Page 7 of 13 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland vs Estonia (1st Leg) - Match Thread

just getting on my flight to vegas... what a party im having tonight!

Going to Pacman fight tomorrow too! great weekend!
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JGKyne View Post
    Out of interest if the players on yellow cards tonight get booked on Tuesday, are they out of the first group game?
    I'm guessing the answer is yes!

I am not sure, is it possible that the slate could be wiped clean for the finals? I vaguely recall talk about that sometime but I am surely wrong.
    Anyhow, given we were 4-0 up would it not have been sensible for players on yellows to have got themselves booked deliberately so they
    missed the second leg, rather than carry a yellow card through to the finals?

366 Posts
    Buzzing! Too wired to sleep but I'll give counting chickens a go. Thank feck it's saturday (now). 1 goal conceded in 10 games and probable qualification for a major finals on the back of a big playoff aggregate margin. Happy days.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Yep, Andrews very good. Right up for it.
    I think he had a bit o' the 'spirit of Paris' about him tonight. Won't ever be accused of being a playmaker but some savage determination.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Was anybody else shouting at Whelan to stop …stop… STOP, oh no $%&&%
    Shocking dive from Duffer. Barely touched him.

60 Posts
    Andrews best game for Ireland. Super performance, took responsibility to get forward from first whistle.
    Always look on the bright side of life

621 Posts
    Just a word of warning, one thing I have noticed quite often in the Premier League is that a team has a big win, ie 4-0 or 5-0 and
    then goes and loses the next match by a similar score line!!!
    I can't provide any example of this right now but I am pretty sure it has happened a few times!
    I will see if I can find some. Might just be my imagination though or just that you notice on the very rare occasions it does happen.

A very good night for Irish football. Estonia looked overawed by the situation and we did our job effectively. It's been a long wait. Too long.

621 Posts
    Found one already!
    http://www.worldfootball.net/teams/b...derers/2010/3/

21. Round 09/03/2010 19:45 A Sunderland AFC Sunderland AFC 0:4
    30. Round 13/03/2010 15:00 H Wigan Athletic Wigan Athletic 4:0

So there you have Bolton (ie Estonia ) losing 4-0 then winning 4-0 against fairly similar opposition!!

I mean you can just see it, Estonia have nothing to lose and go flat out on the attack whilst we are resting on our
    laurels, 0-1, well they deserve a consolation goal, 0-2, time we tightened it up a bit at the back, don't want to let them get back in, 0-3, bloody hell!!! 0-4 oh ****!!!

Last edited by tricky_colour; 12/11/2011 at 12:14 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Found one already!
    http://www.worldfootball.net/teams/b...derers/2010/3/

21. Round 09/03/2010 19:45 A Sunderland AFC Sunderland AFC 0:4
    30. Round 13/03/2010 15:00 H Wigan Athletic Wigan Athletic 4:0

So there you have Bolton (ie Estonia ) losing 4-0 then winning 4-0 against fairly similar opposition!!

I mean you can just see it, Estonia have nothing to lose and go flat out on the attack whilst we are resting on our
    laurels, 0-1, well they deserve a consolation goal, 0-2, time we tightened it up a bit at the back, don't want to let them get back in, 0-3, bloody hell!!! 0-4 oh ****!!!

With all due respect tricky, feck off

I expect a tight game on Tuesday but... no no I can't even type it yet... you know what I mean!
    Last edited by koneinc; 12/11/2011 at 12:23 AM.

52 Posts

Last edited by Metrostars; 12/11/2011 at 12:51 AM.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

52 Posts

"Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.

52 Posts

229 Posts
    Great win, absolutely fantastic!
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by koneinc View Post
    With all due respect tricky, feck off

I expect a tight game on Tuesday but... no no I can't even type it yet... you know what I mean!
    A not unexpected response!!

Just out of interest, when was the last time we lost 4-0 at home?
    I can't remember anything worse than a 2 goal defeat at home although I do recall a 3 goal defeat in Cyprus.
    Actually there was Republic of Ireland 0-4 Holland in 2006 but that was a friendly
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...ls/4795339.stm

But enough of the pessimism, I don't want to destroy the feel good factor before Tuesday!!
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 12/11/2011 at 1:07 AM.

3,498 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Q: Is this our biggest ever away competitive win?
    No, but it's close
    We beat Liechtenstein 5-0 away in 1996 - http://www.soccerscene.ie/sssenior/m...ils.php?id=324
    all 5 goals came in the first 20 minutes!

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels
    Noely, I completely agree, but this is the last of the great Euros. Euro2016 with 24 is gonna suck.
    I can't wait until it's 24 teams, surely even we can't fail to qualify for that. It should have been 24 this time.

No sympathy for the opposition. They insulted us after the draw, indicating we were a pub team like the Nordies and tonight, with their Union Jacks in abundance.

Great night for everyone connected with Irish football. Wonderful lift for the nation. Football will be all over the back pages (and front) next June showing who is boss, while the rugger buggers kick air on a tour of some kip called Fiji or something.

For everyone who put up with San Marino, Switzerland, Moscow, and Montenegro amongst others, for those who put up with local FA's wrecking their travel plans in the past 10 years, this night is for you. Safe journey home, and enjoy the party on Tuesday.
    Last edited by mypost; 12/11/2011 at 1:41 AM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

1,825 Posts
    There is not a hope of us losing this tie. Estonia were limited. They showed that. They ended up with 9 men as a result of their inexperience and indiscipline.

That's their fault. Not ours.

On Tuesday we will deal with them in a professional way and kill the tie. The pessimism is completely unfounded ya mentalists!

Come on you boys in Green!!!

20 Posts
    Absolutely needed this. Delighted. Have been a fan for 30+ years and this was a good one. Keep the head on Tuesday (will be at the match) and we're golden.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Very pleased and proud tonight. That is all.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

621 Posts
    I guess the guy who thought up the Union Jacks idea is probably floating down the Pirita River right now!!!

305 Posts
    The "i feel sorry for Estoina" brigade needs a kick up the hole.
    Soft mick's Feck off ta hell,yis dopes,pity it wasnt 6/7/12 eleventeen nil,soft,very soft lads & i'm trying to be good here.

Page 7 of 13 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast