:D I dont have time to carry this torch that you speak of !! :p
Printable View
We play up at the top end now, the pitch is quite good, maybe not the most level but it stands up to the weather superbly and is almost always playable when other pitches aren't. What really stands to us are the rest of the facilities, the changing rooms, the showers, the parking space etc.
I know not every club is in a position to be able to play somewhere that has such great facilities but some of the places we have travelled the last 2 seasons are dreadful.
Hey now, taking a slagging is one of the fundamental principles of our club! :)
Ya it might be a lot of the same people that we would be hitting for money, so maybe there's something in it. It's possible that ballymackey may be too far from latteragh, two opposite ends of the parish. An idea worth considering though
Ya MjC at thr weekend, will that game be on the new field?
Haha. I wasn't at the game myself, Panda, but from what I heard, the lads felt very aggrieved. I was just surprised that Mr. Man wasn't marching to Thurles in protest, torch in hand. Well, as soon as he knew which side of Clough he had to march from. :p
Whatever the circumstances, fairplay to your team. I'm sure that losing the Nenagh game was demoralizing, which probably attributed to your performance this weekend. Well-played to your penalty-kicker, too. I'd say it took some bottle on the second penalty. Keeps the division interesting at least. Hopefully, our A team can take stock from pushing you close.
And all credit to the people managing our club over the years for our set-up in Borris.
Cheers, ya there was a lot of money spent on the clubhouse in recent years and its a testament to all the clubs in the parish. I think they stuck us up the top to get us out of the way though :P hopefully this year we can get out of the 3rd division and that might help the grounds shove on another small bit.
There are quite a few clubs with decent facilities around north tipp, in time hopefully every club will have something put in place at their grounds
I don't think so, had to put some drainage in at the start of the summer and still waiting for it to kick in.
Its funny you would think that maybe the FAI would have one guy that would help all teams around the country with design pitches. Even development is starting from scratch on things like this.
Well personally I'm of the opinion of fewer clubs in North Tipp with better facilities. I think its the only way that clubs will be able to challenge Nenagh.
Re ground-sharing - this is my personal opinion rather than the clubs but Id be a strong supporter of it. Would be nice to at least explore the idea - particulary if ye are serious about buying a field. Lots of different options.
i think you might be on to something there but i dont know how many clubs would be interested in sharing, to be fair there is a huge pool of players to choose form in nenagh, both us and town have 3 junior teams and id say if you counted the amount of players form nenagh playing with other clubs id say you could have another couple of teams, in fairness thats hard to compete with and that is reflected in how long the premier division has been in nenagh, i think its 12 years since a team form outside nenagh have won it, i think a prime example of this is borroway and thurles celtic sharing the same field but 2 different clubs surely if they joined together they would be a strong enough outfit but then again i dont know the ins and outs of what goes on down there
Amazing the the FAI dont have a go to guy for pitch design and maintenance. You could end up paying alot of money to end up with a level but boggy field. Do they even have an advice line or guidelines for consideration when building a pitch??
They have guidlines for maintaining artificial pitches but not grass:confused:
Regarding club amalgamation you might be right. It would certanly make for a more competetive league with better facilities.
I can envisage alot of promlems with in fighting though.
i.e where facilities are built, more players playing from one side vs the other etc, etc
It would take some time for the 2 clubs to realy become 1.
you can't beat "Goggle Search"
At ballymackey we are undergoing that at the moment. Basically the former Toomevara players (who were a Premier Division side) are now playing for us. It takes time but basically by the time the u-16s and u-18s come through no one will know the difference.
Similar thing happened with Arra Rovers when Newtown Celtic folded. Its funny when they joined they were basically two Premier Division clubs but now they are struggling in the 1st!
I agree with the prospect of teams amalgamating and agree with bobblepark, theres a whole heap of problems - politics being one of them. It really does depend on the type of lads running the club..It would really help improve underage levels though, at the moment we loose players under the age of 16 to all our neighbouring clubs as we just can't field the teams. They've all been playing travelling and playing underage at other clubs. They'll probably end up staying with those clubs in the future too as they played all the way up through the ranks, and i wouldnt blame them. Amalgamation solves problems and creates some i think - best of both worlds.
The north tipp board did say a couple of years ago that two clubs could amalgamate at underage level to solce tge problem of not having enough players to field teams.
Not sure how that would work if you had youth players on one of the junior teams but it is a good idea.
if you build it they will come .. i think was the saying. yes town have a huge pick on players but celtic have the same pick. the difference the facilities ... end of story. An all weather pitch and 2 training grounds under lights. proper dressing rooms with hot water showers. why would any player worth his salt want to play anywhere else?? its nothing to do with towns or population if i was playing i would be in nenagh a,b,c whatever. clubs need to cop on a stop whinging.... if you play in a cow field you attract cows. as for the FAI the have a grassroots development department that travel the country and set up club facilities. they have been at 4 clubs in north tipp in the last year and all but nenagh & rearcross took their advice thus the facilities there. in ballymackey they were told we are all farmers and there is nothing you can tell us about laying pitches that we dont know. 1 year and €10/15k later still no pitches. i would love nothing better than to see someone take on nenagh but until clubs get serious it will be another 12 years before anybody gets near them.
while i agree with most of what you said i dont understand what you mean by (why would any player worth his salt want to play anywhere else??), how about loyalty and tradition or even playing for the team where you grew u, any of these would be a good reason for not wanting to play for town and i can tell you there is plenty of lads around that are worth their salt, you are right about the pick in nenagh though it their for both teams
Well i can tell you that there wouldnt be a hope in hell that any of us would want to play for nenagh town and there is lots of us worth our salt as you say !! Its called loyalty as celtic lads said .. Loyalty means more than facilities and it always should .. All clubs would love to have the facilities town have and they are trying and not whinging ..
Congrats !! You have won the most retarded comment of the year award !! well done !
fair point tradition and growing up with a team and i wish more kids would stay and play locally then the schoolboy leagues wouldnt be so one-sided. the point i was making that there comes a point in time where every decent player will ask themselves what am i doing here when he could be playing and more importantly training on a decent pitch every week. sadly very few will stay put. not getting at celtic i think you have done a great job in the tech and you have a good core of true celts but when it comes to it top players (kids and adults) go to town for the facilities. nothing to do with the pick or population. theres 4 teams in clonmel and the best teams have the best facilities therefore the best players. theres 12/14 teams in limerick and the best players play on the best pitches pike etc. every now and again a team will push close to the league only to lose all their better players to the top team with the top facilities. look around every league in the country the best team is the one with the best facilities - they have their pick of any player they want. clubs need to wise up and sort themselves out. personally i think the league should not allow any more teams to form and force the smaller ones to amalgamate. 6 teams in thurles and not one worth going to watch - 2 is enough and let them pool their resources to come up with decent facilities. the sallymackey shout isnt a bad one for both if either want to progress to challenge nenagh - but it wont happen.
Where r Celtic b and town b on tomorrow?
trying???? what efforts have you made to improve your facilities in the last ten years??? your still in the same field . no plan no vision just words. town have their facilities for two reasons vision & hard work - you said it yourself yours is a cowfield and frankly not suitable for premier soccer. as for my retarded statement its the truth the best player to come out of clough in its history is in with town cos he wont play in that field and wants to progress. born and bred in clough 15 years of age but still has the wherewithall to choose town. i have no connection to town but am amazed that clubs cant see why players "drift" in there. watch two or three years time and youll barely field a team at any age - they will all be in ballymackey when they open the new grounds and dressing rooms..whoops another retarded statement.
any results form today lads?
Fair play "beautiful game". Finally a bit of sense. I think people should stop having a pop at clubs who have there house in order. However I do feel sorry for ballymackey trying to develope in these times. I know it took a lot of hard work but nenagh & rear cross developed their facilities in different financial times. Best of luck.
[/B]
Thanks celticlads. I thought yer b team played town away in the league this season? I could be wrong.
Ballymackey 6-1 Sallypark
Think too many of our players thought it was only a matter of turning up.
We were hopelessly bad but to be fair to Ballymackey they have a solid committed team with at least 3 or 4 players that would be more than comfortable in the premier.
To be fair Nenagh Town were founded in 1951, they took a long time and a lot of 'words' to get facilities for a town that size, it's great to see what they have done now, since the 90's especially, but I'd say you can take it easy with slating other clubs.
You're dead right about facilities attracting players though
That Cloughjordan player you are talking about moved to Ardcroney 1stly because that was the best under age team at the time , then he moved to Ballymackey when they showed promise, now he is with Nenagh, because they have the best team.. My point here is do not be naive and believe that the kid in question will stay with Nenagh. Nenagh are only another stepping stone for him, he is ambitious, and has no loyalty to any team, he is looking for the the next step up, and so he should be.... @ Beautifulgame-Going on that comment, I know that anybody that played with/against/or just watched the Cloughjordan A team play in the last ten years would argue that there has been some excellent players, (noted by other clubs too) that stayed loyal to that team. I have followed this league for years and I have seen this with a few clubs, there is loyalty within clubs, even with the finest of talent......
Celticlads were ye told ye had to play cos I know for a fact that you can call a match off if your pitch is unplayable, you can only do it once though. I think it might be different for Munster and fai junior where I believe if you call off a match due to an unplayable field you lose home advantage.