Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: FAI cup latest

Model Club
    But you wernt there the other night which is what the discussion is about.

As fo elements,Ive been to limerick on plenty of occasions myself.

I know as much about Limericks circumstances as you do about ours but it doesnt stop you stating anecdotal tales as facts.

"Where in the name of God do I say anything of the kind??"(from your good self.)

I can't speak for Athlone or Longford but I reckon if the council built a nice new ground and made it available to us for rent, we could get significantly higher crowds.
    The rest of your post is childish heir splitting and what seems to be a call to others for help not to mention putting words in my mouth.

I am not just aware but proud that the right people had the balls and know-how to drag my club from its knees to it's present state so jibe all you want about the wrong people of 5 years ago-We got rid of them.It remains to be seen if other clubs supporters have the guile to do the same.I won't hold my breath with Limerick!

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Model Club View Post
    P.S. Acornvilla,

Don't kid yourself into thinking that was Rovers first team on friday.No Murray,Rice,Stewart all players playing their best football of the season.O'Nell also handed a debut to yoiung McGuinness while we were 2 up so its a tad unfair to say say what you did re Fenn.
    Fenn was brought to the club rightly or wrongly because he fulfills the attributes needed by the manager while playing a particular system,ala the unfit Dessie Baker.
    Oh and no need for "" in your last sentence.Top of the league is generally a good barometer as to who is best,second best etc......at a particular point in time.Should we are "best" come November when it matters remains to be seen!!
    I have neither the energy nor the inclination to get involved in this he said she said nonsense but it was a strong Rovers team, your manager in his interview after the game that he could easily pick that team if ye were playing Bohs. We were missing plenty of players too including those on loan from Rovers. Michael O'Neill and Trevor Croly were very ****ed off with yer display and felt ye were "very fortunate" to win the game. Let us be happy with our display, ye be happy with your win and let's all get on with the rest of the season.

I won't hazard a guess at what it will be, but whatever it is that comes along and knocks a sense of reality into shams fans will be a momentous occasion.

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    i was not refering to you specifally but to most posters who like to pass poor comments after they have been away.
    But i see you have done exactly as i said and not remarked on my substantive point about asking why is it that clubs feel it neccessary to obtain the services of bouncers when rovers come to town.
    but you are right rovers have nothing to defend because they are renting a ground fair play to them and the best of luck,
    Apologies if I missed something in your original post......Its been a busy day or so!!
    But I can't accept resonsibitily for other posters on this or any forum simply because they support the same club as me.

As you now seem to be aiming that question at me I can answer what you probably already know but want to hear my perspective?

I'd imagine clubs employ bouncers/stewards for all clubs but more for clubs with a larger away following.
    In general the stewarding in this league is amateur to say the least and this is reflected in so many incidents I have witnessed over the years-Incidents that should and could have been avoided.In Scotland,England stewards are trained and briefed on the day ahead of them-Here they are thrown a bib and carte blanch to do as they please.In England etc stewards are more like ushers in a cinema but here they don a bib and think they can throw their weight around.

Certain clubs take a low-key approach and imo this is the correct approach.
    Some fixtures bring out the worst in certain clubs when Rovers are involved.Dundalk esp comes to mind with a combination of our nuts,their own nuts not to mention the locals who only come for the inevitable confrontation.
    These clowns then mean that extra gardai,stewards have to be employeed thus sending the fixture down the tubes as an event.Its fair to say if Rovers didn't have the "element" they have that these tactics wouldn't be employed and we could all live happily ever after but it just isnt that simple because as a Rovers fan I can just as easily argue that if Dundalk(in this example)didn't have their own element then the same goal could be achieved.

I'm not going to come on here and say that Rovers have 100% friendly,fun loving supporters but we sure dont have the "element" some on here in their infinate wisdom say we do-I genuinely believe that 99% of Rovers fans dont look for trouble at games.Thats not to say that we dont have more who will jump in to a row for whatever reason-Most of these regret it after and chalk it up to spur of the moment mis-judgements or drink,usually both.

I've seen blokes who wouldnt sat boo to a goose on the other 6 days of the week turn into headcases on away trips.These guys arn't hooligans or casuals just ****ed up football fans who drank too much.

Its well and good people on here and elsewhere tarrring Rovers fans with one brush with their,with all due respect ,****ty away following.Its much easier to coral 10-50 away supporters than the large sometimes 1000 strong we can bring to grounds-Especoally with some of the older less fan friendly stadiums.

So I guess stewards are em/deployed when we're in town because of primarily the size of the support and secondly because of our "reputation".
    I just dont think high visible policing/stewarding serves anyextra purpose that a low key approach would-In fact sometimes it gives opportunity to create an issue when there shouldn't be one in the first place.

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I have neither the energy nor the inclination to get involved in this he said she said nonsense but it was a strong Rovers team, your manager in his interview after the game that he could easily pick that team if ye were playing Bohs. We were missing plenty of players too including those on loan from Rovers. Michael O'Neill and Trevor Croly were very ****ed off with yer display and felt ye were "very fortunate" to win the game. Let us be happy with our display, ye be happy with your win and let's all get on with the rest of the season.

I have given credit where its due to Longford for their gutsy display but I won't have an outsider tell me what our first team is.I see them every week,I know what his first choice team is.
    Of course it was a strong team-It was an away fixture with a quarter final of the FAI cup at stake.Most of the players involved have played a huge part in our season both domestically and in the Europa league.
    I am also aware that you were missing players but I wouldn't feel comfartable pointing that out to a longford fan -Just as the previous poster shouldn't have pointed a mis-truth for me to correct.

FWIW I,m glad you enjoyed your night.How are these selling in your club shop

1,104 Posts
    Like the proverbial hot cakes, bought two myself just in case one needs to be washed some time. Unlikely.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    I've been in Longford well over a dozen times at this stage I know the craic.

Short Memories LOL

Remind us all again Liam please about that day you were in Longford this season........................? Pot kettle black, maybe?

http://foot.ie/threads/136038-Limeri...re-Park)/page2

Having a chat about the FAI Cup here bennocelt, serious bizness

Still though, following people around t'internet

EDIT: Nah in fairness, I took my medicine for my own various reasons and didn't once even try to blame Longford Town.
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 29/08/2010 at 11:09 PM.

As fo elements,Ive been to limerick on plenty of occasions myself.

"Where in the name of God do I say anything of the kind??"(from your good self.)

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    I can't speak for Athlone or Longford but I reckon if the council built a nice new ground and made it available to us for rent, we could get significantly higher crowds.
    You realise how me saying Limerick would get significantly highers crowds is not the same as me saying they would get similar crowds to Rovers don't you??

It's not even up for debate, anyone who has been to Jackman Park would agree.

The rest of your post is childish heir splitting
    What's childish is people whinging about stewards "eyeballing" and "peering" at them instead of complaining about their own scum.

Larry Murphy songs or a "peering" steward, I know what would offend me more.

I am not just aware but proud that the right people had the balls and know-how to drag my club from its knees to it's present state so jibe all you want about the wrong people of 5 years ago-We got rid of them.It remains to be seen if other clubs supporters have the guile to do the same.

Chuck D Don't Believe This Hype.

I won't hold my breath with Limerick
    Childish jibes, blah, blah, etc.

That's FANTASTIC.

Is he running from the Mental Health people

1,104 Posts
    If that's real (I think it must be?) I have an inkling as to who it might be and unlikely as it sounds they would have pretty genuine connections to both LTFC and Rovers. Never thought I'd see such a jersey mind you.

That's not what the unedited post said
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

305 Posts
    That's FANTASTIC.

Is he running from the Mental Health people
    He"s running from both sets of supporters!!

Model Club

You realise how me saying Limerick would get significantly highers crowds is not the same as me saying they would get similar crowds to Rovers don't you??

It's not even up for debate, anyone who has been to Jackman Park would agree.

What's childish is people whinging about stewards "eyeballing" and "peering" at them instead of complaining about their own scum.

Larry Murphy songs or a "peering" steward, I know what would offend me more.

Chuck D Don't Believe This Hype.

Childish jibes, blah, blah, etc.
    Smilys don't constitute a defence of an arguement-more a capitulation.

You can search my many posts on this topic and you won't find "eyeballing" or "peering" typed by me.
    If you are upset by a song albeit sang in massive bad taste then you must be very thin skinned-but I suspect you are feigning being offended for the sake of your argument.

Again spitting heirs.Whats would the point in Limerick building a state of the art facility for local football fans if you dont at least aim to have the crowds we have over the last eighteen months.If a club thinks small time thats all it will ever be.

No-ones asking you to believe anything.You might be lucky enough to experience the "hype" i do every fortnight in person,most likely in a cup competition as the childish jibe you counter-accuse me of is actually my opinion that I dont think the people of Limerick have the appetite or desire to compete in the premier div.for the next 10 years at the very least.

420 Posts
    Smilys don't constitute a defence of an arguement-more a capitulation.

You can search my many posts on this topic and you won't find "eyeballing" or "peering" typed by me.
    If you are upset by a song albeit sang in massive bad taste then you must be very thin skinned-but I suspect you are feigning being offended for the sake of your argument.

Again spitting heirs.Whats would the point in Limerick building a state of the art facility for local football fans if you dont at least aim to have the crowds we have over the last eighteen months.If a club thinks small time thats all it will ever be.

No-ones asking you to believe anything.You might be lucky enough to experience the "hype" i do every fortnight in person,most likely in a cup competition as the childish jibe you counter-accuse me of is actually my opinion that I dont think the people of Limerick have the appetite or desire to compete in the premier div.for the next 10 years at the very least.
    Of course not we support or team in the hope we can stay in the 1st div forever. What a ridiculously stupid thing to say.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts

Still though, following people around t'internet

EDIT: Nah in fairness, I took my medicine for my own various reasons and didn't once even try to blame Longford Town.
    Not getting at you Lim but I was at that game, you were mad and agressive and were lucky you were playing the mild mannered midlanders, and not say............oh Shamrock rovers!!!!

22 Posts
    When is the draw?

Tonight on mns I believe. How much nervous excitement can one woman endure?!

salthill -v- gufc replay tonight at 8pm in the drom.

3,492 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    salthill -v- gufc replay tonight at 8pm in the drom.
    I think you'll find they need the drom in RTÉ to make the draw.

23. Thanks From:

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast