Sligo Rovers V Shamrock Rovers
Monaghan United V Dundalk
Printable View
League Cup Semi Finals
Tuesday 17/08/2010
19:45
Sligo Rovers V Shamrock Rovers
Monaghan United V Dundalk
This cup may classed as a mickey mouse cup but the last 4 teams left havent won a trophy for a while so would no doubt like to win it. Both games are hard to call i think, with us and Shams in good form and monaghan on the up and Dundalk on the slide lately. Should be an interesting evening.
Id tip Monaghan to beat Dundalk because they are just on a downward spiral and Mons are on the up and seem more competitive.
As for us and Shams, its so hard to call, id say we have the slimmest of advantages since we are at home.
Should be a big crowd out for our semi final, wouldnt be surprised if there was 3000 at it since we got 3000 at the first home game of the season against Shams.
Jaysus don't be tipping us, that kinda talk scares me. Any nuterals making the spin over to cheer us on? I know of 3 drog coming wearing mons colours! :-D
I have to be in Dublin on Tuesday evening unfortunately. I was hoping to make it down to Sligo for the game but it's not to be. Hopefully Sligo kick the crap out of Shams anyway.
Where will the final be held ?
More then likely rovers will be at home if there in the final.
That's what Derry said when they played us. It's a coin toss to decide, as far as I know. If, say, Monaghan get to host Rovers, that's just the way of it (unless Monaghan elect to change)
It doesnt really make a difference to me anyway coz i wont be here for it :( if it was in tallaght it would be a brilliant crowd.
But if it were in Monaghan, it could do more for that club. The crowd isn't always an important factor.
Ye that is true, sure they had in the rsc last year even though bohs were in it.
If monaghan get to the final I doubt the game would be played in Monaghan sure what is the capacity of the ground 500?
I know you would get a big crowd out in the other 3 stadiums but the fact that it would be rovers first cup final since moving to tallaght would bring out a huge crowd.
Bring back the two-legged final!!
If we got to the final expect 4000-5000.
Also id suspect if Dundalk got through to the final they would also have a bumper crowd.
So can you please pack in the "tallaght is special" nonsense.
Some info for those coming to the Mons game:
1. Parking is available at the Monaghan Retail Park on the right just past the turn off for Gortakeegan, (KFC sign visible from the road) and we would ask all fans to park there if possible and make the short walk across the road to the stadium.
2. The turnstiles will be open at 6.30pm as will the bar and as usual all fans are welcome in the bar. No alcohol is allowed to be consumed outside of the bar.
3. Prices: Adults €10, children under 16 €5. There will be no student or senior citizen rates available. If you are under 16 and look older, you will be requested to produce ID or pay full price.
4. All fans are requested to comply fully with the stewards.
Must say it's the first time going up to Sligo in quite a while not expecting to get anything from the game. Hopefully I'm wrong but I don't trust our players to be quite as up for it as the Sligo lads will be tomorrow night.
Whats the capacity of that stand?
just checked 560
has anyone ever seen an fai toss of a coin.
There is also the chance of the coin landing on it's edge. In which case the final does not get played and the team with the heaviest defeat in the whole competition get awarded the cup.
Or there could be the imaginary coin toss like last year where Bohs knew a bigger crowd would turn up in the RSC so sacrificed home advantage for a bigger gate receipt.
One thing is certain - if Monaghan go into the game with Dundalk with the same mindset as they had going into the Shels game on Friday, there will not be 22 players on the pitch at the end of the game!!
I reckon Dundalk will win 4or5 nil tonight
Also remember if Mons do make it, this will be their first ever senior final.
However, I just have a feeling it will be us v Rovers in Oriel Pk, 2 visits in a row for them within 2 weeks next month.
Which would be nice..............
Can we at least have one thread that doesn't descend into Rovers v Rovers nonsense?
Come on Mons...remember the spirit of late 2006...