Clancy to Pats a done deal with Kevin Doherty taking over in Drogheda,a fun couple of days that …..
Printable View
Clancy to Pats a done deal with Kevin Doherty taking over in Drogheda,a fun couple of days that …..
Dundalks first visit to Richmond should be fun alright :p
From my point of view I’m a bit disgusted with O’Donnell, especially if he was stalling on signing a new contract (or did sign one and wants away regardless) but that’s life. He’s welcome to go on his way, and I can only wish himself and Dundalk all the very worst for next season. What will be much more concerning is if he manages to take some of our best players, which can’t be ruled out.
Not many places to hide in Inchicore unless you sit in the dug out.
Id say his ears will be burning
If it’s getting Dodge wound up, it’s all good.
Tim Clancy to Pats is a great move. Manager of the year for me built a decent team who just ran out of steam towards the end and could have squeaked Europe. Stephen Bradley retained his title, Liam Buckley got Sligo back into Europe and Stephen O’Donnell who ran Rovers the closest and won the cup , all credit.
Much better than the much-vaunted Ollie Horgan who had a top 7 budget at least and still only scraped out of the relegation play off spot.
That is a far bigger concern than 1 or 2 off the coaching staff. If players have delayed re-signing for St Pats due to some insider knowledge and O'Donnell in their ear I will be honest, i wont care a bit if it benefits Dundalk but I will be very understanding of anger by Pats fans. It would put Neale Fenn in the halfpenny place for manipulation. Benson, Forrester, Murray, with Hoban as the main attacking threat for Dundalk next season is appealing!!! Stanton/Sloggett holding in midfield, add a keeper to the defenders we want to retain, Dummigan, Leahy, Cleary, Garts maybe, Mayowa, Boyle, Kelly and Amar for adding width + others - it wouldnt be a bad place for a squad to be in a rebuilding phase. I'd take it all considered and easily take all the abuse from St Pats fans that could come.
It will be interesting now to see which players end up where,Clancy and O’Donnell will I’m sure be attempting to take a few with them!
Anyone who thinks Chris Forrester will be leaving St Pats again doesn't know very much about Chris Forrester.
I agree, I wouldn’t expect him to leave Pats. I believe Benson, Lewis and Smith are on the radar for Dundalk but who knows what’ll happen. Pats have acted quickly to get a good manager in and I’d expect he’s already trying to get the current squad signed up again.
Dont understand why Benson would go back to Dundalk. He was brilliant in the final but IMO his Dundalk career ran its course. He needed a fresh start dont see why hed go back but stranger things have happened. Id feel same with regards to massey and mountney, ye won the lot and had a great time, move on and try do it somewhere else. Lots of these lads stagnated/went back in their final year at dundalk too.
Forrester will not be following SOD if the stories going around are true.
I definitely heard Benson left Dundalk partly due to Pats training schedule being more accommodating to working a job in Dublin. He has a masters degree in actuarial science and got 600 points in his leaving you would think he would be one of the few LOI players who could continue with full-time football into his mid-thirties with that level of academic background to fall back on so going back to Dundalk couldn't be ruled out
Considering Dundalk only changed ownership 2 weeks ago, and that it was even unlikely that these owners would be the ones to take charge in the weeks leading up to the sale.... I really do not get the theories going around regarding O'Donnell and Pats.