Results 2,501 to 2,520 of 3381

Thread: Darron Gibson

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Murfinator View Post
    Speaking of embarrassments here's what the "best fans in the world" have to say about all this.

http://s18.postimage.org/4ydyktjlj/bestfans.jpg

I see that list is leaded by that sh*t stirrer Kieran Cunningham.

Gibson's attitude disgusts me.

His "disappointment" of the euros. Does that mean that the fans should stop going to games too?
    Whether he should/not have been played in the euros is another story...Trap is the manager ...he makes the calls. Gibson knew that before he accepted his place in the euro squad.

I find his lame ass excuse pathetic.
    My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

161 Posts
    The reason Gibson is not going to run up during the week is that McCarthy has taken Gibsons spot. Trap has stated so. Laughable to think that a player who could not get a look in under the Italian spoofer is now keeping out a player who is playing well for Everton. The same merchants who are Traps cheerleaders are going to support Brady for manager. I Know its hard to believe if you really follow football but this is Ireland. Brady is being seriously considered.

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Ye all need to keep in mind that football is his job, and not necessarily his passion. .
    WRONG

Playing for his club is his job. Playing for his country should be his passion as he isnt getting a large fee for it. Playing for their country should be the passion of EVERY player.
    Been picked for your countries european championship squad is a huge honour for any player, whether they play in the championship or not.

Do you acknowledge that Trap picks the Team based on his own opinion not of what the fans think?

Equally do you acknowledge that Gibson understood that he may not get any game time in the euros when he accepted his place in the squad?
    My Country is My Club.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    The players. Do you think Gary Waddock would have turned down a call-up after Italia '90? Of course not, he would have been honoured.
    It's 22 years ago CD. The profile of international football has changed, professional football has changed and professional footballers have changed.

Gibson proved beyond question that he wanted to play for Ireland, now he's proved that he doesn't want to play for Trapatoni and he is not the only one. Fair play Trap, your slowly but surely alienating every player with the ability to pass the ball from the squad, one by one.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    WRONG

Playing for his club is his job. Playing for his country should be his passion as he isnt getting a large fee for it. Playing for their country should be the passion of EVERY player.
    Been picked for your countries european championship squad is a huge honour for any player, whether they play in the championship or not.

Do you acknowledge that Trap picks the Team based on his own opinion not of what the fans think?

Equally do you acknowledge that Gibson understood that he may not get any game time in the euros when he accepted his place in the squad?
    Who are you to say what anyone's passion SHOULD be? I'm not even saying that he's no passionate about playing for Ireland, I'm just saying that it may or may not be. I play football at the amateur level and I've had plenty of managers pick players that far worse than me. Nothing more frustrating. If I had a nine hour flight out to the middle of Asia and I knew full well that I wouldn't have much chance of playing I would probably take a pass too.

491 Posts
    i have been a huge supporter of gibsons and i think he is a far superior player to andrews and whelan. this is a mistake though he should have shut his mouth and turned up for his country

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    What an immature child. However it is starting to worry me this seeming lack of interest in playing for Ireland that many of our players have been cultivating over the past few years. This has become especially prevalent during Trapattoni's reign. Surely Trapattoni's methods and management style shouldn't be above criticism when it appears so many of our players have on occasions not been willing to make themselves available for his squads.
    Not necessarily true. In another thread, someone revealed there were 21 withdrawals from Stan's USA tour squad in 2007.

114 Posts
    Not defending Stan - but those withdrawals were mostly with the explicit agreement of Stan

1,928 Posts
    When he was at Man U, Gibson was not up the required standard to be in our first team. Trap was quite correct when he said Gibson should move from Man U.
    Finally he did move clubs, had pulled out of a few Euro qual squads through injury, turned up for the pre-Euro friendlies and showed enough to satisfy most managers that at least he was a first sub. I'd definitely have sympathy with him when he didn't see one minute of Euro action, that appears to have been a píss poor decision by Trap.

McCarthy has also had to bide his time, has also had to sit on the bench while Green was used as a sub ahead of him, now James is on the cusp of a long intl career.
    I'd hope Gibson has a change of heart and makes himself available for the October games but I doubt it as he has a stubborn belief in his own image that he's an outstanding talent.
    Last edited by geysir; 02/09/2012 at 8:48 AM.

2,796 Posts
    Hopefully he's just making a point of protest. In the past Trap would have said stuff like "we have other players with mentality" but here he is keeping the door open and rightly so.

I don't agree with Gibson's decision. Being disappointed by selection decisions is part and parcel of a footballer's life and he should just grin and bear it. It's a team game and I was brought up to support my teammates even when I was not picked.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Do you think Gary Waddock would have turned down a call-up after Italia '90? Of course not, he would have been honoured.
    So you're trying to say Gibson isn't honoured to represent his country? :-)

1,928 Posts
    Ironic that he probably would have had to pull out of the squad, due to picking up yet another injury.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    When he was at Man U, Gibson was not up the required standard to be in our first team. Trap was quite correct when he said Gibson should move from Man U.
    Finally he did move clubs, had pulled out of a few Euro qual squads through injury, turned up for the pre-Euro friendlies and showed enough to satisfy most managers that at least he was a first sub. I'd definitely have sympathy with him when he didn't see one minute of Euro action, that appears to have been a píss poor decision by Trap.

McCarthy has also had to bide his time, has also had to sit on the bench while Green was used as a sub ahead of him, now James is on the cusp of a long intl career.
    I'd hope Gibson has a change of heart and makes himself available for the October games but I doubt it as he has a stubborn belief in his own image that he's an outstanding talent.
    Ever think that if Gibson didn't withdraw from so many squads that he'd have probably established him as first choice backup instead of Green? The sub appearance is fairly irrelevant anyway given that it was at the tail end of a 4-0 destruction and long past when the game was over, he probably brought Green on to raise his profile for not having a club in such a trivial circumstance. Managers often do this.
    As to why he was behind Whelan and Andrews? His own fault, Andrews had been out for almost an entire year where Gibson had a chance to establish himself and he played utter ****e during that period, and thats when he wasn't withdrawing from squads. He's a lad who in 19 appearances for us has very seldom done especially well and certainly never laid down a marker for a starting place. A petulant, average player we could do without.

214 Posts
    I think he realises he is still behind Whelan, Andrews & now McCarthy.

Grin and bear it or stay at home with the family? He went with the latter. He's a way better player than Whelan & Andrews but isn't mobile to guarantee a start with the Trap's 4-4-2 formation.

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Who are you to say what anyone's passion SHOULD be? I'm not even saying that he's no passionate about playing for Ireland, I'm just saying that it may or may not be. I play football at the amateur level and I've had plenty of managers pick players that far worse than me. Nothing more frustrating. If I had a nine hour flight out to the middle of Asia and I knew full well that I wouldn't have much chance of playing I would probably take a pass too.
    I am fan of the irish team(thats who I am to say what a players (who wants to play for us) passion should be) and I would expect anyone who declares for our team to have 100% passion or else I dont want them wearing the green jersey

Gibson has declared for us and did so for the euros.....in doing so it meant that another player was left out of the squad.

Travelling long distance comes with the territory of international football.
    Gibson knew of Irelands trip to Kazakhstan before he accepted the place in the euro squad. So his "dissapointment" excuse is utter bullsh*t. If he was going to pick and choose what games he turns up for , then he should never have took another players place in the euro squad.

Your comparison of your amateur football career to Gibsons ignorance is completely irrelevant. Unlike Gibson, Im presuming you dont make 40000 pounds a week and are a few seasons away from an International call-up.
    Last edited by back of the net; 02/09/2012 at 2:49 PM.
    My Country is My Club.

131 Posts
    No great loss anyway. No matter what some people seem to think on here a few passable performances in an Everton shirt over a dozen or so Premiership games does not a great player make. He hasn't, other than in the wildest fantasies of some Ireland supporters, ever been near to being one of Everton's best players during that time. Better than Whelan, unlikely to contribute as much to Ireland as an on form Andrews and significantly poorer than McCarthy is my assessment. How Paul Green gets in ahead of him, however, is another matter entirely.

Now step up David Meyler and take your chance.
    Last edited by youngirish; 02/09/2012 at 3:30 PM.

19. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    It's 22 years ago CD. The profile of international football has changed, professional football has changed and professional footballers have changed.

Gibson proved beyond question that he wanted to play for Ireland, now he's proved that he doesn't want to play for Trapatoni and he is not the only one. Fair play Trap, your slowly but surely alienating every player with the ability to pass the ball from the squad, one by one.
    Who? Gibson and... Andy Reid? Hardly a comprehensive list of people who can pass the ball. James McCarthy is the best passer of the ball we have and he's fine, despite the ridiculous criticism he's been subject to from fans and the Irish media.

675 Posts
    Gibson's attitude is pathetic.

The idea it's Trap's fault - the guy who gave Gibson his chance, threw him on at the Stade de France in 08, started him in qualifiers when a vocal section of Irish fans were saying 'oh christ no, not him!' and then simply didn't bring him on for five minutes at the end of an absolute drubbing against Spain - is ridiculous.

Question Trap's communication methods, they're certainly problematic, but Gibson needs to wise up and take his oil.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

123 Posts
    It would seem quite a lot of Irish supporters have turned against Trap and he can do no right at this stage. If people will get on Gibson's side against him they'll get on anyones side against him.

24. Thanks From:

2,081 Posts
    Not the slightest bit surprised really. Always struck me as a pretentious prima donna. The guy is not nearly as good as he thinks he is.

26. Thanks From: