Page 16 of 20 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast

Thread: Denmark V Republic of Ireland - Sat, 11 November 2017 World Cup 2018 Play Off 1st Leg

1,928 Posts
    The Danes didn't create enough chances to earn a deserve to win status. They aren't up to that much as to inspire the type of caution we enacted, O'Dowda and Christie did well in that inferno.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Disagree with Beglin that Denmark deserved to win and made all the running.

I don't think they really deserve much credit for the territory and possession they had when we just handed it to them. It wasn't an achievement.

And for all the possession and territory they had, they didn't create that much. Just a couple of real chances.

The issue for me is that even though I think we saw enough tonight to suggest that we don't need to be so cautious and show them so much respect, I imagine the second leg is still likely to look pretty similar, with us keeping it tight and looking to contain.
    Agreed. I think the next leg will be exactly the same. Very good without the ball but would've like to see more with the ball.

Are Serbia better than them? Probably.

We were decent that night, but again didn't create much. I feel like Wes shouldn't start. He went off after an hour against Serbia but we needed him most then. Likely to be very nervy night.

285 Posts
    Don't think the Danes are any great shakes myself. I think Ireland will beat them on Tuesday.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

130 Posts
    Anyone else think Brady football intelligence is poor. Set pieces are nowhere near as good as rated. Too often he is rushed on the ball and/or chooses wrong option. One example been the shot he took on when a through ball to Long was very much on.

2,446 Posts
    Job done for now at least. An away goal would have been lovely, but everything to play for in Dublin. Expect a much changed performance on Tuesday with Hoolahan and Meyler likely to come in to start.

626 Posts
    Well, that wasn't exactly pretty but the primary aim has been achieved - keep the tie alive for the return leg. Can't really say that any of the outfield players particularly stood out in achieving that goal - it was more of an organised, collective effort to crowd the Danes out (who were decent but not outstanding). Randolph made the most important interventions with his solid saves, aided by some mediocre follow-up finishing by the Danish players when he had to parry into the danger area. Could have possibly been a bit more proactive going forward a little earlier but of course that might have put the main aim at risk. Not having scored a goal is a worry, as I think the Danes are still good enough to nick one if given a bit more of an opportunity on Tuesday, which would mean we'd have to score two, something I don't fancy us doing, particularly on today's evidence.

503 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Anyone else think Brady football intelligence is poor. Set pieces are nowhere near as good as rated. Too often he is rushed on the ball and/or chooses wrong option. One example been the shot he took on when a through ball to Long was very much on.
    Yes. 100% yes.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

503 Posts
    Good defensive performance and a smashing result. We've given ourselves a real chance.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

214 Posts
    Excellent defensive performance but when we had the chance to punish them at set pieces we let them off with some woeful deliveries.

Home crowd was very subdued throughout. Denmark lacked ideas and I’m amazed they kept going long - one thing we are good at is coping with Sunday league football. Did they not watch the Wales tape? They needed to up the tempo and zip it around but they were content with just being patient.

Hendricks and Brady very quiet. Murphy didn’t get a chance to be in the game and I thought when Long came on he’d buzz about but he was quiet as well. We were set up like a narrow 4-3-2-1 at times. Arter had a good game. Back 5 excellent. Glad to be leaving tomorrow - Copenhagen is gonna bankrupt me!

182 Posts
    Absolutely unwatchable god awful excuse for football.

There comes a point when the ends no longer justifies the means.

200 Posts
    That was a brutal game to watch. I don't mind a bit of agricultural football, but our back line seemed to go for the row z option 90% of the time, even when under comparatively little pressure.

Still, if we win on Tuesday you'll have to say the tactics will have been correct.

182 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    That was a brutal game to watch. I don't mind a bit of agricultural football, but our back line seemed to go for the row z option 90% of the time, even when under comparatively little pressure.

Still, if we win on Tuesday you'll have to say the tactics will have been correct.
    For what? So that we can go to the world cup and stop others from playing football? Maybe reach the second round? For the craic?

It's death by a thousand small cuts. I can't take it anymore.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brine3 View Post
    For what? So that we can go to the world cup and stop others from playing football? Maybe reach the second round? For the craic?

Because you'd sooner be like Wales and Scottish fans watching their team play semi decent football from time to time but nothing to look forward to for over 12 months?!?!

19. Thanks From:

1,159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Excellent defensive performance but when we had the chance to punish them at set pieces we let them off with some woeful deliveries.

Home crowd was very subdued throughout. Denmark lacked ideas and I’m amazed they kept going long - one thing we are good at is coping with Sunday league football. Did they not watch the Wales tape? They needed to up the tempo and zip it around but they were content with just being patient.

Hendricks and Brady very quiet. Murphy didn’t get a chance to be in the game and I thought when Long came on he’d buzz about but he was quiet as well. We were set up like a narrow 4-3-2-1 at times. Arter had a good game. Back 5 excellent. Glad to be leaving tomorrow - Copenhagen is gonna bankrupt me!
    Up the tempo and zip it around? I don't think they were capable. Tonight demonstrated we need not fear these likes.

Randolph did well but I don't think any of their efforts were of the point blank, nailed on goal type. He consistently saved on target shots.

Good result. I never considered before the match that a 0-0 away would mean we come home in dire need not to concede in the Aviva. Concede one and score two. Tough ask but we have a chance. A big chance. It will be a memorable night.

515 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brine3 View Post

Good news, you dont have to take it, while the rest of us are cheering on our team, you can watch nationwide or emerdale farm

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    It's all set up for a huge nail-biter in the second leg!

621 Posts
    I think we can safely say we are not playing against great Danes.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diggs246 View Post
    Good news, you dont have to take it, while the rest of us are cheering on our team, you can watch nationwide or emerdale farm
    Even worse, he can watch Netherlands.

610 Posts
    Awful game to watch. Arter put himself about but Hendrick was anonymous.
    It will matter little though if the lads have a proper go in Dublin. Which they must

621 Posts
    We will have to keep it tight in Dublin, there is no away goals rule on penalties!

Page 16 of 20 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast