Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: Lee Trundle Again

I think he is 29 i know he is pushing on i would still like to see him get a chance do.

Quote Originally Posted by baileban View Post
    said it before in this thread - trundle would wipe the floor with doyle who will suffer severely from secondpremseasonitis - get trundle in the squad now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    He is at it again lads!!! god you talk some rubbish!!! Did you have a sleep mask on at all the Ireland matches you have attended, thats if you even attended then!!! some of Doyles advantages: Age, Level of Play, Club he is with, consistentcy and oh lets not not forget he is IRISH, and not just another Jon Maken shambles. Did you hear trundles interview about the possibility of linking up with the Irish squad, memories of Maken's first press conference with Ireland came flooding back.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shanman2 View Post
    He is at it again lads!!! god you talk some rubbish!!! Did you have a sleep mask on at all the Ireland matches you have attended, thats if you even attended then!!! some of Doyles advantages: Age, Level of Play, Club he is with, consistentcy and oh lets not not forget he is IRISH, and not just another Jon Maken shambles. Did you hear trundles interview about the possibility of linking up with the Irish squad, memories of Maken's first press conference with Ireland came flooding back.
    Really? What did he say? From what I remember, Trundle's comments were something like, "I've always wanted to play for Ireland" and when he was younger he was wearing the Ireland shirt whilst all his friends had England shirts on. He has also turned down a chance to play for the North (seems to be quite a common occurance now apparently)

131 Posts
    Lee Trundle is pants lads. Fair enough if he was 23 or 24 then I could see cause for excitement but when at 31 you're only starting to make it in the Championship then surely International football is a step too far. At his age you would expect that he has only a couple of seasons playing at the top of his game left in him. Strikers generally don't last as long as defenders.

It would be far better to blood the future talent in the games that Doyle or Keane are not available than waste caps on a lost cause.
    Last edited by youngirish; 29/08/2007 at 10:59 AM.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rebel11 View Post
    I think he is 29 i know he is pushing on i would still like to see him get a chance do.
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Lee Trundle is pants lads. Fair enough if he was 23 or 24 then I could see cause for excitement but when at 31 you're only starting to make it in the Championship then surely International football is a step too far.
    His birthday is 10th October 1976, he's 30 at the moment and will be 31 in about 6 weeks.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Lee Trundle is pants lads.

It would be far better to blood the future talent in the games that Doyle or Keane are not available than waste caps on a lost cause.
    1. He is not "pants". He is better than some of the players in the squad. I don't believe in this blooding people in competative games. You pick the best players available at any one time; very much in the same way that Beckham is picked for England where the future talent is clearly someone like David Bentley etc.

2. I would rather pick a 30 or 50 year old if it gave us a better chance of qualifying. If Joe Lapira, Gleeson, Murphy from Carlisle etc etc have had a chance, it seems unfortunate Trundle hasn't.

livehead1 agree with you 100% mate

I think he should be in the squad and should have been there along time ago .He may have lost some of his pace but he can score a goal and has done so consistently throughout his career be it lower league. He my be 31 but he is a big strong skillful player and we could get a few years out of him.

I like Doyle but to be fair he has not been at it since he was injured late last season. Murphy is a limited player and Long has good potential but limited experience.

It probably won’t happen but what have we got to lose by including him?

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag View Post
    I think he should be in the squad and should have been there along time ago .He may have lost some of his pace but he can score a goal and has done so consistently throughout his career be it lower league. He my be 31 but he is a big strong skillful player and we could get a few years out of him.

I like Doyle but to be fair he has not been at it since he was injured late last season. Murphy is a limited player and Long has good potential but limited experience.

It probably won’t happen but what have we got to lose by including him?

He's only 30. He has a good few years left in him yet. The reason why professional footballers have to retire when they do (around the 31-34 mark) is due to the wear and tear their bodies have been put through. They have generally been training as a professional for around 15-18 years by this stage. Lee Trundle turned professional at around 24-25, therefore his body has been put through far less and as a result I believe he will be able to go on past this stage if he looks after himself and steers clear of serious injury.

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    He's only 30. He has a good few years left in him yet. The reason why professional footballers have to retire when they do (around the 31-34 mark) is due to the wear and tear their bodies have been put through. They have generally been training as a professional for around 15-18 years by this stage. Lee Trundle turned professional at around 24-25, therefore his body has been put through far less and as a result I believe he will be able to go on past this stage if he looks after himself and steers clear of serious injury.
    yeah but surely he didn't just "take up" football at 24-25? he must've been playing at some kind of decent amateur level for many years previous to that. I'm sorry but that argument just doesn't hold any sway with me. Fact of the matter is, he's 30 and has only played a handful of games in the second tier of English football. That just doesn't warrant a place in an international side where there's plenty of competition for places already.

We have a lot of strikers now that are just breaking on to the scene at a young age that hav the potential to play at a high level for the next 10 years, we should be blooding these guys (Doyle,Stokes, Long, Keogh, Clarke) instead of relying on a 30 year old "never was"...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by shanman2 View Post
    some of Doyles advantages: Age, Level of Play, Club he is with, consistentcy and oh lets not not forget he is IRISH,
    Age means nothing in international football. You pick the best players at the moment, simple as that.

2,771 Posts
    id love to see what he can do in an ireland shirt. Theres no denyng hes an exciting player and a great talent. Wouldnt put him in the squad for the upcoming games but he should definitely be considered against the minnows.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

3,501 Posts
    Didn't do much against Man City tonight, but the defence had him well marshalled.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Didn't do much against Man City tonight, but the defence had him well marshalled.
    Yeh, watched a decent amount of it in between celtic match. Thought he played well, can tell hes a good footballer in the true sense of that word, that said man city are v. good at the back and did well; hes not the first forward not to score against that defence though to be fair!

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    Is he going to offer us something different in Bratislava or Prague? No. So why bother talking about him again. He's 31 FFS!!!!
    Nonsense. How can you say he won't offer something different? He is a player from a completely different mould from all our other forwards. And he has bags of ability. The only one of our current crop who is different in terms of his game than the other usual suspects is Murphy. And he's pants.
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Well I'm no genius . . . but the fact that he is not playing top level football, is 31 years of age and is at a club that's going nowhere is enough to convince me that our squad is just fine as it is.
    If, however, Real Madrid or AC Milan sign him in the next few months then I will buy pints for all the people on here who know far more about the game than I do. But they won't be able to drink them because they'll all be at home watching Soccer AM's showboat section featuring said footballer.
    He didn't start playing profesional football untill he was in his mid 20's and he is a different type of player to what we already have, so it would be a different option to try. Also he has a better strike rate than any of the others at 0.45 goals per game. Better than that of a couple of the others put togeather.
    Also as it is likely we will not qualify anyway at least you will have some entertainment watching the showboating
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 29/08/2007 at 11:05 PM.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by carloz View Post
    I think its mainly because of the options we have available.
    Doyle- Proven Premiership standard
    Keane- Proven Premiership standard
    Stokes- Premiership player this year
    Murphy- Premiership player this year
    Connolly- Premiership player this year and proven himself fully in the Championship.
    O' Donovan- A Premiership move is very much looking on the cards for him
    Keogh- Excellent season last year with wolves
    Long- Squad player for Reading
    Morrisson- Has been a good servant to us in the past
    Lee- Consistently performed in the Championship

Thats 10 forwards who would be ahead of him, and there probably is a couple of more to be added to that list. Why should we try a player who has yet to play 1 minute of Championship football just because he has his heart set on it. Cymro with those options available we really dont need him. Couldnt Wales do with him???
    I will give you a reason, and a simple one. He has a better strike rate than any of them, his strike rate is 0.45 and is current 0.66 in the Championship so far and 0.5 this season.

Now go here and find an Irish player with a better strike rate.
    http://www.soccerbase.com/players_de...playerid=12919
    Indeed find me any player of any nationality with a better strike rate!!
    You reason for not including him seems to boil down to he is not proven at the highest level so he won't get a chance to prove himself at the highest level - which is ridiculous.

Well I'm no genius . . . but the fact that he is not playing top level football, is 31 years of age and is at a club that's going nowhere is enough to convince me that our squad is just fine as it is.
    If, however, Real Madrid or AC Milan sign him in the next few months then I will buy pints for all the people on here who know far more about the game than I do. But they won't be able to drink them because they'll all be at home watching Soccer AM's showboat section featuring said footballer.
    Usually I enjoy your posts so don't think I'm having a dig for the sake of it, but you said in the first post in question that he doesn't offer something different. Talking about AC Milan and Real Madrid is a good way to deflect attention from the fact that you stated that he offers nothing different from the other strikers, and objectively speaking he does. Whether or not he offers something entirely better, we dont have any striker who dribbles like him and has a penchant for scoiring the odd wondergoal
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    I will give you a reason, and a simple one. He has a better strike rate than any of them, his strike rate is 0.45 and is current 0.66 in the Championship so far and 0.5 this season.

Now go here and find an Irish player with a better strike rate.
    http://www.soccerbase.com/players_de...playerid=12919
    Indeed find me any player of any nationality with a better strike rate!!
    You reason for not including him seems to boil down to he is not proven at the highest level so he won't get a chance to prove himself at the highest level - which is ridiculous.
    OK lets send Stokes, Long, Doyle, Murphy et al down to League 1 and see what their strike rate would be by the end of the season...The guy has only played 3 games in the Championship for feck sake!!!
    Last edited by Dr. Ogba; 30/08/2007 at 9:32 AM.
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    OK lets send Stokes, Long, Doyle, Murphy et al down to League 1 and see what their strike rate would be by the end of the season...The guy has only played 3 games in the Championship for feck sake!!!
    Its not simply the number of goals, its the nature of them, there all different types, tap-ins, power strikes, wondergoals, he can do the lot, he can offer something so different to anything we have, even if it was 20 mins from the end; id love to see him coming on as opposed to shane long on daryll murphy.

And also, I doubt either would get as many goals has he has in League 1

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast