http://www.u.tv/News/Bullet-death-th...c-6970d66d0dbc
At least by implication. Hardly surprising, but depressing enough.
Guessing their employer was the reason.
Printable View
http://www.u.tv/News/Bullet-death-th...c-6970d66d0dbc
At least by implication. Hardly surprising, but depressing enough.
Guessing their employer was the reason.
Hence use of the word, 'implication'.
A short length of pipe of appropriate diameter, and a cigarette lighter would probably do the job if they were being that cooperative.
The various news sites all seem to be posting minor variations on the same wire article. Nothing in any of them. Intercepted in a post office in Antrim though.Quote:
On a more serious note. Who knows what kind of a header is sending the bullets ?
Scum. Pure scum.
They should never have signed for Celtic! ;)
You have given this some thought and I hope not to be getting any bullets from you as you would include "helpful" instructions.
I am not going to go out on a limb to support the NI football team but untill/unless some proof is produced as to who sent the bullets then I won't jump to conclusions.
A surreal spin Sean. Perhaps UTV got a little carried away, citing the subject as such.
Sectarianism around the old firm? Well I never.
Return to sender.
No bullet for Paddy?
He doesn't get on for Norn Iron yet. :p
from Neil Lennon's twitter feed (it really is him): http://twitter.com/#!/OfficialNeil/s...09844853252096
Quote:
Quotes attributed to me in today's Sun are taken from old stories. I've made no comment on recent reports regarding bullets.
Aye, it would be a surprise if a current or past international (their rivals for starting places or the next manager, maybe) were sending ordnance through the post. It could be like Cluedo: Sleeping Brunty or Gargoyle Dowie with the lead pipe in the trophy cabinet.
Hardly footballing rivals (even a certain goal-keeper happy to affiliate himself to the UVF (last seen living in a caravan in Largs) wouldn't have stooped so low?);rather more those of the viewpoint, as highlighted in the UTV comments section.
When I saw the title I thought this was going to be about Bono and The Edge due to their connection to that awful Spider Man play on Broadway. Seriously, longest 2 hours of my life. I would have supported said threats 100%.
In the latest update, his was, er, intercepted in the post in Scotland.
Fair play to them for that.
Just another example of Irish people are treated by 'their own', simply by virtue of their nominal religion/culture. And employer.
You'd wonder why McGinn & McCourt would ever bother to go back to play in the North, given that's where these packages originated....
What sort of a comment is this?
When was the last time bullets were sent through the post to a Rangers official or player? When was the last time a Rangers player received death threats due to the club he played for? When was the last time a Rangers fan was murdered simply for wearing his team's colours?
It's as if you perceive some sort of equivalence between 'fans' of Rangers and Celtic. Let's be clear - there is none. 'Lazy' and 'unhelpful' are the nicest things I can think to say in response.
:ball: PP
It transcends far and wide.
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/ne...-15045326.html
I hope the deluded, moronic, flatearth "hard men" who sent the bullets in the post to Messrs Lennon, McGinn and McCourt are apprehended and charged asap.
They are enemies of the Northern Ireland International football team.
Fair play, NB.
A very Happy, Peaceful and Prosperous New Year to you and yours AB.
Will take it in the spirit intended, NB. And to yer good self & folks.
Well, at least until late May....not that that, even remotely matters.
Celtic and Rangers - "two cheeks of the same arse" as i heard it so eloquently put recently.
on the issue itself - it is clearly just some random, idiotic, insane nordy* instead of a sinister vile plot hatched in some Orange Order somewhere.
*im not for one moment suggesting that Ian Paisley sent them.
I'm not entirely convinced this is the work of the particular hue of nordie scobe we're assuming was behind these jimminy-japes.
In my (extremely limited) experience of northern loyalists they have sweet feck all interest in the norn iron team or anyone who plays/has played for them. Lennon'd have a bigger profile for sure because he manages Celtic so he's plausible -but McGinn? Don't make me laugh. It wouldn't surprise me in the least if the six-toed mutant ghoulbag behind this stunt came from (using inverted commas to emphasise this is the broadest, widest possible) "OUR" side of the fence. Way more to gain when a particular logic is applied and followed through.
Clearly the speaker was pretty ignorant on the subject.
The 'conspiracy' theory is a bit more plausible re.the bullets in terms of Irish uber-nats, but given the response in the Northern fraternity in comments sections and the like, the unionist constituency seemed remarkably defensive on the issue.
And albeit a while ago, they do have 'form' in this respect where Lennon, O'Neill and numerous other Celtic players have been targeted in attacks in Glasgow. Not to say Rangers players don't receive 'attention', but nothing to the same extent.
As you admit, your experience of loyalists is extremely limited. There are certainly loyalists who are supporters of the IFA team, who would have enough knowledge of certain players and their backgrounds. These kinds are often the type who support Rangers and have a hatred of all things Celtic. I wouldn't rule the possibility out.
I have never heard of anyone, in my experience, that holds a grudge against Paddy McCourt or Niall McGinn (or Neil Lennon for that matter), for playing for the IFA. Obviously doesn't rule out the possibility, but I would highly doubt it.
It was picked out in the Local sorting office to Celtic Park.
And only made the news 24 hrs. ago.
Alas there's plenty of evidence of people with NI paramilitary links attending football matches- overheard conversation, flags, even songs and web postings at a pinch. It'd be amazing if they didn't given their obvious numbers in the population as a whole locally.
I have no idea who did it, other than that they posted from Ballymoney (a predominantly unionist town). But if pressed I'd guess Rangers fans were more likely than Celtic.Quote:
It wouldn't surprise me in the least if the six-toed mutant ghoulbag behind this stunt came from (using inverted commas to emphasise this is the broadest, widest possible) "OUR" side of the fence. Way more to gain when a particular logic is applied and followed through
Your description reminds me of when the Irish Times used to advertise a separate, lower price in the 'Sterling area' (ie, Britain) ;)
Apart from the guy who's thanked you for this post, you mean? Not that I'm suggesting he sends people ordnance in the post, like.Quote:
I have never heard of anyone, in my experience, that holds a grudge against Paddy McCourt or Niall McGinn (or Neil Lennon for that matter), for playing for the IFA. Obviously doesn't rule out the possibility, but I would highly doubt it
As it was me who thanked the Pred there, not sure what you're implying?
And The Irish Times still does that, which you'd know if you ever read it....
Well, as PP says I would highly dispute that.
Have you even been to Celtic or Ibrox, or for that matter, Glasgow??
People wanted to give Hodgson the same treatment ;)
http://premierleaguebuzz.wordpress.c...-at-liverpool/