does anybody know if there is any extra security measures in place for the cup match ?
we need extra gardai for a start,4 or 5 won't do.
the scenes at the last game cannot be repeated.
Printable View
does anybody know if there is any extra security measures in place for the cup match ?
we need extra gardai for a start,4 or 5 won't do.
the scenes at the last game cannot be repeated.
from what i've been told, the club have requested 50 stewards from the fai or rovers fans will not be allowed into the ground.
i know some people think this is not possible, but flancre park is private property after all.
I think the FAI ae providing extra security plus I would think there will be significantly more gardai
Get real FFS. Maybe the fact that you have to split the gate would prompt such a stupid move. It would be Health and Safety insanity to lock out a potentially very large away support. Even Longford Town aren't that thick... or are they?Quote:
Originally Posted by max power
I dont think it'll come to that. It's just a case of getting the FAI to take responsibility for security, which will probably suit ye too
here is a strange idea, if ya don't like it stay at.....eh home....
sorry but after the trouble of the last game money is not the main worry, health and safety is, of our fans within the ground.
having a half build ground for 3 years is thick, letting scum ruin the name of your club is thick......look closer to...home ( if ya had one ) before mentioning our club.
There's no way they can stop Rovers fans coming in anyway. Unless it's all ticket, with none on sale on the day, Rovers fans without colours will always get in.
Secondly, we need the money from the gate too much to consider a ban.
Thirdly, how many complaints about the stewards in Flancare does it take for Longford fans to accept that trouble isn't necessarily the fault of the away fans?
Certainly at the league game, if the Rovers fans had been let down the other end there would've been no trouble, and whatever about the incident that started the fighting, some stewards hardly helped calm the situation and infact repeatedly inflamed it.
macy why should they be let move ?? ya can't move in any other league, english, spain, italy.....away fans are put in a certain area.....just as we are in richmond when we play them....ya don't see us fighting about it..
sorry macy yes you can ban ANYONE from private property, simple legal fact....the money would be nice, but a stand needs to be taken by some club about the thug element within rovers, and why not us.
Yeah our stewards can over-react alright but as regards last time the Rovers fans were told to stay behind the goals why did they insist on going down the other end, whats the point in having segregation if its just ignored. Thats just a small issue.I would think they'll all be let in the far side with our fans either going behind the goals or in the main stand
Section O ????????Quote:
Originally Posted by Longfordian
They may have to have another temporary home for the night, dont think its been decided yet though
on a seperate but slightly releated issue, will Section O have to move for the league cup final also....
Dont know but I would guess they won't..
Segregation? You are taking the píss. A properly segregated area would mean no mixing between the fans. Not keeping them in an area that Town fans have to walk past (and vica versa if we're giving them the section O side) to go the jacks etc.
If we are going for the psuedo segregation, why give in to the trouble and let them move in the end? If it was that big an issue, the stewards and guards shouldn't have given in. If it wasn't that big an issue (as it isn't for every other club in the league), then they should've been let move in the first place and then there wouldn't have been any trouble. As far as I can remember they have been let move before, so why stop it for that game?
tbh It seems to me that it's all about people in the club/stand getting on the high horse - "they should do what they were told", when the people down the section O side had no problem with them changing ends, even after the trouble. I didn't see anyone move around the ground as a result of the Rovers fans being let down.
To me, the bottom line is either get the ground sorted so that proper segregation is doable - Seperate Entrance, Seperate Jacks, Seperate Shop, or treat the away fans with respect and let them swop ends if they want. The Club/Stewards/Guards let Rovers reputation proceed them, and made sure they got what they expected.
some good points there macy, but the simple fact remains that there was no seperate shop, etc for me either in richmond.....we are not the only club in this boat and improvments are needed.
the league cup final will be another one, will the away support be given a specific area, for example will section O have to move again, given the night and the athmosphere thatis needed that would be a crying shame.
plus the ground wasn't the only place rovers "fans" caused trouble on their last visit...but proper stewerds and training for them is needed badly in flancare and other EL grounds.
one question i would ask is what are the rovers board doing to stop this element with in their club, little from what i can see.
There is a separate gate and there will be separate jacks and shop in place as there was for the UEFA game. The club wasnt blameless but it wasnt all their fault either, it wasnt handled right but hopefully it will be in future
lads i thinks its pointless who was/is to blame.
i have my own thoughts on it but the point should be that in the interest of safety that adequete security must be in place.
what longfordian has said regarding separate areas should help but the personnell must be there in case people(rowdies,from either side)show up looking for a digging match
Contrary to popular belief Rovers fans don't "show up looking for a digging match" but when we are treated like scum we tend to react whether this is in Cork, Longford or anywhere else. The constant high horse nonsense from other fans doesn't help and only reinforces our seige mentality.
Check out my signature, it's there for a reason. Personally I hope and expect that there will be zero trouble on Saturday, my only worry is your new found form and our total crapness. :(
you don't care, thats the problem...what have your club done to root out these guys, i have heard they are involved in the 400 club so the club wont turf them out...Quote:
Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
its amazing rovers never cause trouble at home ( no pun intended ), maybe someone might see them and something would be done...
they are a club with a lot of history and its a pity this element is destroying the good name of rovers, maybe if the fans actually cared instead of backing up this scum element, then the problem could be solved for good.
Christ Almighty!! It's like talking to a brick wall. :rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by max power
Macy, have a word with this chap will you?
I believe a number of recognised trouble makers are banned from Richmond, that was part of the deal to let Rovers back in. Shouldnt be that hard to spot them at away games either, but I have to agree that we cause a lot of our own problems with them, as I'd imagine other clubs do too, in terms of handling them right
typical response, ignore all i asked. Me and Macy having a chat, not likely. ;)
why should we have to handle them, we don't have to "handle" shels or cork. But our stewards are badly trained, if trained at all.
Quote:
if you check my post it says quite clearly from EITHER side.
absolutely no high horse in sight here i can tell you.
yeah i heard your more of a pram man :DQuote:
Originally Posted by the 12 th man
I try to avoid him WAR, tbh....Quote:
Longfordian, I tried not to imply it was all the clubs fault, infact I'd put it down to individual stewards/ guards as much as anything. However, the stewarding has been a constant complaint since our second season in the premier and has severally effected goodwill towards the club. There's been less trouble at previous Rovers matches in Flancare than there's been against Bohs, yet it's still Rovers Scum this, Rovers Scum that. IMO the alledged trouble involving Rovers fans in Tarmon totally influenced their treatment in the ground, and had people "up" for the trouble.
IMO, it's very hard to ban individuals from any club without prosecutions and banning orders (are they even over here?). They only work in England as they're made to sign in at a Police station at kick off time, although most grounds have a CCTV set up similar to the one the bogballers where going on about last week (if though they're the only ground in Europe to have a set up like that :rolleyes: ) Whatever about banning people from Richer, I remain to be convinced how it would operate league wide, and an totally against any bans without the offence being proven.
Thats a very good point about the alleged trouble in Tarmon, it did put some stewards and Gardai on edge before the match now that I think of it. I suppose banning people from your ground for no reason except that they misbehaved at another ground wouldn't really be enforceable legally, I was thinking more of them being pointed out so you could keep an eye on them. To be honest I'd prefer to just look forward to the football match which given our improving form should give us a real chance of making the quarter finals again this year..
Banning someone from the ground is enforceable, for any reason you like. I'm sure you have seen the phrase "the management reserve the right to refuse admission", it's probably on most tickets to anything you have tickets for. Although no matter how right you might be banning an individual supporter from any club, the reality is that it could cause more trouble if his (or her) buddies find out.Quote:
Originally Posted by Longfordian
Why should I be brave or otherwise, I don't have an illogical fear of Rovers fans! I have no more problems with Rovers fans, than with any other clubs. If they were treated the same as every other club that comes to Flancare, there wouldn't have been trouble the last time. If stewards hadn't kept going back in for more the trouble would've been over far quicker the last time too. If the guards had been nicking people that day, there would be Longford people charged as well as Rovers.Quote:
Originally Posted by Cop on
Bully boy tatics are what has tarnished the clubs image - everyone's impression of Rovers maybe of hooligan fans, but equally everyone's image of Longford is of over zealous stewards.
The opinion of people that side of the ground that day was "what were they doing not letting them through in the first place". That was people that would have to "suffer" them walking past us. It seems the people who have the biggest problem with all this are the yes men in the stand who won't/weren't anywhere near it in the first place.
[QUOTE=Macy]
everyone's image of Longford is of over zealous stewards.
QUOTE]
well said, heard it from fans of a lot of clubs.
That's right, every club comes to Longford looking for trouble. Including Galway who actually head east looking for trouble, or Derry who are coming South. What exactly did all these fans do to provoke the stewards? Mind you, they're right to be scared cos we have so many problems with the Dubs in McDowells/the Bohs Bars/The Shels bar etc. Can't set foot in them without being attacked. No wonder the stewards have to be vigilant.Quote:
Originally Posted by Cop on
Wouldn't happen at OT, as the policing/stewarding is professional (and if over zealous it's aimed at the home fans :rolleyes: ), and United fans wouldn't let it happen. However, I see few of the "crack down hard on the Rovers fans" brigade volunteering to steward for the game, just as there wasn't a mass exodus to "protect" all the "innocent" Longford fans that were involved in the trouble.....
what?i go to the away matches with my fuppin dad and grandad and i dont remember causing havoc.Quote:
Originally Posted by Macy
cork city fans regularly travel to longford and as my away trips a re curtailed to 2 or 3 a season i make the most of them and indeed lonford is a good place to go to,if anything the stewards take the pi$$ outta me :)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfcman
read macy's sig........
I think you may have missed the tone of the post there ccfc ;)
Do you like my signature?Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfcman
Who is this "everybody" you talk about?? Iv talked to fans from bohs, cork, derry, pats (all clubs basically) in the past in Longford and never has this great hatred of longford stewards being an issue.. Only last week i met 3 rovers fans on the way into town after the rovers waterford game in richmond park and they we re planning they re trip to longford for the cup asking me for places to stay etc. They said how they loved the away trip to longford and thought it was a great place to go..Quote:
So please man stop making such sweeping general statements with no basis in fact.
And if ur seriously blaming the stewards for the disgracful violence/coin throwing/general hooliganism that took place the last rovers match then u must be having a laugh :eek:
sorry it doesn't happen very often but i agree with a lot of macy's points. even as a town fan i've had a problem with the stewards in the past, if you've been a steward what trainng have you had in crowd management and control ???
*holds hands up*Quote:
:o :o :o :o :o
did you get any training from the club or were you just handed a jacket and told, keep the peace ????
you seen at the rovers game what a lack of training can do.
Read the first sentence, pause for a moment to let it sink in, then read the second sentence. :rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by boots