Mount win means there champs, A draw means a mount v hall playoff and a dale win means a dale v hall playoff.... Great stuff
Printable View
Mount 1 Marys 1. Alan O Connor in first half, Gareth Cambridge equaliser in 2nd half from free kick. Scrappy first half came to life in 2nd half with both teams having chances to win it. Never saw a team celebrate an equaliser like Marys did. ha ha
Brilliant.
glenbuck , just spoke to biscuits he said there is a van load of bottle being dropped from moneygourney to whitechurch if few of your lads need it :-)
oh and red and white what was that about avondale be more hungier better footballing and rockmount were average . ye looked pretty much the same .me neck is killing me from watching hoggy HOOFING the ball .Still think rockmount will win it best over all squad .Best of luck to all 3 .Cant wait
Fantastic end to the season cant wait for the last game
Id say it was More then an equaliser glenbuck , at 1 Nil mount are league champions ... Rivalry Still exist's in this fixture in case you didnt Know ;-) Marys should have won it in fairness , had 2 or 3 good chances.. Great end to season now , all to play for ..
That's the beauty of a derby
Avondale looked a bit tired tonight and lacked a bit if urgency for me. they never really troubled the Douglas keeper even though the did hit the woodwork twice. The pitch was awful and made it virtually impossible to play ball on.
it was only a piece of individual brilliance separated them in the end.
Thought dales big players went missing tonight. Fair play to Douglas.
Better team won on the night. Hall fully deserved their win. Avondale so called big players did not turn up at all. They had no urgency and let the hall pass it about especially in the first half. I was shocked to hear Rockmount did not take all three points. I would still fancy Rockmount to take the title but you just dont know which Avondale will turn up next week. I predict a few Hall players will go and watch it ha ha. May the best team win as I stand by the words "The league doesn't lie". Bit of a scurmish after the game with Mark O'Sullivan and Gareth Donovan which came of nothing. Its been a long season for all 3 teams so I bet they cant wait for it to come to an end. p.s. Biscuits to get the freedom of Douglas if he can deliver!
it's great to see 3 teams still in the title race with only 1 game to play,i'd like to see douglas win it just to see someone else winning the league.i hate people on here moaning about mounts long ball game,every team should play to there strengths and it seems mounts strengths is the long ball and there one of the best teams in ireland at it,just look at all they won in the last 10 years or so they must have 5 or 6 leagues 3 or 4 intermediate cup and they lost another 1 or 2 finals they've also won a few other local cups,compare that to a team that plays ball the right way like douglas what have they won in the last 10 years or so i think it's 1 maybe 2 local cups.i'm not a mount fan boy in fact if douglas were playing on the pitch next to rockmount i'd watch douglas,you got to give credit where credit due,it's not pretty football but it's work wonders for rockmount over the years
I totally agree with you Mayfield Utd. Those who moan about Rockmount are jealous of their success. I love to see football being played the right way but you need to be able to mix it too. Role on Friday week for EL-CLASSICO (Mount vs Dale). Should be a bruiser!
hopefully there will be agood bit of rain in the run up as the pitches need it or else it will be like the farce in avaondale park last night (the pitch). so many good payers on a rock hard pitch. i havenet seen much of rockmount the last 2 years but when i played against them many times from 1999-2005 in particular i would never have associated them with long ball.
they would want to up their game then as they could not seem to life it at all. they were trying dont get me wrong but i was beside the avondale bench and the distinct lack of urgency was unreal. i hope its only a hangover from the intermediate cup which would be understandable as there was hardly a voice raised at half time (avondale stayed on the pitch).they were yards off douglas at times and couldnt get goping fully. the second bite of the cherry as you say and a bit of rest might revive them. in fact it surley will.
either way its going to be a great finish.
i forgot to post that our lads beat midleton 3-1 on wednesday night,wayne mac scored all 3 goals,our lads out played them for most of the game,very good end to the season for our lads the last few weeks they've been excellent
saw ye a few times this year mayfield and ye are not far off from pushing the top teams if ye could be more consistent and of course just get those few more goals. 7 or 8 more goals could meant another 6-9 points at senior league.
i suppose tadgh will be busy on the phone in the summer. lol
Beat bandon this morn in the final of the pop kelleher cup 1-0.our captain got a great header in the first half.bandon came at us in the second half but we held on .great finish to the season after all the drama of the league.trophy is what we needed.hopefully we can push on now for next year.Come on the Ringmahon Rangers :)
Beamish Cup Semi Final - Ballinhassig 1 'Hall 2. They led 1-0 at half time. Deccie equalised soon after the interval. Mark Murphy scored a late winner. Another trip to the Cross guaranteed.
ya they seem to play well against the big teams and really bad against the teams they should be beating (lost 2-1 at home to mallow in the cup and mallow were the better team on the day),lack of goals have been a big problem i heard wayne mac finished top goalscorer with 6 goals,we have good attacking players in wayne mac,barry triggs,howie and 1 or 2 others but for some reason they don't score as much as they should wayne mac got 6,barry triggs didn't score his 1st goal till the everton match 2 weeks ago,he finished with 2 goal,and howie only scored 1 or 2 goals
billy cronin and kieran sullivan or finishing up after this season,steph hurley (ex rockmount player) said he was talking to kieran sullivan and he said this is there last season,and they'll be putting alan martin's name forward to the rockmount committee to take over as manager next season.i know this comes up every year but it must be true if kieran sullivan said it himself.
Blarney 1 Mount 1. Gone to extra time.
Who do blarney play in the final glenbuck?
Hard lines.
Was the game any good?
How come the Pop Keller Cup Final between Ringmahon and Bandon was not played in Turners Cross???
This is not the first time this has been the case.
Even Junior Cup Finalists get to play at TX
I think it degrades the competition when the final is played elsewhere.
ALL AUL finals are played at TX by the way.
Could it be the cost???
I hope not!!!
shilts i bet it was defo to do with costs.msl dont like spending the money for the small teams.they were even charging 5 euro to get in sunday morn.i know when msl use your pitch they give your club a few bob as a thank you gesture .they made nice bit sunday morn because there was big support there from both teams..traditionaly the final was heald in st colmans park due to the fact that pop kelleher was a cobh man.wonder are the msl in dispute with cobh or what because they could of done with the money.when every player gets to a final its turners cross they want to play in.thats the ambition from schoolboys up.not giving out one bit about blarneys pitch but i kinda think we were bit let down by the msl.any opinions
i dont think the pop kelleher was ever played in the cross much. i won it many years ago and the final was in marys park for some reason.
those competitions tend to be in the cross unless its down to availabilty but they have been played elsewhere as well.i agree that all finals should be out there but it seems more of a trend the last few years to move them about. the cross can be rented off the mfa for finals. figure used to be around 500 euro a few years ago but not sure what it is now.im open to correction on all of the above tbh.