Who Cares?!
This is all too true though the scoreline tonight was a little misleading. We should have been 2 or 3-1 up at half time, missed a peno, hit the bar, keeper made a terrific save, McKenna fluffed a shot in front of goal. Fingal's second goal arising from bad marking at a a corner killed us. At that stage it became obvious we had nothing to play for. Probably our best defender McCarthy was missing as well which didn't help matters at all.
Went up to Saratoga, where my horse naturally won.
Misleading? Longford was brutalThe penalty was awarded after a longford chap decided to go to ground from the slightest of challenge. The peno was poor and easily saved. You hit the woodwork once, players kept slicing the ball in front of goal and Fingal wasnt even at half speed
Sadly we're not immune to slip ups either. We found it difficult to put away Mervue and Athlone, who we still have to face, proved a banana skin on Friday night for you. We're a single mistake from losing this title. Our squad only have experience of being relegated or no LOI experience at all.
Good man! Should easily have been winning at half time! For Paisley's goal the assistant signalled a free out! And ha, in the lead up to getting promoted ye are only playing at half pace? Can't wait to see your progression in the next two years! Lose the play-off, second/third next year, going bust the year after!
And get a few fans will ye?
Last edited by Keen2win; 18/10/2009 at 10:47 AM. Reason: stupid!
UCD no more have the title in the bag than Shels did a few short games ago. We've already dropped points to Athlone and Waterford for a start. Last night was the most nervy I've seen us play in a long while (although the Mervue keeper did keep them in the game; we ended up with 34 shots to Mervue's 5).
That said, I still think Shels have dropped points in them, and the ideal position for us would obviously be for the last game against Waterford to be irrelevant. Two more wins for us, and one draw for Shels would all but mathematically be enough for that (even allowing that Shels have to play Kildare on the last day)
We played at half pace and still beat you 4-0
We will be around for a long time yet so dont get your hopes up of us going bust, longford would be in more danger of that than us seeing that they have to use old programmes
You are not in a position to tell anyone to get a few fans now are you.
Less of the slagging Longford and Fingal fans, keep it on-topic please.
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
Up to second now with 2 games in hand over shels. Do Shels fans think they can do enough in the next two games to take back second or are they more interested in our attendances than winning the league.(Just a joke lads)
Yeah we'll get second at the least.
Lets redefine what it means to heal
I think Finn harps will get a result on saturday and waterford on tues and that will bring it down to the last game.
Dammit Lep, you've jinxed us to feck.
Hope not, i'll be sending loads of positive energy your way![]()
I'm more confident of us beating Harps now. We're no longer the team being chased and I think that will suit us.