I think this will be a 1:0 win for Dublin City with Ger McCarthy getting the goal.
Very optmistic but the Cork game will have given the lads a lot of confidance and I reckon they will leift their games again for the Derry game.
Printable View
I think this will be a 1:0 win for Dublin City with Ger McCarthy getting the goal.
Very optmistic but the Cork game will have given the lads a lot of confidance and I reckon they will leift their games again for the Derry game.
With all due respect Derek, you must be mad to be expecting a 1-0 win against Derry.
While a blind monkey randomly jabbing a pin into a list of possible results would probably record a higher success rate than Derek's prediction threads, I'm not sure how the act of backing one participant in a two-horse race could possibly be construed as "mad."
What if one of the horses was an outstanding thoroughbred and the other was a pony with three legs?Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheridan
Then they wouldn't be in the same race, literally or allegorically. Worse teams than City beat better teams than Derry all the time.Quote:
Originally Posted by Poor Student
Sometimes, not all the time.
Was a little impressed with your defence at the Cross so i think ye can just hold out for a scoreless draw.
The back four will really have to be on their game alright if we want to get any sort of result. I can't decide whether it's a good or a bad thing that Deery are on such a good (and busy) run of form. Personally I don't think there'll be many goals, we'll have to improve our set pieces...One goal either way I'd say.
Ten minutes away from looking really silly!:eek:Quote:
I knew once I made this post I had handed them the win.:o :o
Egg on your face.Quote:
Hands up. I'm having my humble pie as I type. Fair play to City, good result.:ball:
He wasn't that mad after all.:) What sort of crowd was there I wonder?Quote:
First stumble by the big 4 this season so!
By the way Derek, can I have your predictions for the Euromillions tomorrow?:)
I can't believe I got the goal scorer wrong:DQuote:
Originally Posted by Derek
We are not going to be whippings boys this season, another great performance for the boys in blue. I spotted a few premier managers at the game tonight and I reckon they all know now they have there work cut out if they want to beat the Dubs this season!
You underestimate the power of the Dubs.Quote:
Originally Posted by pete
About 250/300ish. Maybe moreQuote:
Originally Posted by Rebal Boy
The Daily Star said 275. Thats very poor for a Premier Division match. How does the club surive with those sort of gates????:confused:Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek
It was the same if not worse last year. I remember going to a Ramblers game against Dublin City up in Richmond park last year and we nearly out-numbered them and there was only about 50 of us. Cant understand how theyre surviving they must have good sponsorship. They do have a small group of very loyal fans though which is good to see.
Theirs one thing I don't understand about Dublin. It has 1million people living there. Thats 1/4 of Ireland population. It has 6 LOI clubs and they all stuggle to get crowds at matches. Its a shame to see. :( I was in Dalymount for the City- Bohs game on Oct31st last. City won 2-1 and atleast 1000 of those were from Cork.Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Duffer
Well we did out-number them the last time we played them, in Richmond Park.Quote:
If the attendance was about 250/300, then Premier Division footie hasn't made much difference for CHF.
Dublin is strange. It's kind of a mish-mash of people from all over the country. There are fairly few genuine Dubs around. You have a lot of first- and second-generation Dubs about who just don't have any sort of loyalty to a club, who live in a very samey housing estate and just go about their daily lives without getting overly involved in community and all that - kind of the same problems Kildare County are experiencing attracting fans; lots of people live in Kildare, but a hell of a lot commute to Dublin, so they don't feel a community attachment. It's different in large country towns/small cities like Sligo, Cork and Derry. There's a broad community identity there. I can vouch for the Dublin issue myself (though those who know me will say I'm a freak example!) - I've lived here 22 years now (out of 26), but if pushed, I wouldn't consider myself from Dublin as I'm originally from Kerry and my family's from Tipp. It's very hard to see what to do about it.Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebal Boy
This has got to be nominated for POTMQuote:
Originally Posted by pineapple stu
Appreciate the recognition. It's not easy sometimes but we are moving in the right direction, just ahve to keep plugging away.Quote: