Germany helped us with an away win over the Czech Rep

71 Posts
    A far from impressive performance. Clutching at straws I can only hope that successive wins will build some sort of momentum and lift the pressure. As everyone knows the full back area was hugely problematic. Watching O'Shea in action pains me greatly. The brightest spark of the match was the very promising substitute appearance of Hunt.

As much as Hunt did well today, he still sucks!
    Keep him on the bench, then if we take the lead and hold it til the last 10-15 mins, then stick him on and let him put his head down and run straight at the defender to win a free kick and kill a few seconds. All he ever does

Quote Originally Posted by lim abroad View Post
    stephen hunt impressed me today when he came on,looked dangerous every time he ran at the defence
    Hunt came on and did what Duff used to do. Run at defenders with pace and commit them. He should start ahead of Duffer on Wednesday.

Quote Originally Posted by kev107 View Post
    Starting XI for Slovakia anyone?
    O´shea
    doyle carsley duff connolly
    dunne hunt given mcgeady
    harte mcshane

I dont know what world you're all living in. The level of arrogance in these comments is shocking. I sat there today and saw a team win a game of international football. (what about Scotland? What about England? Everyone struggles to find form. Its normal. The win is the win is the win.) They didnt play as well as they can, but in moments there were clear positives. McShane was immense. Hunt and Doyle changed things with great determination when he came on. Given obviously saved us again. Dunne did well. Duff was far more creative especially in the first half. Kilbane, Carsley and douglas did okay. Ireland didnt do well, but you'll struggle to get a better international goal. Keane ran himself into the ground, but struggled. He's honest...lay off him ya gits. O'Shea was okay...frustrating...but ok. The fans cheered everything positive and where I was sitting there was almost no abuse thrown at the players from start to finish. Moments of frustration...no abuse though. The atmosphere at the start was good..there was a lull in the first half until the goal. (As a Liverpool fan having a lull in a game is not unusual. Liverpool regularly have lulls that last 80 minutes. ditto Chelsea)
    After everything...a win is a win is a win.

They did well as a team and it sets things up for Wednesday to start to build again.

I just dont understand you people with your comments..............It wasnt a good game??? Really??
    Since then did that ever matter????
    Last edited by craig7042; 24/03/2007 at 10:15 PM.

I was pleased with Keane today. I was tearing my hair out at the amount of times he'd provide himself with a bit of space and then lay it off to a midfielder only for the midfielder to lose possesion with a crap touch. It happened so often, maybe the pitch was at work here?......Duff struggled at times but was still a creative spark.

Whats with the universal approval of Stephen Irelands performance? He was abysmal in the first half. I know he was playing out of position but he gave the ball away every time he got it. Staunton had to move him out of there into a bloody forward role for Gods sake and then wouldn't you know he gets the goal

The switching of O'Shea and Finnan was stupid. Christ, just play Finnan at right back! Someone mentioned it was to accomodate O'Shea - how exactly? When is the last time he played right back? 90% of his experience as a full back has been on the left.

If we're at our lowest ebb, then what the hell are wales?! Ah well, at least their support got a nice tan.

Here's my team for Wednesday:

Doyle
    Duff

Hunt Carsley Kilbane McGeady

O'Shea Dunne McShane Finnan

Given(c)

In fairness, Robbie Keane's abuse is justified... He is a joker, I was at the match and looked at him closely, he just looks to the ref for everything, he had a few half chances which were poorly executed, whereas with Doyle's one half chance he was unlucky not to score and hit the bar. Keane is incredibly frustrating to watch as you know he can be so much better. He just played as if he was stricken with apathy. Douglas tried but is just not up to it, he made one run to the byline and then he just kicked it straight it out, the collective groan told it all. I thought McShane was brilliant. He is great to watch in the flesh. Utter concentration and professionalism etched throughout him for the whole match. His approach to the game reminds me of Roy Keane, he was my man of the match. People who slag off Stephen Hunt he do sou without any justification. I was lifted when I saw him coming on and he didn't fail to deliver. He single handedly injected a pace into the game and attacked with real purpose and genuinely terrorised the defence. Why couldn't anybody else do the same?! I thought he was in a league of his own performance wise today. No one else did anything of note. These barstoolers behind me were constantly barracking S.Ireland which absolutely wrecked my head. His finish was top drawer and did alright considering he was played out of position. He won us this turgid affair for God's sake and is turning out to be our saviour.

Quote Originally Posted by onceahoop View Post
    Hunt came on and did what Duff used to do. Run at defenders with pace and commit them. He should start ahead of Duffer on Wednesday.
    I think Hunt tries to run through them rather that at them.

Quote Originally Posted by republicofwhite View Post
    In fairness, Robbie Keane's abuse is justified... He is a joker, I was at the match and looked at him closely, he just looks to the ref for everything, he had a few half chances which were poorly executed, whereas with Doyle's one half chance he was unlucky not to score and hit the bar. Keane is incredibly frustrating to watch as you know he can be so much better. He just played as if he was stricken with apathy. Douglas tried but is just not up to it, he made one run to the byline and then he just kicked it straight it out, the collective groan told it all. I thought McShane was brilliant. He is great to watch in the flesh. Utter concentration and professionalism etched throughout him for the whole match. His approach to the game reminds me of Roy Keane, he was my man of the match. People who slag off Stephen Hunt he do sou without any justification. I was lifted when I saw him coming on and he didn't fail to deliver. He single handedly injected a pace into the game and attacked with real purpose and genuinely terrorised the defence. Why couldn't anybody else do the same?! I thought he was in a league of his own performance wise today. No one else did anything of note. These barstoolers behind me were constantly barracking S.Ireland which absolutely wrecked my head. His finish was top drawer and did alright considering he was played out of position. He won us this turgid affair for God's sake and is turning out to be our saviour.

Keane plays regularly for Tottenham. A Premiership club. With and ahead of world class players like Berbatov and Defoe. McShane plays for West Brom. By all accounts he's struggled to even get into the team this year. Ferguson doesn't rate him. Nor, evidently do the 19 other Premiership managers. There's a reason for all that.

Just because McShane has gotten a lot of plaudits for his demeanour on the pitch, and Keane has taken the majority of criticism for the performances under Stan because he's a star (along with DUff) and captain doesn't obscure the fact that he is class and McShane will always be a journeyman pro.

Doyle's chance was created as a result of Keane's ingenuity (sp). It was a class touch. As was his pass for Ireland's goal. With the service he had, Keane did an awful lot.

Stephen Ireland was absolutely abysmal, save for the goal. The "barstoolers" behind you were absolutely right. Part of the reason he was crap was because he was played out of position.

Stephen Hunt did well and deserves a start. But don't expect him to turn in that sort of performance for 90 minutes of any game.

McShane was immense.
    When did this become an acceptable phrase? i run into it everytime i go near a 'pro evo' or 'fm' forum.

Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    I think Hunt tries to run through them rather that at them.
    He committs defenders so he can go through them, by
    them, around them. Duff at the moment goes just crouches down and stops, then goes backwards .

72 Posts
    Just home from the game.

What a depressing crowd of ******* on this site.

Get the impression that many would be gutted if we actually qualified.

But then how many actually go to games !!
    Last edited by gustavo; 24/03/2007 at 10:58 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by eekers View Post
    When did this become an acceptable phrase? i run into it everytime i go near a 'pro evo' or 'fm' forum.
    It means he was good. I thought we did well getting the win today. Good win without playing well. Fair enough... Its called football people....

Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    Just home from the game.

What a depressing crowd of ******* on this site.

Get the impression that many would be gutted if we actually qualified.

But then how many actually go to games !!

Fair play to you. I agree.....Bunch of **** in here. I hope Stan survives to sicken them.

Crappy match alright. Was surprised with Bellamy, expected a lot more from him. Hunt looked great when he came on, Wales players couldn't cope with him so took him down every time. Thought Ireland had messed up with the goal at first, it looked like he had hit the ball too far ahead of him just before he rounded the keeper. I was towards the RTE studio end of the Hogan stand and twas funny when a guard went up to Ian Rush to get a photo taken with him.

Whoever brought the "Chelsea Irish" and the tri-colour with "Chelsea" painted on it should be banned from the ground.

Just because people critisize doesnt mean they dont care. I dont think anyone can be happy with that performance , granted we won but its not a good sign if we can only just scrape over the line against a woefully poor Wales team

On the way down to croker...no atmosphere

in croker during the match...no atmosphere

quailty of football...none

That doesn't hold anything compared to a sunday afternoon going down to croker where there would be:

Excitment walking down

better atmosphere than anywhere else in the world

and better stuff to watch than that shtie i saw today

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tippex View Post
    its time now to drop the likes of keane and duff who think they are world class and let the guys who are hungry show them what they can do.
    Disagree. Duff was our best player today. Not his fault nobody was willing to show for him today.

Quote Originally Posted by nismo View Post
    robbie keane is **** and no one will convice me otherwise!!i remember a time on this everyone was giving out about steve ireland.. ha saved us twice now!
    Stephen Ireland is sh!te. Fair dues to him, he's scored three in a row, but he's not international standard as yet,

Quote Originally Posted by lim abroad View Post
    stephen hunt impressed me today when he came on,looked dangerous every time he ran at the defence
    Yeah, looked quality alright. Drew two, if not three, bookings in ten minutes. If he'd have done that from the start, the Welsh defence would have been all over the place,

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish View Post
    Ireland is out of the game Wednesday, due to a groin injury. Who do you start in his place?
    Hunt. See above.

Overall, a shocking game between two very poor teams. Slovakia are very definitely favourites for Wednesday...

Quote Originally Posted by craig7042 View Post
    Fair play to you. I agree.....Bunch of **** in here. I hope Stan survives to sicken them.

Stan won't survive because he is a clueless bluffer and is detrimental to Irish soccer. I'm going to Slovakia/Czech Republic but probably won't bother crossing the road for the matches. I'm sick of his **** already

Great quote from Cascarino in todays Racing Post

"Staunton looks angry as he enters press conferences, he's gunning for confontation. We all want him to succeed and be on his side"

The man is an idiot trying to create some siege mentality against the media when its his petulance and inept team selection which is ruining our football side. Today could have been a great day but instead it was a damp squib. He is a disgrace

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast