I saw The Machinist last night on Film4. Rivetting.
Think its on that channel again soon.
Printable View
I saw The Machinist last night on Film4. Rivetting.
Think its on that channel again soon.
Yeh Ristard thought Machinist was good stuff.I went to see American Gangster last night not expecting much(dont know why!) but thoroughly enjoyed it.Crowe and Washington are excellant with Crowe in particular keeping his character nice and understated.Perhaps not a classic but a damn fine movie nonetheless.Enjoy.
Saw good luck chuck over the weekend, thought it was a brilliant film! Very funny
Agree with you Cheifo on the acting in American Gangster, some fine acting. The woman who plays the mother is brilliant. Love some of the music to, especially that song by Bobby Womack , "Across 110th Street".
Checked out the VIP theatre in Swords for the first time, €17.50 :eek: a ticket but it was worth it. Leather seats that recline, loads of leg space, comfy armrests and free popcorn/sodas. Beer and wine is also available.
Seen a new ad for Sweeney Todd - Demon Barber from Fleet Street with Helena Bonham Carter and Johnny Depp. It looks like half musical/half movie, some crazy costumes and make-up but what can you expect (directed by Tim Burton).
Seen some sad trailer for a film called 'Shrooms. Teens trippin' on magic mushrooms and something about a super mushroom from Ireland??? and a mushroom curse/legend. No thanks.
I got THIS IS ENGLAND out on DVD and was really looking forward to watching it but my damn player is not working.:mad:
I saw 40 Days of Night the other day. I'm not a big horror fan, but it's pretty good.
american gangster is good enough
I know Pete. I go to the cinema way too often to be spending that much on just one ticket... The VIP experience will solely be for special occasions.
I thought so too, that's why I felt sorry for John if he had to endure another 10 days of that film. That camera shot you mention was the only bit (other than Melissa George!) about the movie I enjoyed. I didn't understand why the vampires or whatever they were didn't do a thorough house search? :confused: I mean they have 30 nights to kill and they are hungry......yet they stand in the middle of the road waiting for fresh blood to just suddenly appear!!!!
I caught Stardust and Into the Wild over the weekend and I'd recommend both of them
has anyone seen swingers? Someone recommended it to me and it was the worst film ive ever seen.
I cant wait to see it! Might go this weekend. It was mostly filmed in the park behind my house and there is a "shack" in the forest that my brother built! Am wondering will his name be in the credits as he was one of the carpenters. Am soooooo excited! I met 2 of the lads who were staring in the movie while they were here. One of them is Max Kasch brother of Cody Kasch, who plays Zach in Desperate Housewives, Cody & other brother Dylan were over staying with him for a few days and they came into the pub where we were holding a fundraising table quiz for our womens team and they took part. I sold them raffle tickets and had great craic with them.
A Face's mate was the producer too and they used loads of locals as crew. Oh and my sons failed in the audition to play the ghost boy in this movie.
So yeah, am looking forward to seeing it and if its poo will be gutted!
Magicme>> Had no idea it was filmed in Ireland. Ya, let us know what you thought about the film. The only thing that looked remotely interesting in the trailer was the talking cow, very trippy! I love a good horror/slasher film!
Yeah apparently they are tripping on Shrooms and they start getting killed off and dont know whether it is for real or part of the trip.
Should be fun!
The Legend of 1900 / La Legenda del Pianista sull'oceano ....best film ever.
Directed by Guiseppe Tornantore, starring Tim Roth. Score by Ennio Morricone.
A must see film...
or "The Killer", a Chinese film directed by John Woo and starring Chow Yun Fat
My big screen debut* next week in good cinemas nationwide.
Well, the big screen debut of my scrunched up face over Michael Madsens shoulder.
Strength & Honour?
Yep.
Fair play to you Ristard.Not that your a thespian do you find yourself demanding bottled water and throwing hissy fits everywhere you go?;)
How dare you?
I trust cheifo will be banished from this forum by morning.
I enjoyed Cinderella Man and Million Dollar Baby, so if Strength and Honour is anything like the two I'd go and see it. I'll keep a look out for your face Risteard ;) Trailer looks alright. Not sure about Vinnie Jones though....
Yes, possibly one of my favourite films, i may have mentioned it before on this thread, Bruno Ganz is excellent. Could watch it several times and never get fed up with it.
If you liked that, try "The lives of others" Brilliant!
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0405094/
Must be thigh slapping crack at Xmas parties.;)
Went to see Shrooms on Sat with my lil sis. She loved it (she is 16) and I thought it was ok. Was great to see all the lovely locations in my neck of the woods (pardon the pun) and inspired me to go into the beautiful Rossmore Forest Park for a walk again sometime this century. Though will be scared of meeting talking cows!
Best bit for me though was seeing my bro's name in the credits. Was well chuffed!
Saw American Gangster & I was greatly underwhelmed. Very long (2.5 hours of largely dialogue) slow movie & can't help feeling that movie been done so many times before. Laughable that poster has a quote comparing with the Godfather. Could have trimmed 30 minutes off it & improved the movie. I was close to falling asleep around the 2 hour mark.
Well I'm one of the few who thinks the Godfather trilogy is vanilla tripe,
but Donnie Brasco is a film I rate very very highly.
Last month I dowloaded a screener version of American Gangster, the quality wasn't the best especially as much of the action is in Harlem. I wasn´t exactly overwhelmed by the film.
But it's an interesting story about how the projects were flooded with inexpensive quality Heroin and one drug squad investigator's dogged attempts to nail the whole import & distribution network. The bit that was superfluos was the fictional divorce psycho babble court scenes just put in because some people can't comprehend that some cops are just honest cops who want to do their work, they have to think that they must have some serious flaws as well.
Pete, if you are not one for slow movies give "No Country For Old Men" a wide berth.
Brought my niece to see Fred Claus in a cinema full of loud kids.Not exactly aimed at me but good enough fun and I enjoyed the 4/5 year old kid beside laugh so loudly all the time.My niece who is nine gave it 4.5 out of 10 and she gave Stardust full marks.