Five games, five defeats...
and we can't score for love nor money. Although Dessie Baker made an impact (apparently) he's only here 'til the end of May and isn't a solution (not a long term one anyway) to our problems.
Playing Shels on Friday isn't a great prospect either and there's every chance that we could go six games with six defeats.
:(
Dessie Baker and the game last night
Quote:
Originally posted by UCD_4_Life
[BDessie Baker made an impact (apparently) he's only here 'til the end of May and isn't a solution (not a long term one anyway) to our problems.
Playing Shels on Friday isn't a great prospect either and there's every chance that we could go six games with six defeats.
:( [/B]
We have been given Dessie Baker on loan for the rest of the season. He cannot play against Shels on Friday as that is part of the deal. This is an excellent boost and i have to say, it is very necessary and i'll take my hat off to Doolo for pulling it off. We can't just go buying top name players, this is a big scoop. Last night, although in his first competetive game for a while, and slightly heavy, Baker looked a class above anyone else on the pitch. His hold up play was excellent and when he had the ball, he was always patient and intelligent with what he did with it. I think if he can develop a good relationship with the likes of Sean Finn, Whelan, Cawley, Martin, Griffin etc, we could start penetrating teams. According to a very good source inside the club, Dessie needs first team football which he won't get at shels for the moment. Fenlon was to offer him to a first division side, but Baker didn't want this. As long as he is happy to stay he will be there for the season, how ever either party can pull the plug at any time.
It's been a disastrous start to the season, and there are no easy games coming up, if there are any at all! I Hope Doolin uses the league cup games to straighten out the team and fix the middle and back. Baker will now be first name on the list. The feeling around is that Tony and Robbie Mac (who was dropped from the squad last night, for Niall 'Hopper' Donnelly, should start at the back. Darragh Ryan, contrary to what you might think was also dropped, not injured. The two were sitting beside us at the bradywell and i spoke to Robbie before the game, who was quite disappointed. Hugh Davey started at left back in place of Darragh. He had a good game. Sullivan was ever solid and eager to attack. The back four had a good game, we never looked like conceding. Niall Donnelly however was left standing by a Derry striker in the first half and put in an awful late tackle down below us inside the box. Everyone knew it was a penalty, but the ref didnt have the stones and gave a corner!!! He also committed a professional foul late on and escaped with a yellow. He played well, but i think he deserves to be first reserve.
As for the midfield, Doolo stuck with Micko on the left and Johnny (who is playing well, apart from the fact that he has had 75% of our chances...and our best ones in the opening games and barely hit the target) on the right. Johnny missed two sitters. Robbie Griffin looked commanding and calming in the middle alongside Alan Mcnally who some say looks a little lost at present. The midfield tho really didn't figure as Derry turned the game into a kick 'em game. Micko didn't look good, and in fairness, he hasn't really looked the part yet this season. The lads know how much i rate him as a so solid stalwart player, but he's not the man we need now, and i think personally Cawley has to be given a chance, starting the next few games...so again i say doolo...use the league cup games to get it sorted!
Up front, as i also say, Baker will start every possible game. Friday may become a trial to see who gets to partner him. Last night it was Robbie Martin who was kicked out of the game. Maybe Gallen would be a better choice, giving us height, maybe Griffin? Hopefully Doolo will find this out asap and we can just sit and watch, and start smiling for a change.
The one thing i have left out is that what everyone was quietly whispering about after the game was PJ. He was having a vey good game, but for the goal he only managed to push a free kick on to the underside of the bar, and when it dropped it was stuck home by Ciaran bloody Martyn! (I suppose at least it wasnt liam coyle again). People at the club seem to be running out of patience with PJ, unfortunately he is making a mistake a game, and with four defeats by a goal, it's costing us matches. We have no points!
So i stick to what i said before this game. If we have 6 points after ten i will be happy, however we will probably still be bottom of the league. A slow start cannot become a Monaghan/Kilkenny season, but if things don't brighten up, all of a sudden it'll be mid July and we'll be barely into double figures and looking at B and Bs in Cobh on the web!
I suppose although it's getting increasingly difficult, we have to keep calm, get behind the team, and hope that they settle and stop the rot. The important thing is to stop losing. The victories will come, but we need to start picking up points. We can't afford to keep losing games. Anyone who thinks we can do what we did last season has a screw loose. That was the bazza and clive show, and unless you have a few hundred grand to spare...that show is over.
C'MON COLLEGE...
Robbie Mac should play instead of Donnelly
Personally I think that McAuley has been exposed by Clive's departure. He doesn't have anyone with Clive's aerial ability to cover for his lack of it, for a Centre back he's one of the worst headers of the ball I've ever seen, at times you'd swear he was in the opponents box rather than in front of his own!
A Donnelly - Tony Mac partnership may be the answer especially against the teams that prefer to just hoof it up and hope it sticks.
Also where did yis here about Dessie's loan being extended? I can't find anything about it...