He has, hall chairman quoted in the todays echo saying he has left. No loss to the league or Douglas Hall, better off without him
Printable View
Gobias i think if the hall did go and win the league you wouldnt be saying they were better off without him.. he has got the hall closer than any of there previous managers..Ye were raving bout him after the first 7 games.. So give him some credit,, Maybe its some of the hall players ye are better off without. Im by no means a fan of biscuits or his gobbie backroom staff but they done well to get them as close as he did
is there any way of checking last seasons league table cos i'm fairly sure douglas hall finished with more points last season than this season,it's just rockmount dropped more points.so if that's the case he didn't do a better job than previous managers.congats to rockmount on winning the league AGAIN
Totally disagree with you Glenbuck.Was at this game and after a long season for both teams, this was a fantastic game. I know it ended 0 all but both teams went for it.Douglas came out of the traps very quickly and could have scored within 5 mins.Blarney played their way into the game and had the better chances throughout the game.Douglas had a good chance toward the end but a draw on any other day was a fair result.
P. Keane and R. O' leary had monster games for Blarney while D. O Connell & D. Moore were outstanding for the hall.
Good advert for Senior league football.
They didnt win it so thats a stupid argument
I think he had the best Douglas team compared to other managers with alot of the players improving inparticular Strachen who had a great year and they also signed Varian from Everton adding to an already good squad. With the players he had he should have got them closer than other managers.
The league this year was also one of the weakest with the main challengers having problems.
Avondale:had management changes and players leaving leading to a bad start while also having the distraction of the Intermediate cup near the end of the year
Rockmount: Were going through a bit of a transition with it being billys last year while also having a squad that was older on their way out
Blarney: Going through a transition with new managment, new players and trying to bring some younger players through
Everton: Lost Varian to Hall, and without being disrespectful to them, they dont have the quality to challenge even though they were up there for a while
I didnt say they greatly improved this year.
It didnt happen overnight it has been happening over a few years so you cant say its cause of Harrington. Infairness he might have had an influnece on it but you'd have to ask the players really to find that out or have seen him training them cause I havent.
Anyone at the AGM last night? Any action re fines or the rule that we all have to have female masseurs next season for a rub before and after hard games?
what kinda rub clifford because if theres better rubs been offered down in fermoy you will have a busy transfer window :)..what ya thinkin about next season.ucc and carrigaline joining us in league;.i think carrigaline will be the dark horses.have to be contenders
I give up. Of course both teams went for it. Its a cup final. Both teams had chances but some of the finishing was dreadful. Pat had a very good game as had Ken Coleman but I felt Ray went missing for long periods. Would have to agree with you about Deccie and Moorsey. Throw in the other Hall centre back O Callaghan as well. As I said a poor game to be fair.
Blarney won oconell cup 9-8 on pens after 1-1 draw with mount. Keane injured after 20 min. O'connell & Howey awAy with Irish team. Beautiful day in crosser.
That about sums it up. Must say the wisdom of playing this fixture on a pitch overlooking Cork harbour must be looked after. Taking nothing away from Blarney but I am sure the players would be the first to acknowledge that conditions were not great (for both teams). I have been at the last 6 or 7 O Connell Cup finals in Crosshaven and it is certainly not a venue for an end of season cup final. Today was about other things for Rockmount. Well done to Blarney.
Well lads the day has come. All I can say is "best of lucky Billy". I will reveal my identity to him during the week. I think he has an idea. Once again Billy many thanks kid.
Turners Cross is probably where all finals should be played but the O'Connell Cup never draws a crowd so why not have it places like Crosshaven, Ringmahon or whereever - the pitch looked very good yesterday if a bit small but its railed off with top quality dugouts. Plenty of parking as well. The weather was nice if a bit breezy.
having more points means nothing mayfield.. they were still closer this year to winning the league because other team dropped points.. wat happens next season if ye go down and had more points than last season.. does that mean ye done a better job.. i doubt it.. anyways i hope thats not the case as i like mayfield...
the hall finished second last year with more points and also were in the three local finals
and the latter stages of the intermediate cup so maybe there was no difference between this year and last year, also this will be the fourth manager in four years does anyone know why this keeps on happening, are the players or committee to blame as much as the previous managers
only passing through dont usually comment but glenbuck I have to disagree with your comment about being a poor game, some of the football played, admittedly only at stages, but particularly Douglas Hall in the first 20, and Blarney also had good spells. Think the hall playing one man up top on his own killed them, as it did with Blarney but think coleman supported Blue better than deccie varian or kev mul did the hall striker. could have gone either way but as a neutral happy to see blarney get hands on some silverware
any news on who's taken over douglas hall next season,they'll have a good squad if they can keep all the players.it will be good to see how rockmount go under alan martin,will he play 352 will he lose players to retirement or move on,will he bring in fresh blood or use players from the clubs juniors and youths and put his only stamp on the team,what will dale do,will they lose players to retirement or move on,i have to say giving john cotter the job was a good move,they looked in trouble when caulfield left,cotter turned them around.i think next season will be very hard to call at both ends again
hall job is surely kelvins if he wants it got a young family i think? so that might be a factor..rockmount losing kinger and darren to australia surely be a few retirements aswell but the rumours im hearing bout the players going there would balance that up. avondale will be same again..the two teams coming up will have to add to compete roll on next seaseon
Winners list for the 2010/2011 season
MSL Premier Champions : Rockmount
FAI Intermediate Cup Winners : Avondale United
Keane Cup Winners : Douglas Hall
O'Connell Cup Winners : Blarney United
Donie Forde Trophy Winners : St Marys
Beamish Cup Winners : Blarney United
MSL First Division Champions : College Corinthians
MSL Second Division Champions : Carrigaline United
Pop Keller Cup Winners : Ringmahon Rangers
Player of the year, surely Ken Hoey - always looks a class act
I will go for Rockmount team of the year and Strachan (Ger O Donovan)as player of the season. I think he is a smashing team player.
I heard Henderson has the Hall job if he wants it! Team of the year Avondale, player of the year? Hoey/Strachan or Mark Sullivan Take your pick.
Any rumours about the MSL transfers?
lads who is henderson?? sorry if im showing lack of knowledge
team of the year would be.... as much as it galls me to say rockmount!! the way they were written off all season, but they showed real grit to get back in it and must be applauded for that ( though they owe douglas a huge thanks for folding like a deck of cards on a windy day) player of the season.. tough one, strachen, hoey, hoggy for avondale is underrated too, but i have to go for the lad midleton signed from cobh (chubbs?? don't know his real name) , heard he got 15-20 goals this season and played a huge part in them staying up and the cup run!!
From the Avondale website ahead of the MSL awards night on Thursday.
Quote:
Munster Senior League Annual Awards Night
The Munster Senior League Annual Awards Night will take place at The Kiln, Murphys Brewery, Leitrim St, on Thur June 16th from 7 to 9pm.
Avondale United will receive the following awards resulting from the success of the senior side during the past season.
MSL Senior Player of the year: Mark O'Sullivan
Special Merit Award for winning Intermediate Cup: Avondale United.
i can tell you now after speaking with one of the hall committee henderson and cambridge were never offered the job ,Kelvin Flanagan assistant manger wa offered the job and are awaiting a reply
Delighted for Mark sullivan after been robbed of a intermediate cup final appearance he is getting what he deserves
Also heard Avondale are stepping up there approach for plyers big time in the last week
[QUOTE=Glenbuck;1497794]Why would it gall you Villaman. Build a bridge and get over it. Marky Sull player of year confirmed.[/QUOT
dont like their style of footie glenbuck, thats all bud!! christ you you are biased :-)
Heard Willy Burn is leaving the mount to midleton due to the hassel of travelling also Ken Coleman going back to leeds would be hard to see happening but fair play to him if he decides it, heard avondale are close to signing midleton front man Chubbs after failing to sign him during the transfer window in january
Well done Mark O'Sullivan, class player and does it on the big occassion. CONGRATS again, nice fella. Some very interesting signings, two of them are old news with Chubbs (Ian Stapleton) to Avondale and Willie Byrne to Midleton. Bit too late for Midleton as Willie on his later years. Chubbs would be very interesting signing for the dale but its only all speculation. Alan Martin will have a few signings no doubt too. To be honest I love this time of the year with all the SPECULATION.
Its silly season punters heard Coleman is definitely going to Leeds heard Byrne and Gearoid O Leary and Clifford going to Midleton heard two or three UCC players going to Corinthians seems Rockmount and Blarney have a fight on their hands to keep their key players.
I heard last night that Avondale have approached 2 or 3 douglas hall players and big players in saying that .Also how can the hall have approached buttzy when they dont even have a manager ,
Willie byrnes isnt leaving because of travel he is leaving because he had a falling out with billy over not playing after getting fit and since he is living in cloyne would be the sensible option to join Midelton .