Jesus lads if ye all put in as much effort with yer clubs during the season as ye have on this worrying about a memorial tournament ye might not struggle as badly as previous seasons. Ridiculous carry on.
Printable View
Jesus lads if ye all put in as much effort with yer clubs during the season as ye have on this worrying about a memorial tournament ye might not struggle as badly as previous seasons. Ridiculous carry on.
Well said, we have more than a few johnny giles wanna bees on here
2-1 Shannon Town. AET
2-1 to Shannon Town after extra time and ironic enough to everyone complaining about it Tino just had to go and score the winner :p
Shannon Town 2 Shannon Olympic 1 AET
4 in a row!!
Tino with the winner :-)
Ha ha I love it.... Well done ST.
Didn't get to see it - was it any good ?
Ps: lads, I didn't complain once about anything - I just merely asked some questions, to which some were and some were not answered.
It seems to me that people are very tetchy about being asked some straight questions > And are tetchy about some points being highlighted. I wonder why ?
Anyway, I'll say it again, I am not anti ST, but I like things to be fair, if you have a rule one year, then it should be there the following year.
I'm glad that ST got to the final and won, if they were knocked out earlier, they would have taken their ball home with them and no one would have got to play 😉😉
Yet again town prove themselves as the best team / club in the town. Wonder what the not anti st happy clapper will say next
hahahaha gas man!!:p Town and Olympic by far the two best squads in Shannon. Still think Olympic have a slightly better team/squad. Well done to town!! They should really be pushing for a promotion place in 1A but nearly always end up mid table with their season over in jan/feb, not good enough considering some of the players they have. Olympic should do well in the premier and will avoid the drop comfortably IMO. I'd say they will finish top half of prem.
This thread is hilarious
y
you are having a laugh ?? memorial tournament with 6 teams (Newmarket bridge not asked this year) two b teams and a team in the 3rd division in clare ? town must be desperate to win it when manager drives to charleville to get a player to play in the final does not say much for confidence in his squad.
You know it's embarrassing the talk that has gone on on here about the Wesley Webb... A MEMORIAL tournament organised every year by Shannon Town in whatever way they want played by whoever they decide to invite...
If you want a tournament played by every team in the surrounding area organise one yerselves.
People lose sight of what the competition stands for and squabble over the nuances and the little details...
Why not celebrate it for bringing out people to watch football in shannon... And bringing some competition among the team's.... But no... This fella togged for this team...signed for that team... The pitch is too small... The grass is too green... Etc.
Pathetic
no point even going there with tino he is a smashing player but if not signing no use to Shannon town and make no sense playing him in tournament ,, with start of league only a few days away would it not be more benefical to have two centre halfs playing together who are with the club and playing as much games together as possible .
Lev,
Your input on this thread has been pathetic.... You obviously have not even bothered to read the messages, or else you're incapable of understanding what was written in them.
Everyone has said it's a great tournament and a great memorial.
No one complained the pitch was too small, I just asked why it was so small - genuine question out of interest - nothing more !! Is this not an okay place to ask such questions ?
No one has really complained much at all. Asked some questions and pointed out some items, yes, but no real complaining.
People have said it's not the World Cup, and of course it's not. However last year when ST tell hibs they will be disqualified for playing Tino, ST weren't being petty or squabbling over little nuances - no of course not, it's their tournament so that can do what they want.
People in glass houses and all that.
When somebody asks a question about why it's a different rule this year - they are anti ST and they are not supporting the spirit of the competition ? What a load of bull !
Lastly, another simple question (out of interest) regarding why Newmarket and Bridge we're not invited this year ? Just wondering why - that's all. But your response is that if you want a tournament with all surrounding teams, then organise it yourself ! No said they wanted Bridge or Newmarket playing the tournament, they just asked why they we're not invited this year.
You and others seem very tetchy over some simple questions. Wow, I thought football forums were a good place to talk about football.
Football unites - unlike yourself Lev has played football in this town. So find it very hard to take your amateur punditry serious
Football unites its like this....you came on here and asked questions about the Wesley Webb. If you really had wanted those questions answered you could have approached any of the committee members at the matches and asked... Instead you came on here and asked when all it was going to do was cause animosity.
Fair enough if you wanted to get a reaction and stir it up cause that's exactly what you did... But this is the problem with forums... It's the digital equivalent of standing on a box in the middle of the street shouting your opinion... Someone will react.
Would you ever calm down.
The questions he asked are harmless and he had a point about the young lad being stopped playing for another club the year before and you cannot answer it even though Gerry had said in a previous post he would find out the rule and better again he didn't take any offense to the question being asked.
Maybe he doesn't know any of your committee members?
Gerry Kelly was very quick to come onto this forum and set (what he seen as) the record straight on other topics. The questions he asked were very clear and open.
You need to find another outlet for your aggression because its not doing you any good on here.
Its very funny how certain members of "Shannon's Premier club" always seem to brush questions under the carpet.
Ask me no questions I'll tell you no lies comes to mind.
Have you something to hide is that why nobody answered his question?
As for Don't panic I figured you would know better than to get involved in such squabbles...... I wouldn't nail my colors to the mast if I were you. it could all end in tears yet.......
My colours are nailed to know mast,had my fill of local soccer a long time ago. However i do feel that st don't get the respect they deserve. If you look at the current hibs set up imo both newton and park where just as strong or stronger than they are now. While st seem to be getting stronger
I must admit its great to read these pages. Lots of unanswered questions, lots of allegations, lots of hurt pride, lack of respect....all from those who hide behind a log on.......could make a movie out of this
as said Gerry Kelly, has said he will answer the question and I suspect he will. For me I don't care who wins this tournament but I do think some of the carry on is shocking. I do think that it has suffered as a tournament that when it was an end of season tournament , at least then there was a formal team in place. Now it seems like any man and his dog could get a game (probably with Hibs ....just joking ) and people talk about respect. People comment on other clubs demise like they have moral high ground, while if it was not for the other clubs demise, those same clubs who were once the best teams in Shannon, competing in Munster and the FAI's, their club would be the little club down the road, or feeder club to those past great teams. Were these now formidable clubs (ST and SO) envious of the glories and trophies they saw down the road and their haul of WW cups?
I can now see how the dream of one club in Shannon will never happen, too many people investing time and effort in the wrong places, too many bitter people 'hating' other clubs......but I suppose we will have to submit for just one 'Football in Shannon' forum to unite everybody ....
Lads i have an answer for ye on the Tino issue. I kinda knew the answer myself on Friday but i needed to be sure, so here it is. Last year at the time of the WW Tino was still a registered player with LOI club so was not allowed to play. This season he was not registered with any LOI club so was therefore allowed to play. Please don't come back with ST make up the rules to suit themselves crap. I personally take offensive to that. Now can ye kindly move on from this issue & talk about how good or bad the final was? Also Young Tino has signed for ST.
fair enough point Gerry ... question should have been answered last week though ;) also on Tino signing he is going back to college in Galway so wont be able to train with club Midweek .. will make it kind of difficult to pick him for games at weekend and drop lads who were training ?
I was never in favour of the amalgamation and think it was all done to fast. If newtown had held out I believe that they would be a stronger club than hibs. As for my reasons as to why i think st are getting stronger club, you only have to look at the number of teams each club has or do you have different criteria
Dont panic like you i was also not in favour of amalgamation .. but by all accounts at that stage Newtown had 2 choices fold as a club or amalgamate??
dont forget shannon town were formed in 1969 ?? they have had a great schoolboy set-up and fair play to shannon town for maintaining this over the years ..probally a hell of alot of lads in shannon or their fathers played with town at some stage.
hibs formed in 2009 under Difficult circumstances and are trying to build along the same lines as town it will take a bt of time Hopefully>> i could argue the point for a team only going six years to have
5 pitches and two sets of changing rooms would this not be classed as the stronger club ? at the end of the day who really cares who is the bigger club as both clubs are doing a great job with underage players and personally i would be delighted to see a town / hibs derby game in the limerick premier league in the future .
the biggest problem i see for both clubs is that neither club have a youth team at the moment .:ball:
Just seen on the st facebook page that they do have a youths team. Which only underlines my point that they are the stronger club. Also, maybe the fact that there now is at long last there is a youth team in the town, things are not as bad as us doom & gloom pundits make out. Lol
Heard town drew 1-1, any score from the Olympic game tomorrow
Lol, stupid predictive text
Balla B 6-1 Hibs