OK playing against your club but not to manage. He did sign a lot of players from other clubs during his excellent spell, as Manulla manager (stayed to long) and he didn’t see an issue with this policy. Sometimes clubs will not have a managers available within the club and will need to go outside, what is wrong with this. Outside manager can bring in new ideas and structures to a club. Yes they can also have a negative affect on teams but that is the chance you sometimes have to take. In an ideal world we would love if all players who play for your club would die for the cause and then become committee members or youth managers. But as we all know it’s quite the opposite in the real world.

In an ideal world we would love if all players who play for your club would die for the cause and then become committee members or youth managers. But as we all know it’s quite the opposite in the real world.
    Every club in the country would say exactly the same thing.

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    Every club in the country would say exactly the same thing.
    True, players and ex players very often dont get involved at a bureaucratic or a coaching level at their respective clubs, I suppose they feel that they have done their duty by purely playing, which is a pity as many of them would be an asset, particularly in coaching.

Yes they can also have a negative affect on teams but that is the chance you sometimes have to take

Do you think that Celtic getting an outside manager was a good move? If so how has it made a difference?

Thats true Swift. As regards an outside manager, it might be a good move for your LOI ambitions as he has played at this level and would probably have connections within the league and FAI, but how highly regarded he is I dont know. I think all the LOI players he had before was a step backwards and it stifled the young talent coming through, but now the club are using their youth which is good for the club.

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    Yes they can also have a negative affect on teams but that is the chance you sometimes have to take

Do you think that Celtic getting an outside manager was a good move? If so how has it made a difference?
    Celtic were forced to get an outside manager at the time. A short (long) list of ex players/ ex managers (the ones not already involved with other clubs at the time) was drawn up and no one was willing to take on the Junior team (money was on offer). It was then that the committee started looking for someone outside the club. Was it a good move, I think so, won 5 Mayo titles.

any news on westport utd new manager ?thought he was to be in by the weekend.

Should know by monday or tuesday.

I think the new man will be informed after Wednesday night's meeting. How did the interviews go?

[QUOTE=Thunderblaster;800113]

One did definitely apply and had his interview. He confirmed that with me. There were others being interviewed too, whether they were applicants or head-hunted for the job, I don't know.
    J.M definitely applied but I believe he was not suscessful.I believe they have led a head hunted all the way to castlebar for d.k.

I am not sure on this one. On one hand I agree once a Celt always a Celt and as a club Celtic have the personnel to carry out this policy no matter how blinkered it is. Did he not contradict himself by saying it was OK playing against your club but not to manage. He did sign a lot of players from other clubs during his excellent spell, as Manulla manager (stayed to long) and he didn’t see an issue with this policy. Sometimes clubs will not have a managers available within the club and will need to go outside, what is wrong with this. Outside manager can bring in new ideas and structures to a club. Yes they can also have a negative affect on teams but that is the chance you sometimes have to take. In an ideal world we would love if all players who play for your club would die for the cause and then become committee members or youth managers. But as we all know it’s quite the opposite in the real world.
    Well said C.L. have to agree with you, club players should take a hard look at them selves. Hope they get to read your view

[QUOTE=renovater;802844]
    Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    J.M definitely applied but I believe he was not suscessful.I believe they have led a head hunted all the way to castlebar for d.k.
    i believe your correct there reno.jm has had too many fallouts with com. over coaching or lack of it in the club.i hear pb and kc had meeting with com. but it ended in dissagreement.so it looks like another out of town job.if it was a normal com. there wouldnt be a hope of a castlebar man getn job but then again nothing will surprise me with this lot.

[QUOTE=terrier;803139]
    Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post

i believe your correct there reno.jm has had too many fallouts with com. over coaching or lack of it in the club.i hear pb and kc had meeting with com. but it ended in dissagreement.so it looks like another out of town job.if it was a normal com. there wouldnt be a hope of a castlebar man getn job but then again nothing will surprise me with this lot.
    I would be talking from experience regarding the matter J.M. he even let me down, so I can understand why the com, would have no faith in him.He would struggle to get any referance's from me or M.U-16 OR even R.D.O. However he not a bad sort, he just doesn't no what he wants. So untill he make a commitment he will struggle
    The two amigo's were never going to take the job due to there own personal reasons.
    So it looks like an outsider,for the job.Nicky is taken time out. Dec well he only knows if he is interested or not. but its highly unlikely.
    They will have to spread there wings much further.

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    So it looks like an outsider,for the job.
    I heard differently from a respected source. The story I got that it is a local. However, I do not know who the local is that is formally going to be installed.

its definatly not kilkelly. i'm led to believe his boss that he works for wanted a guarantee that the bar would not suffer from him being manager of westport ad he could not give him the assurance so he has pulled out. otherwise he was a shoe-in

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    its definatly not kilkelly. i'm led to believe his boss that he works for wanted a guarantee that the bar would not suffer from him being manager of westport ad he could not give him the assurance so he has pulled out. otherwise he was a shoe-in
    He got more pride than that, he never join Westport in a month of sundays.
    His boss would not stoop that low, or even question da celt.
    He works for him not own him.

Page 40 of 91 FirstFirst ... 3038394041425090 ... LastLast