i assumed camp would of wore a pink gear![]()
I went to the Glin match. Broadford absolutely destroyed them. They must have had twenty shots on goal and missed a good few sitters. Glin scored with their first two efforts of the second half and held on for a 2 1 victory. Did Newcastle play well
Plenty of goals this weekend, very surprised at the Shannonside result anyone at the game?
Well ask me Tom, what did you think of the game yesterday?
Very surprised also with the Ncw rovers and shannonside result.thought shannonside would win.we played well,camp weren't bad thou..had good chances to score few more but never took our chances
Askeaton were always going to find it tough against the likes of rathkeale. They have done really well to be where they are now but their luck was going to run out sometime. Losing the two players won't help but it is a nice change this year than just having the same old teams fighting for the title
Saturday, December 19th
FAI Youths Inter League
Limerick Desmond V Limerick District 2pm, Clonreask (P O’Brien, G O’Connor, T Fitzmaurice)
Sunday,December 20th
Munster Senior Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Castleview V Newcastle West 2pm
Richard Hogan Cup Quarter Finals (extra time & penalties)
Mountcollins V Kilcolman Rovers in Abbeyfeale 1130 (J Roche)
Rockhill Rovers V Kilcornan 2pm (P O’Connor)
Reidy Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Killeaney V Rathkeale B 2pm (P O’Donnell)
Reidy Cup Quarter Final (extra time & penalties)
Knockaderry V Athea Utd 2pm (S Hartnett)
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Broadford Utd V Carrig Celtic 1130 (G O’Connor)
Newcastle West Rovers V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 (D O’Gorman)
Weekly Observer Division 1
St Itas V Glantine 1130 (N Allen)
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Feenagh 230 (M Houlihan)
Weekly Observer Division 2
Ballingarry B V Ballysteen 230 (G O’Connor)
Weekly Observer Division 3, Group A
Glin Rovers B V Newcastle West Rovers B 230 (C Dalton)
Creeves Celtic V Carrig Celtic B 230 (B Barry)
Ferry Rangers V Broadford Utd B 230 (P O’Brien)
Weekly Observer Division 3, Group B
Pallaskenry B V Bally Rovers 1130 (P Manning)
Granagh Utd V Shannonside FC B 1130 (S Hartnett)
Shountrade V St Itas B 230 (T Fitzmaurice)
Last edited by western gale; 16/12/2009 at 2:28 PM.
Good win for Rathkeale, really showing they're seriously up for it with that result, but I also think Askeaton won't finish up near the top either. Not too surprised at Shannonside, any time I've seen them this season they haven't been that impressive.
Division One has kept fairly open as regards a winner...
Glin have to get stuck in if they want to be seen as serious contenders. Great to see them win the desmond cup last year but to fall so far back this season because of the gaa its said to see. They seemed to be building a good team as well. The loss of sheehan to killeaney wouldn't have helped either. Its a pity because they were the only team that put it up to newcastle when they were dominating everything over the last few years......
4 teams pulling away there in Div 1, that will continue to be the case for the season, the bottom half teams in this division are not capable of beating any of the top 4 or 5 so they will all pick up points there, unlike the premier where every team is capable of beating the front runners on the day.
both divisions will be close fought but Div 1 will only be between 3 or 4, premier could be between 6 teams mabey 7 come May
Sorry hairy legs but i have to disagree with you about the premier. I think only around 3 teams will be involved come May. Too many teams are just not up to the mark in the premier. Rathkeale should go all the way wit the usual two abbeyfeale and ncw to push the them over the finish line. The likes of carrig, ncw rovers, ballingarry, shannonside, glin and askeaton are just not good to last the pace. Its a nice change don't get me wrong. It was painful to see ncw run away with the league last year so comfortably and easy. They could be a good bet if the rumours are true about a few of their lads coming back from oz and limerick. I heard their is at least 5. Power, butler, whelan, dave o connor, kieran o connor. Great players to be getting back this time of the year
i have to agree with ya...i dont think there will be that many teams come may..rathkeale,newcastle west and abbeyfeale will be the only teams up there come may..maybe glin..i heard that power is coming back to ncw and have whelan just back from australia also.never heard about butler thou...the two o connors are back from australia end of this week...rathkeale obvious favourites for the league at the moment....
Can`t see how Abbeyfeale are any better than the rest but agree with ye on ye`re other points.
What I was really trying to get across I suppose is that any team is capable of beating any other team in the premier on the day, if you had to go back to Shannonside or NCW Rovers or Glin looking for 3 points to win the league then I wouldnt bank on getting them, any team below the bottom 3 say, they might not be in the running for the league at the time through lack of consistency but they could still turn you over on match day.
In Div 1, the bottom teams are nearly a guaranteed 6 points for the top 4, I think the divide is much higher, no team in the premier are a sure 6 points for you
No??????
there is a big divide between premier and 1st. Still come the end of feb when we are half way in the league the bottom won't care as much as the few that are still in with a shout. Any thoughts on the weekends matches?