Page 69 of 71 FirstFirst ... 19596768697071 LastLast
Results 1,361 to 1,380 of 1413

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Turkey, Italy, Costa Rica & Portugal - May/June 2014

610 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by samhaydenjr View Post
    If memory serves me correctly Mick did deal with the Ian Harte issue in the Saudi Arabia game after the Saudi right-winger totally gave Harte the run-around in the first half. Mick replaced Harte with Kevin Kilbane, who I believe hadn't established himself as a left-back and was more of a back-up for Duff on the left wing (although I'm open to correction on that) - anyway, the extra attacking edge he brought put the Saudi player on the back foot for the second half and snuffed out the danger he posed.
    Kilbane was already on the left wing. Duffer was playing up front with Keane in 2002.
    I think, in that Saudi game, Kilbane moved to left back, Duff moved to the wing and Quinn replaced Harte
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    BI saw nothing wrong with Nigeria's goal (assuming the issue is the way the Nigerian winger ghosted past a left back that'd have made Stephen Ward look like Denis Irwin? Not even a hint of a foul for me.)
    I think there is an ankle tap on the Bosnian defender as he cuts behind him. It's about 5.20 into the video here.

http://www.matchhighlight.com/latest...a-herzegovina/

Stutts most of them arent 2gs or 1gs, they left as very young kids.

Ibra is seen as a traitor.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 23/06/2014 at 9:37 AM.

358 Posts
    Ye lads in regards to Harte, he did start against the Saudis, but I felt after the German game, Harte should have been dropped. I will always remember the Saudi game, I cycled from London to Brighton for charity that day, after a reasonably big night before. What kept me going was the need to get back to London to watch the game with the other 5 Irish blokes I lived with. Got back to find them drunk and after a few beers I basically feel asleep and missed the end of a pretty ordinary game. Memories!

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I think there is an ankle tap on the Bosnian defender as he cuts behind him. It's about 5.20 into the video here.

http://www.matchhighlight.com/latest...a-herzegovina/
    Still not a foul for me. I saw the contact and can see that it was what put the Bosnia player down but the Nigerian did nothing wrong, he just ran across a trailing foot and was determined to do nothing but get the ball.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post
    Ye lads in regards to Harte, he did start against the Saudis, but I felt after the German game, Harte should have been dropped. I will always remember the Saudi game, I cycled from London to Brighton for charity that day, after a reasonably big night before. What kept me going was the need to get back to London to watch the game with the other 5 Irish blokes I lived with. Got back to find them drunk and after a few beers I basically feel asleep and missed the end of a pretty ordinary game. Memories!
    Ireland 3 Saudi Arabia 0 in the World Cup Finals. "A pretty ordinary game" ?? The stuff dreams are made of.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

3,501 Posts
    so you will always remember that you don't remember the game at all?

But still knew it was a pretty ordinary game.

626 Posts
    What! A game where Ireland takes on "lesser" opposition and wins comfortably with little or no drama - that's not ordinary - that's a once in a lifetime experience to be savoured forever!

626 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    Kilbane was already on the left wing. Duffer was playing up front with Keane in 2002.
    I think, in that Saudi game, Kilbane moved to left back, Duff moved to the wing and Quinn replaced Harte
    Absolutely correct - good memory

I have to say I don't really agree with a lot of oneill says in his analysis of games. Some of it is kinda worrying.

Such as?

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I have to say I don't really agree with a lot of oneill says in his analysis of games. Some of it is kinda worrying.
    Anything specific or in particular that has concerned you? I've always thought of him as a very astute and coherent analyst of the game.

2,796 Posts
    He just said that every team in the tournie has a deficiency. I agree.

It's his reading of the defensive line and where players should be etc.3 times now.

fabio keeps calling oneill the boss.but I think oneill is a bit of a bully on this.its funny how he asks fabio and dismisses Ian Wright though.

2,284 Posts
    Martin is simply reminding Fabio of his place and to respect his (decorated) elders. Smiling Fabio was initially the patronising one. He'd doubted that nimble wee Martin with the glasses had even played the game until Martin revealed he'd actually won two European Cups compared to Fabio's none. I haven't seen them together since that, but I can only assume Fabio is a lot more deferential now.

And would you trust Ian Wright with a question? Any question?

358 Posts
    I apologise profusely for not remembering the game properly. Hangover, 60 mile cycle including cycling up that massive hill outside Brighton plus beer at home. Excuses I know, but true! Jeez, you're horrible, harsh critics on here.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    He just said that every team in the tournie has a deficiency. I agree.
    I think that's made the tournament amazing to watch
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 24/06/2014 at 8:49 AM.

21. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Martin is simply reminding Fabio of his place and to respect his (decorated) elders. Smiling Fabio was initially the patronising one. He'd doubted that nimble wee Martin with the glasses had even played the game until Martin revealed he'd actually won two European Cups compared to Fabio's none. I haven't seen them together since that, but I can only assume Fabio is a lot more deferential now.

And would you trust Ian Wright with a question? Any question?
    Are you implying they're the same person?

They were together last night, and everytime Fabio makes a comment he says I agree with you Boss, and looks to him.

I saw where he told viera and fabio of the 2 european cups i was watching it, was funny but I dont think they were wholly dimissive, certainly viera wasnt anyway, but they were more siding with eachother. It was initially because the night before martin disagreed with viera, and he didnt like that viera had disagreed with him, he kinda blew it up into something. I've always felt a bit uncomfortable watching martin on ITV/BBC when doing the analysing, like he is a little sore and trying to control things.

The defensive line thing was about playing offside, and also about defending from crosses, I took the same view as viera and fabio on 2 seperate occassions but oneill blamed the defenders who were trying to play offisde. He also blamed paulinho or whoever was standing on the near post for cameroons goal for not cutting out the cross, and marcelo and luiz for not keeping an eye on the ball rather than the player. He had a point on both but I don't think it was as straightforward as that. I'd worry that what he is telling the players is different from what they hear day in day out at club level and hence will cause confusion and players will end up in no mans land in games, like Stutts suggested for the Turkey and Serbia games. We looked all at sea, especially the likes of coleman who normallly has decent positional sense and awareness.