Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Where were the best fans in the world last night ?

To be fair, I think the munster supporters would be more traditionalist, even though ROG pointed out on a wet evening in musgrave park in the late 90s/00s playing to 1500 in the ****ing rain, it would be more of a thing to be seen at by the South Dubs and the schools.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    re-Paul's remark above, yes, I see the FAI as a deserving charity to a large degree. I grin and bear ticket prices. I'm what they call "price inelastic".
    I thought you are what they call, "terribly-affected-middle class"

2,796 Posts
    I don't know what you mean, but one memorable moment from my playing career springs to mind.

I was playing up in North Co. Dublin, Rush I think. I was in goals and some local kids were throwing stones at me from behind the net. I tried to sound hard and I put on my toughest Dublin accent and said "lads, will yiz ****ing quit throwing ****stones". Which prompted the young knackers to roll around laughing and one said "Ah Jaysus, the goalie's a poshie".

1,825 Posts
    I think that's an excellent article by the way and I think footy fans will empathise with that. Even during the Croker rugby games (I was at many of them) the atmosphere was flat, except the famous England game. I was at the opener against France and might as well have been watching snooker. Something's gone amiss at both footy and rugger methinks.
    I was at the French game and the only thing I got out of it was cold knees and I lived around the corner on Distillery Road.

I didn't enjoy the atmosphere at all.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    If, for the reason you don't support by purchasing tickets, you think that its completely unnecessary, I disagree, I would see it as completely necessary, for I can't be there in person, I'm pretty sure the FAI, who our team represent, are more than happy with the financial support I am offering.
    I dont think buying a ticket for a game that doesnt get used equals support for the Irish team. It is financial support for the association that "runs" Irish football. Support can be shown in other meaningful ways whether you are at home or abroad. Look its all well and good to support in a way that you see fit, i just dont think it makes you any more of a supporter of the Irish team. I also like to see a return on my support - if i commit passion i expect it in return, if i commit cash i expect something for that. For you to purchase a ticket and have a seat sit empty makes no sense to me. It should/could be donated to charity or someone who cannot afford a ticket, no? I think that is what i have most problem with...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

1,928 Posts
    It might/would be an issue if the game was a sure fire sell out.
    It's Paul's choice in this instance to regard the FAI as a charity.
    Leave the lad alone

Empty seat normally, id rather someone else also spent money.

Whatever people think of the people that run the FAI, they run football in the country and need all the money they can get, especially given how poor attended the league is. Without sounding somewhat self-righteous, and I know I can put stutts in this bracket also, I see it like a charitable donation as much as anything else - and thats not because they have my sympathy, rather my support. It would be good if a few more expats, who cant really support in any other way did the same.
    Do you buy league tickets too?

1,928 Posts
    I smell an offer of a LOI season ticket, at a very good price, on its way to Paul's inbox.

No but i buy all the raffle tickets for the club at home and the big draw at christmas which probably costs about the same as a season ticket at a LOI ground. Ok probably not....

I'm 40 miles form a LOI ground. Or was, multiply that by at least 10 now

No but i buy all the raffle tickets for the club at home and the big draw at christmas which probably costs about the same as a season ticket at a LOI ground. Ok probably not....

I'm 40 miles form a LOI ground. Or was, multiply that by at least 10 now
    But your money will go much further at a LOI club than in the FAI coffers.

So they say. The LOI is a great concept and so are the fans but that's as far as it goes.

1,928 Posts
    No but i buy all the raffle tickets for the club at home and the big draw at christmas
    That's one way to make sure you win the prize.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Leave the lad alone
    i just want to convince him that im right and that he should change his mind to my way of thinking on this and everything else... i really dont see the problem...

Sorry Paul... you know I love you really
    Last edited by SkStu; 13/02/2013 at 7:09 PM.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,796 Posts
    Quinlan's Irish Times observations have receivbed a lot of response:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...9.html?via=mr#

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    But your money will go much further at a LOI club than in the FAI coffers.
    Go much further in that club? But does it help the development or grants given out to local clubs who nurture and give an outlet to people in my area? No it doesn't. Whatever little amount goes to development officers or money to clubs either directly or indirectly through my purchase of an international ticket, its definitely better than not buying one.

I've never been contacted by a charity but I would be more than willing, otherwise like geysir says, unless the match was sold out then I don't think redistribution becomes a problem, in fact I would be more against it for many reasons, not least because those who go to the crap games deserve the big ones as well or the more difficult ones to get to, deserve to be able to go to the less difficult ones to get to also - where I would want to go - but also because I think the FAI could do with another sale.

If you don't want to buy one or support in that way fair enough, I accept that. You make the point that if you commit cash you accept something back, if/when you give cash to sponsor a child in africa, do you expect to get a letter back saying Dear Skstu....?
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 14/02/2013 at 9:18 AM.

Quinlan's Irish Times observations have receivbed a lot of response:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...9.html?via=mr#
    They seem to have deleted all the comments. There were 250 last night, only 18 now.

Go much further in that club? But does it help the development or grants given out to local clubs who nurture and give an outlet to people in my area? No it doesn't. Whatever little amount goes to development officers or money to clubs either directly or indirectly through my purchase of an international ticket, its definitely better than not buying one.
    Whatever club you want. I'm just saying your money will be much closer to the grassroots if you invest in a club rather than the national association.

Yes and that's why I said I buy tickets for club draws and christmas raffles etc also.

446 Posts
    So Bonnie's hopes are going well then...

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    So Bonnie's hopes are going well then...
    They're taking a battering along with my dreams. This thread is like a cockroach/Bray Wanderers.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 14/02/2013 at 1:52 PM.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,446 Posts
    This thread is like a horror story. Why someone would actively seek to give hard earned money, to further line the pockets of Mein Führer Delaney is beyond me.

24. Thanks From:

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast