Page 25 of 71 FirstFirst ... 15232425262735 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Turkey, Italy, Costa Rica & Portugal - May/June 2014

2,081 Posts
    Yeah I think it's 1am or thereabouts. Being able to see it in the hotel bar was the dream but I would have settled for being able to record it and watch it the next day! Ah well.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Isn't it on after midnight, Irish time?
    Though do know weddings can go on, late into the night....
    It is. Unless you ask Tricky.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    So it seems a reality that this Costa Rica game isn't televised. I was kind of expecting something to change closer the time!
    Seems to be a stream here http://livetv.sx/en/allupcomingsports/1/

http://livetv.sx/en/eventinfo/235829..._rica_ireland/

No doubt there will me many more on the day.

Although as this is a leap year it will on the 8th not the 7th as advertised.
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 02/06/2014 at 10:31 PM.

1,928 Posts
    This wedding plague is spreading.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Seems to be a stream here http://livetv.sx/en/allupcomingsports/1/

http://livetv.sx/en/eventinfo/235829..._rica_ireland/

No doubt there will me many more on the day.

Although as this is a leap year it will on the 8th not the 7th as advertised.
    It's saturday night, until you wake up into Sunday.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    With all due respect, the players playing in The Isthmian League are far better footballers than we are. It's ridiculous comparing what went on in the Ireland v Italy game to what happens with lads on the astroturf.

Maybe you should coach Shane and then maybe his record of 1 goal in every 3 starts will improve to Robbie Keane/Ali Daei/Jan Koller proportions.
    You do realise who you're speaking to TOWK? Joe_Denilson or Johnser Keane as he was known at Barnsley before it went tits up. In other words, he's played with manys a fine striker and may have scored a few too.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

646 Posts
    In my defence, I was at the tail end of a 10 day drinking binge, I don't even remember making that post and it was this afternoon. The Fear will be paying a visit.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Ah here, respect to Shane. Most of the chances he had, were due to his athleticism, but don't make excuses for him.
    I've played with at least 20 strikers who'd of glanced that header away from the keeper. Similiarly the chance from Wes's pass, he sidefooted it. If you're going to sidefoot it then give the keeper the eyes, otherwise put your foot through it and find a corner, he was 12/13 yards from goal ffs.
    I like Shane. He'll get more chances than most strikers and he'll miss a fair few. Seems he missed a bit of coaching on the subject. I'd start him more often than not and hopefully he'll score when it counts but I won't make excuses for him when he misses. Strikers miss sometimes, some strikers more often than others.
    Can anyone answer why Long is constantly chewing gum or whatever it is on the pitch? Is there a particular reason for it related to performance?

Im probably being a bit unfair but everytime I see him miss a chance and theres a close up of him chewing away on something it just looks like hes being too damn casual. Im a big fan of his, if he had half of Robbies finishing ability he could be a world beater but he should have burried some of the chances he had recently.

I agree with everything Joe says here, I would hope that someone is spending extra time with him coaching him on his finishing. And someone tell him to get rid of the bloody gum before he chokes on it!
    Its really not that complicated!!!

What are the odds of Ronaldo playing against us next week?

It's Portugal's last WC warmup and he sat out their last game with an injury.

I'll be there and expecting a big Portugal turnout due to the golden boy, and also the match falls on June 10th, which is "Portugal Day".
    Last edited by boysingreen; 03/06/2014 at 6:36 AM.

2,081 Posts
    He'll surely play some part if fit.

2,081 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by boysingreen View Post
    What are the odds of Ronaldo playing against us next week?

It's Portugal's last WC warmup and he sat out their last game with an injury.

I'll be there and expecting a big Portugal turnout due to the golden boy, and also the match falls on June 10th, which is "Portugal Day".
    Pretty low I'd say. He has a thigh injury and there's worries he won't make the Germany game so it's unlikely we'll see him before then.

I'm a bit disappointed after all you said how well we played on Saturday that so many players are pulling out http://thescore.thejournal.ie/martin...98706-Jun2014/

O'Shea and Coleman were never going to travel. I expected Delaney to go but he's had a long season so maybe he's just wiped out.

and ward too. It's a completely different backline

we're on about consistency in performance how can ye have that with completely different teams lining out.

In my opinion all that matters is we find a new midfield or a new partnership somewhere.

1,928 Posts
    Let's find a new midfield, that's a splendid idea.

2,081 Posts
    McCarthy & Hendrick. Done.

Well exactly that would be a new midfield partnership.but they don't really have much experience playing together or an understanding of each other

417 Posts
    Ive found the hotel they are staying at. I may pull a fire alarm at 4am to see how they react to adversity. Also Ger Crossley and Johnser Keane are signing autographs at the hard rock cafe in times sq on saturday if anyone is interested. But its going to be tough to get a good turn out for that as the Rangers have made the cup finals and people are Ranger centric right now.

2,796 Posts
    As CD said, O'Shea and Coleman were always out. Delaney is a shame but biggest loss is Clark, on basis that we could do with him staking a claim to the left back berth. But it's a 29 man squad and 22 or so players are still traveling.

Page 25 of 71 FirstFirst ... 15232425262735 ... LastLast