-
France away 18 November 2009 - pubs, etc
Post any info on drink, nightlife and craic in Paris here. I'll keep a summary of links and what have you in this post.
For other info on the game, see -
Flights
Accommodation (hotels to campsites)
Charter travel (incl tour operator bookings, charter buses, taxis, etc)
The game (match tickets, kick off time, directions to the ground, etc)
Places (towns, internal travel, reccies, etc)
General (things to do, other chat)
Pubs
Corcoran's
The Hideout Bar and details
Meet up thread
-
Corcorans in the Pigalle area was great craic when we were there before. The area around it is a bit seedy which might suit some on here!
http://www.wcities.com/en/record/127.../8/record.html
-
It's probably been 4 years since I last posted here but I'm still living in Paris and am also mod of Travel forum over @ boards.ie so if anyone has any questions about hotels or pubs then I'll do my best to answer.
-
Guys, ptegan was invaluable to foot.ie posters last time we played there. Great guy.
-
My advice is just to keep clear of Irish pubs. I found a lovely Argentinian restuarant/pub near the Eiffel tower the last time I was over.
The cheapest pint I found was 5.50 and that was the 'take away' price. If you wanted to drink it on the premises the price went up to 7 euros!
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Guys, ptegan was invaluable to foot.ie posters last time we played there. Great guy.
A legend in his own underpants - Great to see your still with us brother.
-
[QUOTE=shakermaker1982; If you wanted to drink it on the premises the price went up to 7 euros![/QUOTE]
Yeah had the same experience myself 7 euros. Know one fella who was saying it was now 9 euros in some pubs.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
blobbyblob
A legend in his own underpants - Great to see your still with us brother.
Cheers !
Amazingly enough the site I put together in 2004 for the last match is still hanging around though with a lot of broken links.
I suggest using the Funkymaps site to locate bars in Paris.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Rafa B
Yeah had the same experience myself 7 euros. Know one fella who was saying it was now 9 euros in some pubs.
I'll do a quick sweep of the major Irish places places later tonight and let you lot know what prices are like.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
ptegan
Cheers !
Amazingly enough the
site I put together in 2004 for the last match is still hanging around though with a lot of broken links.
I suggest using the
Funkymaps site to locate bars in Paris.
Great site, very useful thanks very much. Considered staying in Pigalle area but as you point out (and as I remember it) it's a bit seedy so considering the Bastille area. You're prob sick of being asked questions at this stage but if you could answer a couple more I'd be very grateful!
- Is it easy to get from Bastille area to CDG Airport as we have an early flight on Thur morning?
- Can you recommend one or two budget hotels in the Bastille area? Cheap and cheerful once clean and safe is what we're after.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
eaststand85
- Is it easy to get from Bastille area to CDG Airport as we have an early flight on Thur morning?
- Can you recommend one or two budget hotels in the Bastille area? Cheap and cheerful once clean and safe is what we're after.
A taxi from Bastille will set you back €50 and take about 25 minutes
The metro + train will cost you €8.60pp and take about 50 minutes (Metro line 5 to Gare du Nord and then RER B to CDG Airport. You'll be comfortable with the trip as it'll be the same one you take to get to the Stade (metro + RERB)
If you're just looking for a place to crash for the night then try Hotel Baudemaire Bastille @ €69 for a double room (2 people) They also have a room for 4 for €100. Very close to metro and lively drinking spot (Rue de lappe). It's only 1-star so don't expect much (still a clean hotel though)
If you're travelling with a fussy mate or perhaps someone of the female persusion then Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Bastille (2-stars) @ €99 for a double room may be better.
Both prices available on booking.com
-
Hi Ptegan,
We have booked the two hotels below but will probably take the second one, whcih is the best location regards bars nightlife etc???
Thanks in advance
Aux Trois Portes
Address 44, Boulevard Richard Lenoir
Paris, 75011
France
Hotel des Arts
Address 5 rue Tholoze
Paris, 75018
France
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
ptegan
A taxi from Bastille will set you back €50 and take about 25 minutes
The metro + train will cost you €8.60pp and take about 50 minutes (Metro line 5 to Gare du Nord and then RER B to CDG Airport. You'll be comfortable with the trip as it'll be the same one you take to get to the Stade (metro + RERB)
If you're just looking for a place to crash for the night then try Hotel Baudemaire Bastille @ €69 for a double room (2 people) They also have a room for 4 for €100. Very close to metro and lively drinking spot (Rue de lappe). It's only 1-star so don't expect much (still a clean hotel though)
If you're travelling with a fussy mate or perhaps someone of the female persusion then Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Bastille (2-stars) @ €99 for a double room may be better.
Both prices available on booking.com
Thansk ptegan, definitely owe you a beer at some stage! :D:D
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Greenforever
Hi Ptegan,
We have booked the two hotels below but will probably take the second one, whcih is the best location regards bars nightlife etc???
Thanks in advance
Aux Trois Portes
Address 44, Boulevard Richard Lenoir
Paris, 75011
France
Hotel des Arts
Address 5 rue Tholoze
Paris, 75018
France
Address 44, Boulevard Richard Lenoir, 75011
You're about a 10-minute walk to Bastille and a 10 minute walk to the gay area (just in case that's your cup of tea). The area is fine and perfect if you were thinking of spending few days in town. The hotel gets great reviews and at €75 for a triple room I think I should send eaststand85 there instead !
The Hotel des Arts is a much nicer hotel, ideal if you're spending several days in Paris. It's a little bit more expensive (€85 a night) but it's Picture Postcard Paris, an ideal place to go for a weekend with that special someone in your life :)
There isn't that much difference as regards bars and such though they're probably cheaper by the Hotel des Arts. It's a very nice area, a little touristy but it's the one I'd go for.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
eaststand85
Great site, very useful thanks very much. Considered staying in Pigalle area but as you point out (and as I remember it) it's a bit seedy so considering the Bastille area. You're prob sick of being asked questions at this stage but if you could answer a couple more I'd be very grateful!
a crowd of us are in the Eden Opéra in pigalle area. should be grand, though 1 of the crew aint to keen. probably to do with the fact he'll enjoy the area too much!!
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
aidz1
a crowd of us are in the Eden Opéra in pigalle area. should be grand, though 1 of the crew aint to keen. probably to do with the fact he'll enjoy the area too much!!
Just don't fancy sharing a room with you!:eek::eek:
-
ptegan - cheers for all the useful advice so far. Much appreciated.
A gang of us have booked into the Vintage Hostel at rue de Dunkerque 75009.
Am just wondering how would this place compare location-wise and comfort-wise to the Aux Trois Portes & Hotel des Arts mentioned above?
None of us have been to Paris before so we are taking a stab in the dark with that place. We wouldn't be too well informed of the best location to stay in in Paris.
Thanks for any help
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Galwayman
ptegan - cheers for all the useful advice so far. Much appreciated.
A gang of us have booked into the Vintage Hostel at rue de Dunkerque 75009.
Am just wondering how would this place compare location-wise and comfort-wise to the Aux Trois Portes & Hotel des Arts mentioned above?
None of us have been to Paris before so we are taking a stab in the dark with that place. We wouldn't be too well informed of the best location to stay in in Paris.
Thanks for any help
staying not too far from there myself. decent enough spot with a number of Irish bars etc about a 10 - 15 min walk away. o'sullivans (non pigalle) is particularly close as far as i remember
-
Well the Vintage is a Hostel @ €26 a night for a dorm and the Hotel des Arts is a 3-star hotel. You can't really compare them as such. The hostel will be ideal if you're just looking for a place to put your head down for the night.
-
The highlander was a good auld spot from what I remember
-
The Coolin, in Mabillon. best irish bar to drink before and after the match.
for the cheapest beer, avoid all the irish bars and go to Rue Mouffetard in the 5th, its the student area, so way cheaper than your tourist areas like Bastille etc.
tbh, the best ones will be where everyone congregates, they're all a much of a muchness, but Coolin will open very late.
-
The last time you lot came over here a lot of the Irish bars 'cancelled' their usual happy hour 'cos they knew that you lot would stay drinking anyhow and didn't know that there should have been one.
There's a new bar in town (2 years now) by the Canal St. Martin which has a happy hour from 5pm to 8pm and all pints are at €5. They have about 6 beers on tap, Irish Bulmers in bottles and do food. They said that any Irish over for the match can get happy hour from 4pm.
It's a cosy place and if the weather is good then you can drink outside by the canal opposite.
So if anyone happens to be in the area (between Republic and Gare de l'est) then pop into the Cork and Cavan for a cheap one!
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
ptegan
The last time you lot came over here a lot of the Irish bars 'cancelled' their usual happy hour 'cos they knew that you lot would stay drinking anyhow and didn't know that there should have been one.
There's a new bar in town ............(advisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g187147-d1175897-Reviews-The_Cork_and_Cavan_Pub-Paris_Ile_de_France.html"]Cork and Cavan[/URL] for a cheap one!
Ptegan, can you recommend anywhere in the latin quarter for a decent breakfast ? all the cafes seemed same as same as coffee and a roll bit of jam for 10e :( - would of killed for a bacon sandwich
-
Corcorans on the Rue Saint-André des Arts. map
decent pub in a very touristy area but the breakfast is fine !
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
ptegan
Corcorans on the Rue Saint-André des Arts.
map
decent pub in a very touristy area but the breakfast is fine !
thanks, I suspect it might be busy, :)
-
One of the lads in my group sent me this link: http://www.hideout-bar.com/welcome.html
I sent them this email:
Hi. Myself and several thousand other Irish football fans will be in Paris from the 16th - 19th of November for the World Cup qualifier between Ireland and France on the 18th of November. I know that some bars in Paris can be very expensive so can you please send me your beer prices? Also, do you have Guinness? If yes, how much is a pint? Thanks. Paul.
To which I got back:
Hi
Thank you for your mail.
We' ve 3 locations in Paris:
Hideout CHATELET
46, rue des Lombards 75001 PARS
Open every day: 3pm to 5am
Happy Hour: 3pm to 9pm every days except thursday 3pm to 11pm:
Pint St Omer: 3.00€
Mojito: 4.00€
Hideout St GERMAIN
32, rue Dauphine 75006 PARIS
Open every day: 3pm to 2am
Happy Hour: 3pm to 9pm every days except thursday 3pm to 11pm
FAC ANNEXE
20, rue Censier 75005 PARIS
Open every day except sunday: 8am to 2am
Happy Hour: 3pm to 9pm every days except thursday 3pm to 11pm
Instead Guinness beer, we propose on all ours Pubs, Murphy's Stout.
Price pint 50cl:* 6.50€
Half pint 25cl: 3.50€
If you want, we can also private bassement space in the pub Châtelet 18th november (Wednesday). 3pm to 5am.
Do not hesitate for more information.
Best regards
Group HIDEOUT
Thierry DARGELOS
32, rue Dauphine. 75006 PARIS
+33 1 40 28 04 05
+33 6 74 69 20 56
We don't normally do the whole Irish pub thing on the trips, but they can be handy for a bit of craic for the first night of a three night trip, as there normally aren't that many fans around until the day before the game. These pubs look like a good option for the Monday night as they are not too pricey (relatively speaking), they stay open late (some as late as 5am), they have live music, and last but not least, Monday night is ladies night! It's nice to have some eye candy when having pints.
-
Those prices seem allright Paulie. Hope they stick to them! I paid €24 for 3 bottles of Bud in some bar in the Pigalle at the Rugby WC a couple of years ago.
-
PT were staying the Atel Aurore on rue clichy same as last time and the same area ive stayed in Paris anytime ive went .There is one fantastic bar not irish The General Layfaette I think was the name of it u wouldnt have the address.
-
Top stuff lads.Those prices in the bars mentioned sound very good. I suspect where ever you go were bound to bump into lots of supporters. anyone got suggestions for a meeting place on tuesday evening,:D
-
Ptegan
Great info,
Was wondering about the storey with cans. Last time with the craic under the tower, must of been thousands of us there. I hear there are new laws about drinking outside, but do you think if there was enough of us down there, they would stop us?
Cheers
Polster
-
Hmmmm.... I really don't know. The law was changed this summer but there hasn't been very many cases of people being arrested and this summer it didn't look like the police were treating people any differently than before.
I guess the change gives the police the right to step in and prevent something from happening (by taking your cans away) while in the past they had to wait until you were breaking the law first.
Of course this is all bull**** really 'cos anyone who has seen the police in Paris, especially the CRS, knows that they do whatever they like to you and worry about the "law" afterwards.
I don't think that they're going to hassle a load of irish lads who are enjoying themselves drinking cans in the rain under the Tower as long as no one else is being bothered.
-
I've mailed O Sullivans there looking for fixed prices so heres the response I got below. The one in bold might be an option for the meet up especially if they can fix the prices low...
"
Here’s the deal – we’re trying very hard right now to get some of our sponsors to give us some of the boys in green favourite beers at a cheaper price (tax system here on drink is mental ) so we can do CRISIS PRICES on a couple of things.
As soon as we know – you will !!!!!! * Other than that I can promise you that none of our bars will be putting their prices up – we never do – Drink is just a lot more expensive in Gay old Paree than back home – but like I said – we are working on it !
In the meantime for any of your mates that haven’t already got tickets etc – were running a draw on the radio in Ireland November 2nd to win flights / accommodation and match tickets for the game. So spread the word.
There’ll be promos on 2FM and fm104
There are 3 bars in the city center now – so take your pick
O’Sullivans café bar on the grands boulevards : 1 Boulevard Montmartre 75002 Paris – metro line 8 or 9 – stop Grands Boulevards
O’Sullivans by the mill : next door to the Moulin rouge : 92 Boulevard de Clichy – 75018 Paris – metro line 2 – stop – BLANCHE
O’Sullivans Rebel bar : in the Marais ( ner the George Pompidou center) 10 rue des Lombards 75004 Paris metro line 1 stop – Chatelet or HOTEL DE VILLE.
There you go"
-
ptegan, lets meet up for a pint in The Lollipop! ;)
-
Ptegan - can you make any comment on:
Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
93, Rue de Charenton
Paris
What is it like in terms of reputation/location - We have booked in for three nights. All advice welcome
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
ptegan
Hmmmm.... I really don't know. The law was changed this summer but there hasn't been very many cases of people being arrested and this summer it didn't look like the police were treating people any differently than before.
I guess the change gives the police the right to step in and prevent something from happening (by taking your cans away) while in the past they had to wait until you were breaking the law first.
Of course this is all bull**** really 'cos anyone who has seen the police in Paris, especially the CRS, knows that they do whatever they like to you and worry about the "law" afterwards.
I don't think that they're going to hassle a load of irish lads who are enjoying themselves drinking cans in the rain under the Tower as long as no one else is being bothered.
Cheers, pretty much as I thought it, a rack of cans under the Tower in the rain it is so :)
-
o'sullivans and corcorans are sh1te.
The Coolin in Mabillon, or Patricks in Faidherbe Chaligny, but that is a bit out of it.
-
Is McBrides not still going ?
(At least I think it was called that ?)
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
ptegan, lets meet up for a pint in The Lollipop! ;)
Alas the days of you serving me pints of G in the Lollipop are dead and buried !
I don't know if it's even still open...?
Quote:
Originally Posted by
magnumpi
o'sullivans and corcorans are sh1te.
The Coolin in Mabillon, or Patricks in Faidherbe Chaligny, but that is a bit out of it.
To be fair.....o'sullivans and corcorans are sh1te. They're tourist pubs and places that French people go to to be seen as cool. Now if they're full of people for the match then they'll probably be fine but I try to avoid them. They're the McDonalds of Irish pubs.
I don't go to the Coolin very often but it's the home of the Paris Gaels GAA and so I guess is more authentic.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Desyf
Is McBrides not still going ?
(At least I think it was called that ?)
Yep. Bang smack in the centre of town on the Chatelet/Les Halles metro stop, on the pedestrian Rue St. Denis, just down from the sew-shops and hookers. They've extended the downstairs and is probably the biggest non-chain pub in town and has been around since 2001 (I think).
They also have the best Irish Breakfast in Paris.
I'll contact the owner, Ian, and ask him about prices for the matchday.
-
ya i knew people would say osullivans was crap on the moulin rouge i ddint mind corcorans but it was too packed the last time so we didnt drink in there much.
To be honest the parad outside those pubs was great the last time, and there is a nice cafe across the road with a pool table(uneven) that is nice and always a bit quieter and its open till 7 or so, or basically when you stop drinking from what i can remember....
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
My advice is just to keep clear of Irish pubs. I found a lovely Argentinian restuarant/pub near the Eiffel tower the last time I was over.
The cheapest pint I found was 5.50 and that was the 'take away' price. If you wanted to drink it on the premises the price went up to 7 euros!
Steak house Shakermaker ? any details