One what? Sky News? Sky Sports News?
If like to see the clip if it is available online.
Printable View
Totally agree. McCarthys development has been consistent with pretty much each year of his career and there is every chance a few top clubs will be sniffing around during the summer. I personally hope the Wigan team around him can improve and he stays there for another year or two. No need for him to be rushing off to a bigger club like so many have and regretted.
I doubt very much it matters to him that a few team mates are Scottish.
The Scots gave him a hard time at Hamilton, he's since publicly on several occasions committed to Ireland, so I don't see him going back on that. It's not like choosing a club to play for, it means a lot more to just casually change due to others around you(Clark didn't receive abuse from English fans and anyway he's stated it was always his first choice but they never approached him, I doubt Dunne convinced him to turn, I'd say it was more ''I'll ring the FAI and tell them your interested)
The only way he'll switch allegiance is if he has the personality of a S.Ireland, and that would be a 1 in a million
At this point while I admit he shouldn't have to address this every week, James could end all this with a 2 second statement reiterating his commitment to Ireland.
My biggest question is even if he wants to stay will he even get picked for the March game or are we going to have to deal with this for another seemingly endless amount of time.
'Extended' Trap interview coming up on the Nations Cup highlights show on RTE2.
this argument raged long before he went to england. He was playing for Hamilton with a team full of Scots, including McArthur while representing us.
Ray Houghton also about to discuss James McCarthy "in more detail" in a few minutes on RTE Two.
Tony O'Donoghue really is a slithering sh*t when it comes to after match interviews. Don't try to be coy, or smarmy, Tony, if you've a fu*king question to ask of a professional footballer, ask the bloody question. The question he put to MacArthur was cringeworthy.
Edit, I mean that in relation to TOD being a professional journalist.
Well if people run en masse down a blind alley, so be it. Which personally think is a little silly hence my comment.
But it's not intended to be overly personal!
As for McCarthy, like I say wish him well, but be amazed if he turns out anything like as good as you imply. Just don't see that level of potential myself.
Appreciate Gibson is nothing overly special, but even average players don't forge out a career for Fergie, for nothing. And much as I detest the man, he might just be a better judge of a player than most on here....
Kenny Cunningham the voice of reason as per usual.
Jaysus, that interview with Trapattoni has me worried now. He said that it's up to McCarthy who he wants to play for and he didn't say anything to encourage James. He said its the same situation as Stephen Ireland which isn't likely to make James McCarthy too happy.
Runaway train..............runaway train..............runaway train................
The lack of tact on display from some quarters in the last few days does beggar belief.
I don't believe Trapatonni rates McCarthy and does not believe he can do the job that Whelan, Green and less so(in Traps eyes) Gibson and Fahey. He is manufacturing a situation whereby the player himself makes the decision not to be involved. Same applies to his new view of Keane (especially after the Slovakian game). Annoy(bordering on ridicule) the player publicly and force him to make the decision. Hence the comments today about McCarthy and the Vancouver Whitecap stuff in reference to Keane. Trapatonni is a very, very clever man. I don't buy his bumbling Englitalian craic one bit. The bottom line is IMO Trapatonni does not believe McCarthy is good/disciplined enough to stick to Trap's strategy and Keane is past it. I strongly disagree on both counts but Trapatonni feels he can do without both.