Lasted the full 90 and got himself a yellow card!
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
Great news that him and Coleman are back today.
Tasty and tempting food at SuperMacs.
DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?
Looks set to deputise at centre half while Huth is suspended for the next three games: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...330606947.html
Miss it much?
http://www.thedailymeal.com/10-fast-...eard-slideshow
Anyway...
Back to Marc.
Will be interesting to see him in the centre I have to say after being out for so long.
Last edited by BonnieShels; 28/02/2013 at 5:08 PM.
I can see Cameron getting first shot at playing CB with Shawcross.
Here's to ye with being wrong hopefully.
I reckon he'll get the nod at LB.
He says he would always have chosen to play for the Republic and laughs at the suggestion by Northern Ireland manager Michael O’Neill this week that some of those from north of the Border might have done better if they had declared for the North.
“I think that’s none of his business,” he says. “You don’t pick your country for a career, definitely not.”![]()
That's O'Neill tould. Couldn't agree more. Fair play to Wilson for setting the record straight.
true. the most dissappointing thing was o neill was given massive air time in interviews on off the ball and rte and was allowed spout nonsense without been remotely challenged. the simple fundamental that an irish nationalist in the north has the right to play for his country is something all irish people including broadcasters should be proud of.
I can understand Wilson being annoyed by what he likely sees as O'Neill's wind-ups. That said, claiming that a player from NI's motivation in deciding to who to play for is none of the NI manager's business is a bit silly.
Not everyone shares Wilson's single-mindedness- if they did, international teams wouldn't have so many players who've never actually lived in their represented countries.
Maybe Off the Ball and RTE are deliberately stoking this story because they think O'Neill ranting is good copy. Alternatively, the lack of a counter to him might suggest that other journalists and pundits just aren't that interested. Or possibly that some might even agree with him.
Put another way, Wilson's eligibility to play for more than one international side is straightforward enough. But it's neither fundamental (in the sense of being some great issue of principle), nor something that is inherently beyond comment by those with an interest, like O'Neill.
I'd say Wilson's problem is the presumption that getting a load of caps for one country is preferable to getting a small number of caps, or none, for your chosen country. O'Neill is the grossly ignorant one here, and I say that as a huge fan of his for the work he did with Shamrock Rovers.
I think O'Neill sees international football as this pragmatic thing that anybody should be grateful to be given the opportunity to do, regardless of how much you relate to the country in question. There are an awful lot of footballers who share his view that international football is a great career move. I'm sure there are several of them in the current and past ROI sides.
Unfortunately, he doesn't seem to understand Wilson's single-mindedness, as you noted, and will therefore forever be baffled by players who would treasure one cap for ROI or England or Scotland over 50 caps for a country they only half-identify with. To him, 50 is a much bigger number than 1, and who'd choose 1 when they can have 50?
The thing is, Wilson has already made his decision and is tied to the FAI. He's happy he has made that choice and has never had second thoughts about it. He made his decision based on national allegiance; it wasn't a career choice for him and it had nothing to do with weighing up the potential number of caps he might accrue for either the IFA or FAI. For O'Neill to bring the notion of career caps into the equation, further claim to have sympathy for what he perceives to have been poor career choices made by switching players and then presume that some of these players must surely regret their decisions is to completely misunderstand the motivations of Irish nationals born north of the border who declare for the FAI. If O'Neill is going to profess an interest in the careers of players no longer eligible to play for the IFA, he could at least try to comprehend the thinking of such players before commenting on them. Previous comments to the media were a breath of fresh air and suggested he did possess an understanding but his latest ignorant remarks just sounded like something Worthington might have come out with pre-Kearns.