Page 25 of 76 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2011/12

Clonmel town Team last night: R Ryan, N Kelly, D Loughnane, T O'Connor, R Stanley, T Scully, J Shanahan, E Walsh, L Whelan, M Tynan, J Hynes Subs: C Conneally, S Flynn, R Condon & D Ryan

Two mile borris team last night : 1 Gerry Treacy,2 Eolan McCarthy,3 Jamie Maher,4 Roger Quinlan,5 Ross Doyle,6 Jamie o Connor,7 Aidan Healy,8 Ml Butler,9 Martin Darmody,10 Ml Rafter,11 Richard McCarthy,12 Pierce Cleary,13 Joe Grace,14 Benny Harkins,15 Noel Kent,16 Brendan Connelly.
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Decent game between Borris and Cahir last night. Both teams tried to play decent football but I would worry for both team in the physical area as they are mostly made up of small light players, could be a problem when up against the physical strength of the top teams. Borris had a great performance from their left winger, small but tough and tricky, the keeper looks impressive and decent performances from 2 middle of park guys and the striker took both goals well, especially the second where he had to take a big hit from keeper to score, very brave. Cahir had no stand out player but worked hard and were always game. Borris experienced players shaded for them. Footnote, young Rafter has great touch and good feet but will not make a big impact unless he gets fit, needs to lose at least a stone, with his background he should be a leader on the pitch. It's one thing been talented underage it's another to display it on a regular basis at this level.This kid has it but he needs to get himself seriously motivated and I look forward to having better comments to make about him in the coming months. By the way I have not posted since last season as off/pre season as most comments posted are idle gossip and I will only comment on games I attend in person no second hand information and they will be my own views and neutral as I am affiliated to no club. Best of luck to all player and mentors for the season.

Balls you have named 5 subs for Borris from last night, can you explain why the only had 2 and from what I was told at match the young chap that came on was only 15 and the other sub was a goalkeeper?

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SgtBilko View Post
    Celtic have shipped 10 goals in 2 games, surely a team to watch alright Tipp Top

How relevant are preseason games now? Could be a team to watch alright

AS good a win as it was its just the start a long long way to go yet. Added to that is the fact that it was as poor a Clonmel Town side that there has been for a long time.

Quote Originally Posted by bishbash View Post
    AS good a win as it was its just the start a long long way to go yet. Added to that is the fact that it was as poor a Clonmel Town side that there has been for a long time.
    And its not as if there are 5 or 6 lads to come back into it? Could be a long season for them but i would still expect them to sign players because they always challenge

Quote Originally Posted by stelling View Post
    And its not as if there are 5 or 6 lads to come back into it? Could be a long season for them but i would still expect them to sign players because they always challenge
    Town will have Barry Ryan and Michael Quinlivan to come back into that team,Cashel will do well this season if last night is anything to go by,without Coleman and Slattery a lot of people would have expected them to struggle but last night was anything but a struggle although it was a new look Wilderness side,not the usual physicality and aggression but instead a youthful side,interesting to see how that goes

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    predictions for tonight

town 2-1 celtic
    saints 3-1 peake
    cashel 3-2 wildies
    borris 2-2 cahir
    Hmmmm. So disappointed with you Balls

Quote Originally Posted by Honestman View Post
    Decent game between Borris and Cahir last night. Both teams tried to play decent football but I would worry for both team in the physical area as they are mostly made up of small light players, could be a problem when up against the physical strength of the top teams. Borris had a great performance from their left winger, small but tough and tricky, the keeper looks impressive and decent performances from 2 middle of park guys and the striker took both goals well, especially the second where he had to take a big hit from keeper to score, very brave. Cahir had no stand out player but worked hard and were always game. Borris experienced players shaded for them. Footnote, young Rafter has great touch and good feet but will not make a big impact unless he gets fit, needs to lose at least a stone, with his background he should be a leader on the pitch. It's one thing been talented underage it's another to display it on a regular basis at this level.This kid has it but he needs to get himself seriously motivated and I look forward to having better comments to make about him in the coming months. By the way I have not posted since last season as off/pre season as most comments posted are idle gossip and I will only comment on games I attend in person no second hand information and they will be my own views and neutral as I am affiliated to no club. Best of luck to all player and mentors for the season.
    Very good assessment honestman, agree with it all. I think the winning of the game was darmody and butler in midfield and the center back pairing of doyle and quinlan. The 4 of these seemed to control the game from the first minute in my oppinion.
    About rafter, he has some potential, i think he could score alot of goals up front along with mccarthy, the two of them have the makings of a lethal partnership. Treacy in the goal also looks like a great signing, pulled off two top drawer saves and only for the cahir penalty would of had a lovely clean sheet.

Did ye get a league trophy on Tuesday nite roberto? When ye have 15 or 16 like clonmel town then ye can call yourself a top club

Quote Originally Posted by nononsense View Post
    Hmmmm. So disappointed with you Balls
    was only out by the odd goal here and there. what new signings have peake in ahead of game against saints. Bansha beaten 2-0 tonight in division 1 shield away to galbally
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Nothing on the Tsdl website about Saints and Villa on Friday is this game going ahead?

Saints v peake on Friday night at 7 it's a tough ask for both clubs to play friday, Sunday and saints are playin Celtic midweek

Ah they will have to play the games sometime anyway so what harm. Im sure there happy.

25 Posts
    Rumoured Clonmel Celtic have no youths team this season. They won three trophies last season. Thought they had a good underage setup. Pity to see such a big town with just one youth team.

Quote Originally Posted by nononsense View Post
    Rumoured Clonmel Celtic have no youths team this season. They won three trophies last season. Thought they had a good underage setup. Pity to see such a big town with just one youth team.
    jees dats a very big shock if its true.

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SgtBilko View Post
    Did ye get a league trophy on Tuesday nite roberto? When ye have 15 or 16 like clonmel town then ye can call yourself a top club

No and there's a good chance we may not win one. Where did I call Celtic a top club?It was just a response to your constant snide little swipes at the club over the last few months.

From a neutral point of view I would have to agree with Roberto, Sgtbilko’s comments about Celtic over the past number of weeks some of them have been disrespectful to the club. He might need to look at things in his own club before he goes throwing around nasty little comments about others. I have said it before about stuff like this being posted on this site it’s not on. We are all on here because of our love of football so let’s try and cut out all this bitching and sniping at clubs and players and concentrate on real football matters.

I sincerely hope Celtic will have a youth’s team this season as it would be a big step backwards for the club in my opinion.

This Saints v Villa game on Friday has to be the biggest joke of a fixture I have ever seen, both teams are then expected to take to the field within 40 hrs of this game finishing and play in two massive games. It’s not as if we are at the end of the season and games need to be played. This is junior football and giving players 2 days notice for a game is not enough time especially when players have to get off work which is not fair to ask any player who has a job in this current economic climate.

19. Thanks From:

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Preds View Post
    From a neutral point of view I would have to agree with Roberto, Sgtbilko’s comments about Celtic over the past number of weeks some of them have been disrespectful to the club. He might need to look at things in his own club before he goes throwing around nasty little comments about others. I have said it before about stuff like this being posted on this site it’s not on. We are all on here because of our love of football so let’s try and cut out all this bitching and sniping at clubs and players and concentrate on real football matters.

I sincerely hope Celtic will have a youth’s team this season as it would be a big step backwards for the club in my opinion.

This Saints v Villa game on Friday has to be the biggest joke of a fixture I have ever seen, both teams are then expected to take to the field within 40 hrs of this game finishing and play in two massive games. It’s not as if we are at the end of the season and games need to be played. This is junior football and giving players 2 days notice for a game is not enough time especially when players have to get off work which is not fair to ask any player who has a job in this current economic climate.
    There is a strong possibility that Celtic won't have a youths team this season. It happened a few years ago as well where they had to take a year out and it didn't seem to do them too much damage. I do agree with you that it is a backwards step and it does reflect badly on the club. It is something that needs to be addressed as established clubs needs continuity i.e. kids moving through the age structures. I know over the last year the Club has made a big effort at entry level i.e. Academy but obviously this will take a while to bed in and will even take longer to have an effect at youth level.

The re alinement of the ages at under age level all players skipping year (ie last season's U15's now U17) has meant all U17's from last year can not play youths this year as they are now U19. It is not just Celtic who are in danger of not getting a youth team together this season. This could take 2 season's to sort out. As well young lads are just not there and when they get to 17 soccer comes low down on the list of things to do at the weekend!!

Page 25 of 76 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575 ... LastLast