Congrads to Springers on there league win, No doubt Eddie and Paulo will be laying on the BBQ this weekend :-)
Congrads to all league winners and cups too. Think its the County,Corinthiains and AOH left to play for?
Then let the silly season start!!! Think Shilts if ye pick up the triple we will let you start the thread next year! Deal????
Last edited by casilles; 02/06/2011 at 10:43 AM.
"Build it and they will come"
When I was talking about their conduct off the field I was talking about the way they act on the sidelines during the match and the attitudes and general lack of respect they have to their opposition from what iv'e seen . I couldn't care less what any person does away from football it's not my place to pass judgment on anyone.
I also think it is not the Springfield players fault that matches do get called off due a refs decision, it is up to the home team in my opinion to make sure a pitch is playable and I think the standard of the league in general needs to be improved all round.
I promised myself I would stay away because some of the stuff I wanted to say might end up with me in jail!!! But I miss ye too much!
Firstly, Congrats to all the lads in Cobh and commiserations to Carrig. I dont think one going up in any division is fair and if you cant take 4 from Prem A, then play-off between the runners up and then winner of that playing 3rd Bottom maybe a solution.
I think whats the people are trying to say, offside, is that your line has rubbed a lot of people up the wrong way. I dont know them personally but its been a common thread in a few clubs that they have been involved with over the years as far as I have been told. My personal experience was during the winter just gone when the Blarney Street guy nearly came to blows with the ref begging him to play the game....no joy but when he rang your guy, yer guy effed him out of it as if Blarney Street were trying to play some con.No need for it. No slight on players.
There is unfair controversy attached to both your promotions and the ref is centre of both unfortunately. Same ref too. No-one blames Springfield, but your name is in the story when people are telling it. I know ye too asked the ref to play the Fairview game. Unfortunate to have that stigma attached after two great seasons. Us football people know better so well done and see ye next year out in the snooker table!!!!
The AUL want better facilities and pitches, the FAI scratch their heads and wonder why no-one is buying Aviva tickets.............ye cant have it both ways lads. The Fines are screwing everyone, they must stop. The MFA added 20% to the cost of the cup in 2010 without explanation then or since. Aviva added 75% to their insurance excess straight after signing their deal with FAI - Blackstone might be able to build a 60,000 seater stadium too if we got 75 quid from every team in ther country!! We paying out €42 for every home game without the slightest comeback. Not looking to hang refs, just looking for value for money. refs judging refs, leagues judging refs..........clubs not! The clubs are being screwed from every direction and Im not gonna to let anyone drive my club into the ground without one hell of a battle.
Congratulations to all the clubs who won Leagues & Cups during the season and especially to the posters on here whose clubs were successful after what was a long season. It's June and there are still Cups to be played for !!
From a Killowen point of view it was an up and down season for us. The positives included improving our points tally in the league and reaching the Q-finals of the Corinthians Cup, but a slump in form between October and December saw us slip towards the wrong end of the table. Thankfully we got back on track in the new year but there's still plenty room for improvement. Off the pitch we have a very dedicated committee that keep the club functioning which is a hard task in these times.
We have a new manager appointed for next season, Seamus Ring, who was involved in a coaching role last season and also registered as a player for the latter part of the season. Seamus has wasted no time since his appointment and is busy planning for the upcoming season.
"Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights
Just to say well done to all the lads down in Springers. Another wonderful season and epic league win. Good cup runs without success led to a difficult run in but a great success in the end.
A special Congrats should go to the referees who clawed back the twenty point deficit and went on a wonderful run and only lost a handful of league games in 3 successive seasons.
It's a pity the brilliant run by all the lads had to be over shadowed on here by people giving out about refs decisions and off field antics. The lads put together a wonderful run of results and given that they had to play 3 games a week I think it was a superb achievement. People can talk about Tue games that were not played but they should think of Springers win percentage which would indicate that they may have won these games anyway.
So well done again Springers next year will be tough but with a few more additions the lads should see themselves well safe.
Well said. Players win games
Good luck to Leeside B in County Cup Final tonight.
Congrats to Springers on their win.
As regards the points being given out for the game in Monard - it only emphasises the respect that teams should give to the other teams in their league.
Teams have to ensure that they give their best on and off the pitch throughout the season to ensure a fair league.
Nobody can have any complaints then.
As a group we all need to learn from these type of incidents and if each club makes a small improvement then the league will benefit.
If we don't bother making any improvements then we will go backwards as a group.
I didn't see the pitch in Monard so I'm not going to judge anyone on this incident.
Also, sh1t happens sometimes and mistakes can be made - we will all put up our hands and admit to making cockups at some stage
The difference in this case at Monard is that only one person of the 30 people there and others who saw it afterwards thought it was unplayable. The pitch was not perfect but it WAS PLAYABLE. Nobody should have that power, and there was a chance afterwards to rectify and the AUL didnt. This person is involved in way too many controversies now over the last number of years. Someone has to stop it.
Its done now - Lets keep Monard out of the conversation discussing Springfields league win. They wanted to play and it is unfair that there is a link to their league win. I, for one, thought their April/May schedule would have been too much for them but they delivered and won their league.
On the one from each division going up topic I think you have a good point Horse. We played Douglas Hall up in their place and whoever won would of won the league. One kick of a ball and one team were staying in the division and the other promoted. After a long season it must of being frustrating for them. We ended up with the same goals scored and same goals conceded in the end. Some of the suggestions on here should be put forward. Think it ties in with the not having anything to play for come last month of the season topic too if teams in Premier A are trying to avoid playing a playoff for finishing 3rd from bottom.
Just want to say well done to Springfield on winning the league.Played them 3 times this year.Nice bunch of lads to be fair and with the addition of one or two more players there is no reason why they cant hold there own in the premier.
Well done again lads.
Any report on County Cup Final. I was told earlier that it was appalling. Congrats to Leeside B.
Met a guy today who told me Shane oNeill won the golden boot. I thought the bookies had closed up on that contest months ago? Sharpshooter looked like he had that sewn up but must have fired a lot of blanks in the run in. Must be gutted! Reminds me of the tortoise and the hare race. Fair play to Shane, consistently good at this level over a good few years now, well deserved.
Shane O Neill did win the Golden boot. Scored 2 or 3 against Kinsale last week in league. Dunno how Holden was caught, very unlucky.
Fair play Holden, great achievement.
Congrats to Leeside on the County cup win. Delighted for Jeremy and the lads.
Congrats to you sharpshooter on the golden boot.
Fairplay sharpshooter, just shows you cant believe all you hear. 22 goals at premier level is top notch! well done!