Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Joseph Lapira

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sligonproud View Post
    probably yeah...ive played over there myself and the big D1 schools, such as Notre Dame , Clemson, UC etc have some excellent players
    For what it's worth, there's a World Collegiate tournament (or was anyway), which would give you an idea as to how the various set-ups compare. UCD entered once, in 1985, and won the whole thing. We've also had three of our players (Brian Shortall, James Timmons and Hugh Davey) go to the US collegiate system in recent years, and we've signed Shane McFaul from another (Virginia Tech) and Seán Finn has played MLS B, I think. You've quoted some (relatively) good players, and I'm not going to argue that they're eL standard or less, but from what little experience I have, I can't see how the American college set-up would be significantly better than what we have here.

I see actually on Wikipedia that Lapira's uncle works in the FAI! Let the conspiracy theories begin! Ironically, the last Irish player to play while not fully-pro was the late Willie Browne, a former UCD (and Bohs) stalwart.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 24/05/2007 at 4:19 PM.

60 Posts
    Not arsed to read the whole thread. I just want to know is this fella one of the Lapiras of the Lane, or is he anything to the Lapiras from Kilbeg?
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

3,491 Posts
    He's one of the Merrion Square Lapiras.

230 Posts
    Here he is going on about some cup
    that he doesn't want. Jesus, what a weirdo.
    Last edited by strangeirish; 24/05/2007 at 4:34 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

52 Posts
    Besides his few minutes last night noone has seen him play so we dont have any real idea how good he is. Let's see if he goes to some club in Europe or joins MLS next year before making assumptions.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Ronnie O'Brien (Toronto), Bryan Byrne (New England), Michael Parkhurst (New England) and Joe Lapira (Notre Dame) were all invited to train with the squad.
    I think this puts to bed any ideas about Parkhurst playing for Ireland (called up for US in the Concacaf Gold Cup):

GOALKEEPERS (3) – Brad Guzan (Chivas USA), Tim Howard (Everton FC), Kasey Keller (Borussia Moenchengladbach)
    DEFENDERS (8) –Carlos Bocanegra (Fulham FC), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Jay DeMerit (Watford FC), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew), Oguchi Onyewu (Standard de Liege), Michael Parkhurst (New England Revolution), Frank Simek (Sheffield Wednesday), Jonathan Spector (West Ham United)
    MIDFIELDERS (8) – DaMarcus Beasley (PSV Eindhoven), Michael Bradley (SC Heerenveen), Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo), Clint Dempsey (Fulham FC), Benny Feilhaber (Hamburger SV), Justin Mapp (Chicago Fire), Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids), Steve Ralston (New England Revolution)
    FORWARDS (4) – Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Eddie Johnson (Kansas City Wizards), Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
    Head Coach: Bob Bradley

http://www.ussoccer.com/articles/vie...sp_281956.html
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

1,928 Posts
    One positive from his sub appearance was that he kept Alan O'Brien benched.
    It's possible that Stan was sending a cruel messsage Stan style to the reluctant Ronnie.

Quote Originally Posted by Kivlehan View Post
    I was at the Ecuador match and my impression of Lapira's few minutes on the pitch was that he is a very speedy player who deserves another look..
    First touch ok, second touch good, third touch boots it 30 yards ahead of the forward he was aiming for.

If he is fast he can take up athletics. How the feck can you think baded on 3 minutes he "worth another look"?

I suppose Stan achieved his goal of ensuring he can't be snapped up by any other International team now.

I think most of you are ignorant to the level of quality (or lack of perhaps) that College Soccer has in the United States. I don't mean to use the word ignorant pejoratively, but comparing it Leinster senior league is probably a bit megalomaniacal.

A decent number of players go on to have wonderful soccer careers, I watch every St. John's University game and some of the players are dirt, but others certainly have the potential to play in Europe, possibly working their way up the highest level.

Rather than complain about the lad getting a cap, why not view it more philosophically? If he turns into a great/good/useable player, he's ours; if he doesn't, he was just a late substitute in a game that by next year nobody will remember.

Not wanting to take this to EalingG lengths, as an aside, I really enjoyed the game just because the Ecuadorians made it a party (as much as I detest Mexican Waves) I got a bit too drunk in the parking lot and missed the bus, but some Ecuadorians drove me and the fella I was with back to Sunnyside, after about ten coronas or so. Anyone who hasn't seen Doyle live is missing out, as great a goalscorer he is, his movement is really top class off the ball.
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars View Post
    Besides his few minutes last night noone has seen him play so we dont have any real idea how good he is. Let's see if he goes to some club in Europe or joins MLS next year before making assumptions.
    Fair enough but that is when he should be considered for a call up.

What has this college boy ever done to deserve a cap repesenting our country? Its a kick in the teeth to every eL player and every Irish pro footie player who would give anything to play for their country. Its simply shameful.
    Together with all our hearts.

You guys would find something wrong with paradise! this trip is out of the ordinary, 11 new caps last night, surely the last time that happened was when Ireland first played an international??!!??

The days of caps meaning something are long gone, look at the numbers of players the All Blacks have capped in the last 5 years, must be 50% of the NPC and 90% of the Super 14 players. Brazil and Argentina also cap dozens of players. And remember this is Ireland we are talking about.

So what if he is a one cap wonder, he is obviously a fine player and if nothing more it is a nice gesture to Irish-Americans. It may be the start of something big. I'm actually surprised he was interested in playing for us, Americans are highly patriotic.

1,928 Posts
    It would be a wonder if there were any teeth left in the EL with all the perceived kicks. Toothless but plenty of chips.

BTW Ryan Guy was drafted at 22 out of the US collegiate system (by FC Dallas). He barely makes the Pats bench

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars View Post
    Good point - that appears to be why Stan doesn't bother looking at eL players for the most part, and waits until they get a chance to play for a reserve team somewhere else!
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Have to agree with Qwerty. Can't see the problem with playing Lapira. It doesn't matter what standard he's currently playing at, but how good he is and what potential he has. Irish fans may well have been complaining if we'd picked up Brian McBride 15 years ago in similar circumstances, but wouldn't now. I'm not saying that he will reach this standard, however he obviously has potential, so is worth a punt.

2,796 Posts
    When Stan calls up eLOI players for B internationals it's lip service / token gesture / Devlin pimping. When they're left out it's a disgrace.

I hope Gamble gets a game and plays well.

I'd like to have seen O'Donovan travel, I think he deserves it, but there's plenty of time.

1,928 Posts
    Is this his final year at Notre Dame? Is he going to go for some trials anywhere? I can't imagine any decent enough club signing him without a trial, it could be a tedious task.
    Isn't he about the same age as McGeady?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Manc Irish Wolf View Post
    Have to agree with Qwerty. Can't see the problem with playing Lapira. It doesn't matter what standard he's currently playing at, but how good he is and what potential he has.
    The thing is though Stan has never seen him play and has no idea how good he is. From that award thing he won no player that won it (going back to 2000) has won a cap for America, bar one fella who only got one.

yeah well at least the man turned up not like so many of our players who fell over themselves making excuses not to get a cap for ireland. They are the ones who have devalued it ( if indeed it is devalued). Fair play to joey lapira and to all the lads who sweated out on that pitch on wednesday night. Heres to his first goal for Ireland!!
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast