Page 45 of 70 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League Season 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by Planners View Post
    It's been a while since I've been up against them - but comparing them to last years team they seem to have aged and the introduction of "younger" players hasn't gone as steady as they had intended - hence the reason they didn't really treaten contention this season in both the league and failing yesterday in the cup against " lesser " oposition
    Surprised not to see any comments from the Reds !1
    By Awhile do you mean about 3 months. they have aged alright but are still a good bit younger than you planners. as for sunday you win some you lose some. best of luck to ye in the cup

Bunratty 0 Rineanna 2

Rineanna took it tonight.
    They deserved the win and played better football. Bunratty had a man sent off for 2nd booking.

The sooner the rats get that pitch widened the better. Tis killing them. They coudn't get passes going tonight.

Work on the pitch widening has started & should be ready for next season.
    Rineanna should be safe if they get anything from their remaining games.
    Take it easy ! (and if ur getting it easy Take it Again)

Fair play to rineanna, they could have won it by another few goals tonight, they had 3 ruled out and also hit the post! it looks like its gonna go down to the final day of the season! as for the red card it was a poor tackle and could have been a straight red card!

thought it was crazy that bunratty kept playing the long ball when the two rineanna centre halves were winning everything in the air, should have tried playing a bit more football on the ground

Good win lastnight - took the game to the RATS who had no response - looked very average but maybe its because Rineanna dominated the game from start to finish - should have been alot more than 2 goals for a finish - can't see how they are at the top with that performance - looks like fitness is an issue but then again they only used the Astro this year - alot to be said when it comes to running the hills of Snn - - Question - Why would a manager play his midfielder in the defence and take off their most effective player on the night - is he { the manager } burnt out ? - -

Rineanna played well last night and got the goals to win. They needed the points to stay out of a relegation dog fight. If they played like that all season they would be in contention for the league themselves. I don't speak for the manager, but I would assume that the player in question has been playing well in defence and deserved to play there. Bunratty didn't get going last night but they still have the league in their own hands. If they win their final two games, they win the league. As you know Planners(Hugh), with your huge expanse of managerial experience, points on the board determine who wins leagues and who finishes mid table. You can't play well every game! You would need to ask the Bunratty manager if he is burnt out. Maybe you should manage a team yourself, organise training and select players for each game depending on the availability of players, then let us know how you get on. Rineanna deserved their win and I wish them well in the cup.

As you know Planners(Hugh), with your huge expanse of managerial experience, points on the board determine who wins leagues and who finishes mid table.

FYI - PLanners is not an individual opinion - but more of a grp that represents different teams -

We agree that being manager is not an easy job - jesus they deserve a medal for the amount of work done but its a long season and when your not playing week to week things can get a bit stale -

i think that bunratty have been the best team in the league this year and despite the result last night they should go on to win the title although lifford should gived them a good game

Fully deserved victory for Banana Rovers last night. Too many Bunratty players had an off night but credit to Rovers they played well. Will need big improvement next week to get anything in Newmarket. Looks like it could all go to the last day.

[QUOTE=CousinSylDolan;1143832]Fully deserved victory for Banana Rovers last night. Too many Bunratty players had an off night but credit to Rovers they played well. Will need big improvement next week to get anything in Newmarket. Looks like it could all go to the last day.[/QUOTE]

"Banana Rovers!" - could be the one ye slip up on !!
    Bit of a habit - the RATS having an off night when it comes to the important stages of any tournament !! i.e 2008 cup final

Agree with you Hacker, deserved to win last night. Bunratty didn't play as well as they can. If Rineanna play like that all the time, why can't they go on and win the cup. I think we all forget that it is an amateur game and everyone works, you can't always play well or at a high level every game. There are no easy games left for either Bunratty, Lifford or Avenue. Who ever keeps their nerve will go on to win the league. As for the cup, it is to close to call.
    Their will be no easy game for the four remaining teams. That is the beauty of cup football, anyone is capable of winning on the day, league position doesn't really count at the later stages of the competition.

Totally agree with you bd - best of luck over the next few weeks

Quote Originally Posted by Planners View Post
    [QUOTE=CousinSylDolan;1143832]Fully deserved victory for Banana Rovers last night. Too many Bunratty players had an off night but credit to Rovers they played well. Will need big improvement next week to get anything in Newmarket. Looks like it could all go to the last day.[/QUOTE]

"Banana Rovers!" - could be the one ye slip up on !!
    Bit of a habit - the RATS having an off night when it comes to the important stages of any tournament !! i.e 2008 cup final
    Coming from one whose team have their name carved into the league and cup how many times?

Local derbies can always go any direction and Rineanna have made it their business to wreak havok on the title run in for teams challenging for the title since the early nineties - nothing strange in that result. Avenue, Newmarket, Newtown and Bunratty have all been landed on their asses by that BANANA skin before (I'd say Avenue more than most have been cost a league or two)!!

ya rineanna have made it difficult for alot of sides and think they will have a good finish to the season.......i think it will definitly go to the final game of the season.....cup draw should be interesting

P W D L F A GD PTS
    Rock Rovers 15 11 2 2 37 15 22 35
    Olympic A 15 11 2 2 35 16 19 35
    Tulla Utd 16 8 2 6 30 25 5 26
    Turnpike Rov 15 7 2 6 22 19 3 23
    Mountshan 13 6 3 4 19 21 -2 21
    Hermitage 16 5 4 7 27 27 0 19
    Kildysert Cel 15 5 1 9 22 47 -15 16
    Connolly Cel 14 3 3 8 14 22 -8 12
    Kilrush Rang 14 3 3 8 17 26 -9 12
    Bridge Utd B 13 1 4 8 15 30 -15 7

Two 0-0 draws at the top of the 1st division league last night. Olympic look by far the best team in that league to me, but good to see such a competitive finale to the season....
    Last edited by Stanley; 16/04/2009 at 12:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    They will win and it probably will be easy. Happy now?
    well FIRST looks like u got that one wrong did u go to point to point
    or watch one of the best clare cup quater finals in along time
    i think we surprised newmarket and everyone else wit the
    football we played,were lookin forward to the draw tomor nite

Quote Originally Posted by b777b View Post
    well FIRST looks like u got that one wrong did u go to point to point
    or watch one of the best clare cup quater finals in along time
    i think we surprised newmarket and everyone else wit the
    football we played,were lookin forward to the draw tomor nite
    Didn't get to the game. By all accounts it was a great game . I was told that Lifford wanted it more.
    All the best with the rest of the season.
    Last edited by First; 16/04/2009 at 3:33 PM.
    I'll update this next year.

well b777b ye definitly deserved to win last sunday and were by far the better and more hungrier team on the day.........ye won again last night so thats a very impressive 23 games unbeaten..........the cup draw should be interesting tommorow night, some very good sides left in it! some massive games in the premier this weekend at the top and bottom of the division.........does anybody know if the rule wit third bottom against third top still stands for promotion/relegation?

Formerly: vidic-class
    Congratulations to Newmarket Celtic B on winning the Third Division

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    ya well done..i believe they trained very hard this year...well deserved
    Yes well done Newmarket. Lads, what is the story with Mickey Madden? Is he for real? Heard after he got sent off yet again tonight in the Kilkishen v Manus game

Page 45 of 70 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast