Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Thread: LoI Fixtures 27 Apr to 30 Apr

272 Posts
    We were terrible in the second half but Dundalk turned it up a level aswell, big game Friday.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosshead View Post
    As for the rest of your post, we've heard all that before.
    Didn't take long. Happy Monday to you

Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    We were terrible in the second half but Dundalk turned it up a level aswell, big game Friday.
    Yis werent great in the 1st half either, we could have had 2 or 3. But I thought that the offside goal for pats should possibly have stood. It was 0 - 0 at that stage. Great perfomance by the whole Dundalk team after that.

368 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    A result like this has been coming for us really. Performances have been very poor. Amazing really that we find ourselves level on points at the top.
    I still think Cork did well to get the 3 points on Friday, a draw would have been a fair result, just shows how quickly things can change.

Dundalk were ropey in the first half, but some excellent movement in the second half particularly goals 3, 4 and 5. Duffy with goal of the month contender for his.

Why are Cork playing on Sat afternoon this weekend instead of Friday night ?
    Last edited by oriel; 30/04/2018 at 9:44 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

555 Posts
    Rovers can play a bit, that was clear from their performance in Oriel Park a few weeks ago.

I thought Cork would struggle to impose their typical game plan on such a large pitch. It all depended on which Rovers turned up. It appears to be the good one.

It could have been ten in Oriel against Pats. This fixture schedule kills teams that aren't full time.
    Last edited by White Horse; 30/04/2018 at 9:50 PM.

368 Posts
    It will get worse in May too re fixtures, Dundalk have 6 league games and one EA Sports match. I’d imagine most of the others have 5 league games also in this period, the other one is the re-arranged game away to Derry.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Why are Cork playing on Sat afternoon this weekend instead of Friday night ?
    Ed Sheeran playing Pairc Ui Frainc , not enough Gardai to police both the concert and an event of the magnitude that is a CCFC home game.

225 Posts
    Delighted with the win in Limerick, but we make it hard for ourselves.

The pitch is terrible, we know, so why insist on passing it out from the back over all the bobbles? We also find it difficult to close games out.
    Funny how games go though. O'Sullivan misses from bang in front of an open goal on 82, we head up and score a minute later, add a third after that. You'll be very happy with your points considering. Up until that stage, would have been harsh for Limerick not to get something from the game.

As an aside, considering basically every manager in the league has mentioned it at this point, this mid-week games are ridiculous. If even they were organised geographically, you'd understand. But for ourselves, a 730km round-trip on a Monday night (Limerick had the same to the Brandywell in March) is just stupid. Is it any wonder you had only a dozen odd Derry fans at it?

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    The pitch is terrible, we know, so why insist on passing it out from the back over all the bobbles? We also find it difficult to close games out.
    Funny how games go though. O'Sullivan misses from bang in front of an open goal on 82, we head up and score a minute later, add a third after that. You'll be very happy with your points considering. Up until that stage, would have been harsh for Limerick not to get something from the game.
    Yeah, we were still in it up until that horrible miss, that really deflated us and you went up the other end and took advantage. I thought you were fairly shaky at the back for a lot of the game, but we just have nothing up front to threaten teams.

And yeah, the pitch really is atrocious. It's one thing when it has been pissing rain like it was at the start of the season, but there really is no excuse for it in this weather.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Ed Sheeran playing Pairc Ui Frainc , not enough Gardai to police both the concert and an event of the magnitude that is a CCFC home game.

Do you think that the attendance will be much reduced after the mauling in Tallaght?

663 Posts
    I trust that Bradser will get his contract extension now after proving his coaching excellence yet again tonight?

#4moreyears

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    I trust that Bradser will get his contract extension now after proving his coaching excellence yet again tonight?

#4moreyears
    Aaaaah that's why we were so poor tonight. It's genius really...

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Boycott talk starting among some Limerick fans.

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Do you think that the attendance will be much reduced after the mauling in Tallaght?
    Will be a big crowd I think as we will probably have the chance to go back top again. #Daytrippers

655 Posts
    Great performance tonight back it up against pats now.
    Big pitch with a decent surface didn't suit cork. It's dundalks to lose.

Delighted with that. Cork looked tired but, funnily enough, the best I've seen them in Tallaght since the 5-0 in the cup. Aaron Bolger is a star - just imagine what a player he'll be with a Leaving Cert behind him.

164 Posts
    Delighted with Blues' first win away to Bohs this millennium. Main difference was we have a goalscorer and Bohs don't. They were good to a point and then let themselves down with no end product. Dylan Watts was outstanding though. The only time Vigouroux was really tested was from a header from Hery that would've been an own goal only for a fantastic save. Some great stuff in our midfield - Aborah especially. First time in my life I've seen us 15 points ahead of Bohs in the table!

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Boycott talk starting among some Limerick fans.
    What good Will that do, plenty of teams come up from the the first, do well or wellish for a season or three until gravity starts to overcome the initial momentum, you have to cling on like a cockroach not organise boycotts to make the premier your home, boycott is just shorthand for giving up supporting the club.

21. Thanks From:

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Delighted with that. Cork looked tired but, funnily enough, the best I've seen them in Tallaght since the 5-0 in the cup. Aaron Bolger is a star - just imagine what a player he'll be with a Leaving Cert behind him.
    I heard he was interested in taking a college degree course. I hope that doesn't rule him out of first team football for the next 4 years

663 Posts
    Bradser is great craic

"We didn't become a bad team overnight. There was nothing major wrong. We'd a bad five days and everyone jumped on it. That's what happens when you're at the biggest club in the country.
    https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018...-jumped-on-it/

I wonder which five days were 'the bad ones'?

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast