Couldn't be there but reasonably happy with the result. Heard enough from others to suggest the game was fairly even. Gutted I didn't make it :mad:, I bet the atmosphere was something else.
Printable View
Couldn't be there but reasonably happy with the result. Heard enough from others to suggest the game was fairly even. Gutted I didn't make it :mad:, I bet the atmosphere was something else.
we should have won ball was clearly over the line from that corner...joke
we'll take de draw tho.....should of won it at de end tho but still take the point....big game now against sligo nxt week
Good result for ye there, ye deserved it, terribly boring game, neither side deserved the win.
it was over the line, people who were in line with it said it defo crossed, 4 th game 4th bad decision
have to say one thing i thought dave mooney was a disgrace he blatantly dived twice , cheating is not what this league needs:mad:
you missed nothing really very bad game.for a full house we made no noise at all very disapointing tbh.best moment for me was about 3 seconds in and barrett halfed someone cant remember who it was:Di was behind the linesman when the corner came in i dont think it crossed the line,
from the corner bout ten min from the end. all in all fair to say rams were the better team and city were delighted to be leavin with a draw. one thing that annoyed mr tho was the ammount of times decisions went against us because we were the 'weaker' team..foley on the line was his usual self with his crazy calls that only he could see.
2 points lost IMO.
I thought Kevin Murray was Man of the Match by a mile. He was brilliant.
City were very poor. Mick Devine had a nightmare first half but by jesus he made up for it when he clawed Dubs shot out of the top corner. Dave Mooneys is a cheat and John O'Flynn......was he playing?????:D
i agree, think kevin murray was outstanding again, really stood up to it last night, the hole back 4 were top class. We left Reilly too isolated IMO himself and Cummins ran their balls off all game commitment levels at 100%, Dave Mooney disgusted me, he dived in the first half didnt get booked dived in the second and did wheres the consistency, alan kelly couldnt justify buttimers decision there. City at times showed their class, Ive said it before and ill say it again, Joe Gamble is the best player in the league, hes a joy to watch, City showed their class at times but they never really scared us bar georgies two shots. Devine for all his nerves showed he is a top top class keeper that save was unbelievable, hes also class. Great crowd too.
joe jamble :) best player in the league by far
Whats wrong with ya, he was class last night and all the city fans said he was quiet, come on, the mans head and shoulders above any of our midfield, FACT, whatever bout the rest of city, i refuse to play the rival thing with gamble, hes a differet class to any opposition player in StColmans in past few years. Hes a player id pay to watch.
pat mc court for one, gamble is probably one of the better players but certainly isnt the best, good game though,
liam kearney was man of the match for city, two goalkeepers were outstanding and made some top class saves last night, couldve been 4-5 goals if they werent on top of there game,
now that everone has had thre fill of city, it onwards to sligo next week where we have an excallet oportunity to get our first 3 points on the board, cant wait
lads the truth is if we had gamble in the centre of our midfield we would be a serious force good at the back good wide and up front but kearney and barrett are not up to the pace looking for too much space and time and their reactions are not quick enough for top league, maybe they will develop but at the mo not really doing it for us
know i will get slated but it is a pity we did not sign greg o halloran
One moment stands out for me in the game:
When the Cork City fans had their flares taken off them by security and the security guard who took the flares threw the flares on the ground only for them to bounce onto the big Cork City flags and set them on fire.:D:D
Joe gamble can control any game from start to finish. fair enough he didnt do a whole lot last nite but he'd walk into any team in ireland. good result considering there wasnt many chances and both teams played fairly poor. Great to get the real local derby back!!
My opinion from last night. http://www.ordinaryloaf.blogspot.comQuote:
The 1630 train to Cobh is now a bus
"For people wishing to board the 1630 train to Cobh, your train is now a bus" came the call at 1629 at Kent Station.
Not long after some of us were on our way to Cobh (is queenstown even a term of abuse anymore?), while others had to wait til 5.
A stroll up from the train station to the square and the most enjoyable part of a abysmal evening was to be had in the Lusitania. "Cork Celtic here today, Cheaper than yesterday." was a tuneless chant sung by a local. Anybody know what he was on about?. Another local decided to stand up for her territory as Ronaldo put United one up on the box with a beautiful goal. "Lalalala, you're like ****ing tellytubbies. Get some words in your songs at least."
Next stop - Food. Then greeted by a mong who tells be Georgie should be sent to the Koreans. Anybody get it? No?
(A hell of a walk to the ground isn't it? That is some hill.)
The game itself was dire. I've mentioned it before and I'll echo my sentiments again. George O'Callaghan is a top player, he's not a winger and is only effective in the middle hence why he had our two best chances in the last few minutes when he moved in to the middle. The problem lies with dropping Healy who has played well n the last 3 games. Healy is quite similar to Gamble and I'd rather pay Gamble than Healy. Pat Sullivan can play right midfield (he told me once upon a time it was his favourite position last week) so why not drop Healy and provide more balance in midfield?
Mooney was a embarrassment for the club last night after his diving exploits. He showed no effort at all. O 'Flynn is not up to it. Behan is just Behan. Maybe move Georgie up front with Mooney?
I berated Lordan last week but he was much improved last night. The back four are just the back four! It's the rest that needs sorting. The quality is there but the balance is not. Matthews will be under pressure unless we win the next few games and it's a necessity that he sorts out the team.
It's a pity that at the closer away games all the mongs go. Much prefer going to games that are miles away, where the abuse is non existent and the creche don't travel. Some of our fans are an embarrassment. One knob in particular deserves a description. He must of been 16 at most. This is the knob who held a flare and then lit another one straight after. Why bother in a fire hazard tin shed when the games is a dire 0-0? He decided to chant part time *******s before hand. I guess the new breed weren't supporting us when we were part time, he probably didn't even realise part time outfits outnumber full timers in the league.
Another "top green" next to me decided to shout abuse at Georgie for coming home from Ipswich. Then Devine for his poor kicking. Gamble received a barrage of abuse in the second half for dribbling past half a dozen Cobh players. The worst was reserved for Farrelly, the ultimate creative player. He might not be the fittest but he can control the play superbly. "would you like some fries with that Gareth". The moron then proceeded to shout abuse at Matthews "Do you want us to win at all with the fat ******* on the pitch"
You fan are an embarrassment
it was a great thing to see, we've all been waiting for it for so long. i thought conor meades shoot to the top corner was going to be our cracking late winner, fair dues to divine, could ya imagine if we got a winner like that. the place would have went gaga.:)
Click Here
and
Here
whatever about us , nobody expects us to do anything, city were hyped up as league contenders already they are 8 points off the lead, the pressure must be coming on matthews
he was over my shoulder for the first half and him and mojo were knocking out all the football analogies they could lay there hands on , it was like standing next to lawro and hansen
it was along walk from top to toilets with a full tank , so i ended up on the northbank for the second half
excuses, excuses, blaming the pitch. if the pitch was so bad why would ya play it across your box. the fact is that the ref said after the pitch inspection that the pitch was in good condition.:p
alan mathews has gone up in my opinion as he blatently refused to blame the pitch. murray was like a rock in defence, everyone in the team played very well.;) city didnt have any clear cut chances.